We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety and Security Issues Plague this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Emerald House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bartlesville
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We were booked for arrival on November 21, 2012 with departure on November 24, 2012. My husband and I drove over 10 hours to Bartlesville and arrived at 2am. The front desk clerk registered us and we went to our room, which was in a courtyard area without any parking nearby, we unloaded the car and then headed to the bathroom where we discovered semi wet urine ALL over the toilet seat and feces in the toilet bowl. We called the front desk clerk and he met us at our room with keys to another room. He stated that he wasn't sure what was going on because the room had not been rented since November 18th, but that there had been issues in the past with persons having unauthorized room access. We took all of our things back to the car and drove down to the other end of the property to the 2nd room--we went up to the door only to find that the door was propped open and the security latch was in place from the inside-- all of the lights were on in the room. We were unsure as to whether someone was in the room and immediately went back up to the front desk where we were given a third room. As the front desk clerk was walking us to the third room to check it out he mentioned that a couple had checked in earlier that evening and had soiled linens on the bed. The third room was fine--we parked the car and discovered that the security door on the side of the building wasn't working- the door was open and allowed unmonitored 24 hour access to the guest hallway- another security issue, it was 3am and we were too tired to attempt to find another hotel--we decided to keep the "do not disturb sign" out continuously on our door, refuse maid service the entire time we were there and we left nothing of value out of our room when we weren't there. The front desk clerk apologized for all of the issues with the rooms and promised that we would be given a discount on our room. Upon check out, there wasn't any discount--we asked about it as the same clerk was working and he stated that we were to be given an extra 500 points to our rewards account! My husband and I feel that first and foremost there are definitely security issues at this hotel that need to be addressed. Secondly, 500 rewards points is not a discount! It doesn't make up for the hour lost in the middle of the night trying to find a room to stay in and the concern we had during our entire stay for our personal safety and security! We have stayed here in the past and made our reservation this time based upon past stays, but I can tell you we will not be staying at this hotel again! Also, the "hot breakfast" was ok, they were out of wheat toast, the fresh fruit, skim milk, there weren't any "choices" of yogurt- out of those too--it became hilarious to ask for something that was on the menu because the reply was almost always "I'm sorry, we're out of that".

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 October 2012

This hotel is a nice mid level hotel. Good for out of town workers but a little pricey. Would recommend to friends and free hot breakfast. Outdoor pool. Served dinner at the motel, food not bad. The front desk was very helpful and nice. Great customer service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is one time that reviews on Trip Advisor really let us down! We checked into this motel and were given a room in the rear building. Upon entering the room I noticed a large dead bug on the floor--they really grow crickets big in OK! I could see daylight through the gaps in the weatherstripping at the bottom of the door to the room--it leads directly outside in this building's design. When we came back from dinner there were ants crawling on the counter by the sink. I called the front desk and was told we could switch rooms, which we eventually did after finding more ants. The room we were assigned next was in the main building, and first thing in the morning we found a cricket in that room as well. Even after reporting the second "bugging" incident there was no offer to adjust our bill--just "we'll report the problem to maintenance". We also were very unimpressed with the "cooked to order" breakfast. Both the eggs and the French toast were not very inspiring. Think twice before you stay at this motel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 486Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had a great experience at the Bartlesville Best Western. Staff was very courteous and even had fresh baked cookies for us on arrival. Rooms were clean and beds were comfortable although I'm not crazy about the new square pillows BW seems to be using on their beds. Have found these in others we have stayed in. This BW has a made to order hot breakfast which was very good and had excellant service. We did not use the pool but it seemed to be very nice. There are several nice eating establishments near the BW and just south. We ate at Goldie's which is just across the street. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The service is awesome. Plus they go out of there to take care of your needs and a hot breakfast.The rooms stay nice and cool during summer an warm in the winter. The hotel is located in low traffic area and great eating places near by.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhamilton07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I'm staying here with the pipeline every week. This hotel and the staff members make you feel like your at home! The hospitality is amazing you can't find that anywhere else! And they go above and beyond to make there guests satisfied! The breakfast is amazing! Reminds me of home! From now on I would recommmend this hotel to anyone! The best hotel I've ever stayed at since I've been working on the road! :) Thank you Best Western and their very considerate employess!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bartlesville hotels
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bartlesville
Hilton Garden Inn Bartlesville
#1 of 11 in Bartlesville
398 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Bartlesville
Days Inn & Suites Bartlesville
#9 of 11 in Bartlesville
273 reviews
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bartlesville East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bartlesville
Hampton Inn Bartlesville
#2 of 11 in Bartlesville
305 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bartlesville
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 11 in Bartlesville
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald House Hotel

Address: 222 SE Washington Blvd, Bartlesville, OK 74006-2335 (Formerly Quality Inn Bartlesville)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Bartlesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Bartlesville
Price Range: £42 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Emerald House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel has undergone a Quarter Million Dollar renovation and recently changed brands.We offer a cook to order Hot Breakfast included in the price of your room.Come see the "New Look" Ask us about our banquet room rentals ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Emerald House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bartlesville
Bartlesville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing