We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret in Zanesville”

Alan Cottrill Sculpture Studio & Gallery
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Zanesville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glenford, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Zanesville”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Alan Cottrill's Sculpture Studio & Gallery is a hidden gem in downtown Zanesville. The artist is often in the studio and takes time to talk to guests despite his busy schedule. The gallery has hundreds of his works on display.

Rachael & Dwayne, assistants, offer insight into the bronze statue process too.

This is one place everyone should put on their bucket list of places to visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful sculptures”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very impressed with the bronzes and other statues by Alan Cottrill . This is a working studio which added to the interest of seeing such beautiful works. So glad we took the time to enjoy this! (p.s . The young lady that showed us the "work area" was so knowledgeable and very nice!)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sboro450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gotta see!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you're ever in Zanesville, you owe it to yourself to go check out this studio/gallery. It's easy to spot on 6th Street -- just look for the great selection of life-size (and larger-than-life-size) statues in front of the gallery and nearby. There are two floors of sculptures to browse through, each one interesting on its own, but more impressive when seen together. And Mr. Cottrill is a genuinely nice guy, and humble besides! Visitors are welcome to go into the "back room", where the workers there will happily show what they're working on and how they're doing the current step of the multi-step process.

I found the whole place charming and the sculptures fascinating. A must-see!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

There is a great deal of talent and creativity here as well as attention to detail. It is a very nice experience to spend quiet time amongst these well crafted pieces of art. It is nice to know that a community supports the arts and in doing so, it enriches the community.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M0nti69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gottagoqueen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jaw dropping art find”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

It's easy to find with so many beautiful statues right out on the street. Don't expect some glitzy museum. We found ourselves 'backstage' in a real working studio. This was our second visit and this time we actually met Alan. I found him very engaging, interesting and TALENTED. With each statue was a bit of background which made it even more interesting. Then he directed us to a gallery upstairs. (We didn't go up the first time because we didn't want to just wander where we might not belong.) Lots to look at in the gallery --impressive. When we came downstairs again we found him at work sculpting a clay bust. The picture of his subject was right next to him and he was spot on. Any time we go near Zanesville I'll feel compelled to go see what's new. I wish I had photos to share. I'll get them next time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gottagoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alan Cottrill Sculpture Studio & Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Alan Cottrill Sculpture Studio & Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing