We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage Western History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woolaroc Museum & Wildlife Preserve

Woolaroc Museum & Wildlife Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Frank Phillips Ranch was founded in 1925 and the Woolaroc Museum had a humble beginning four years later in 1929. The 3,700 acre wildlife preserve is home to more than 30 varieties of native and exotic animals and birds. It is a working ranch that maintains the animals for the enjoyment of our guests in a natural, protected setting. The Woolaroc Museum presents one of the world's most unique collections of Western art and artifacts; Native American pottery, baskets, beads, blankets and cultural art; historical displays; and one of the most complete collections of Colt firearms. Guests can also tour the Lodge, which was used as a place for Frank Phillips to entertain his friends and maintain business relationships. The Lodge abounds with tales of the parties, business events and wilder goings-on.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Vintage Western History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Woolaroc is simply fantastic. Elk, buffalo, and deer roam the drive into the museum. Inside, outstanding western art by the best artists of all time, fascinating indian artifacts, and a gun collection that is simply amazing. Well worth the visit and drive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill D47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    67
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arapaho
Level Contributor
432 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice surprise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My wife and have lived in Oklahoma all of our 60+ years and this was our first visit after reading about the Lewis and Clark exhibit so we rode to the northeastern part of the state to see it. We really enjoyed it, and seeing all of the different wildlife was a surprise. We plan on coming back to visit again next year.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wish We Had More Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I was on a road trip with 3 friends and we stopped here for a short visit. We spent most of the afternoon and barely touched the surface. It's an absolutely beautiful place and so much to see! There was an exhibition of art associated with Lewis and Clark - I could have spent the entire time in that area alone. The grounds are gorgeous and there is something for everyone, no matter your interest. This is definitely worth a stop if you're in Bartlesville - even worth a detour if you're not.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The museum is wonderful but the ranch house was kind of disappointing. A small area downstairs is all that can be seen. Enjoyed seeing the animals roaming around the fields.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 47sissy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

OK so it is out in the middle of nowhere but this one is a "do not miss." I rate it as a better museum than the Smithsonian native American museums in Washington D.C. Pleasant grounds, animal park, and one of the most interesting museums around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank den979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woolaroc Museum & Wildlife Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Woolaroc Museum & Wildlife Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing