We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guess we went at the wrong time”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ocean China Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 109 Restaurants in Bartlesville
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Guess we went at the wrong time”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband and I went there probably a year ago. I guess we were too late to get fresh food from the buffet because it all looked dried out and offered very sparse choices, so we opted to order from the menu. Neither of us were impressed and have never gone back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnieM603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Embassy Suites Norman, Norman Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Ocean China is a nice, clean and friendly asian restaurant in Bartlesville, Ok. There are asian restaurants with more choices on the buffet but I find that sometimes everything on there all tastes the same and not always fresh. Here at Ocean China the buffet is always fresh and even though there are not 20 main dishes, they are very good!! Other than Pei Wei or PF Chang in Tulsa, this is our favorite Asian in Oklahoma!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cathysuecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skiatook, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Asian restaurant”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My family and I will make the drive to Bartlesville about once every other month to have dinner at Ocean China.

First, I want to make it clear: I am not judging this restaurant strictly on their buffet. I've had their buffet. Yes, it's small, but it's good, very good, and if you're in for lunch and want some well made Asian food that you can get to quicker than ordering off the menu, then do not hesitate to visit them at lunch. It's asinine to judge a restaurant that offers such delicious food strictly on the basis of the size of their buffet. In any case...the quality of their small selection is far better than what you'll get at that other restaurant that only does buffet.

The joy from dining here comes from their menu items. You'll see the typical Chinese selections: General Tso's chicken, sweet and sour take-your-pick, cashew chicken, etc. They offer several mu shu dishes including pork, but I like mu shu chicken, and they do a great job with it. There are several specialty items that are at the front of their menu; get the one with shrimp and ginger. It's beyond delicious! Orange beef? Yes, very good. Dishes served in hot clay pots? Oh yeah, and they taste beautiful. There's no other way to describe it.

Service here has always been exceptional. Wait staff is usually young and very friendly. The owners are fine people who genuinely appreciate their customers' patronage.

I'll be blunt: I love this place. There are very few restaurants I'll say that about.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WadeFromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowata OK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“not much variety on the buffet”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

it's not bad it's just okay. Two other places in town have it beat...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NowataOKDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Bartlesville”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My favorite place to eat. Could eat there every day. They have the best dumplings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mojorhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean China Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean China Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing