We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option in the area”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blackwell
United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best option in the area”
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Not too many hotels to choose from in the area but this is the best of the bunch. Clean rooms, new beds, no musty smells. Have frequented this hotel many times over the period of the last few months and really haven't had any problems with dirty or funny smelling rooms. There's a mexican food restaurant and Subway located in the hotel parking lot. McDonalds, Taco Bell/KFC, and Braums is located one block away. Great for anyone needing just a night to stay or working in the area for the week. Located right off I-35 makes for easy on/off access to the highway. There's are casinos within 20 minutes for entertainment options as well.

Room Tip: Book early as lots of oil field workers frequent this hotel during the week. That with the addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RollOn18Wheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share you thoughts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stays. We appreciate your repeat business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roaming Endlessly
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

With not much else in the area I imagine a lot of their business is from people needing a break from driving. It's very easy to find just off the interstate, yet set back far enough where you don't hear road noise.

You have a number of restaurants to choose from within walking distance - Subway, McDonald's, a mexican restaurant, etc.

Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and carpet smelled new.

Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColetteAndJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Blackwell Comfort Inn. We promote superior guest service from our staff and appreciate hearing that they are doing a good job. We continue to invest in the hotel to benefit our guests, such as the new carpet. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again in Blackwell!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I booked a room here for 2 nights via the national reservation site which indicated that failure to cancel before 6pm would result in being charged 1 nights stay. I cancelled at 4pm and was charged for 2 night stay by this location. Tried to resolve but the hotel would not call me back. AVOID AVOID. Go to stay in Ponca City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 914MichaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Please contact out General Manager, Candi Matthews, at your earliest convenience. We are unable to locate a record of your reservation for the month of March, and would appreciate additional information. We replaced our General Manager in April, and will do our best to investigate the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a horrible experience here! Pet Friendly...ok but our room smelled like a kennel, had to open window and turn on fan! Stayed here because of thier inside pool...but it was being redone. This is just dishonest! Should of stated they were doing reno's and the pool was closed. Told we could use the one at Best Western. Really; we paid close to $100 for this room!
AC was very noisy, which they did fix, but we couldnt use our room during this time. Bathtub was clogged, so standing in a foot of water taking a shower. Holes in the ceiling, burn hole in bed cover (non smoking hotel?), toilet seat would not stay up. We were given a 10% discount from the front desk clerk. She couldnt reach the manager the morning we checked out! I told her I wasnt happy with this and would be contacting her and Choice Hotels. She felt that the 10% was sufficeint, REALLY are you kidding me! Never again! The staff did the best they could to help us, to bad the management couldnt do the same.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
We are sorry to hear your stay with the Comfort Inn was not a good experience. We have reviewed your complaints and appreciate the feedback. As new owners of this property, we are working to improve multiple areas of the hotel. New ownership often means updates and renovations to a property. We do our best to notify guests of improvements with signs posted at the property. We apologize for the inconvenience, however due to the extent of the renovations taking place we had to temporarily close the pool during the time period around your stay. While the pool was closed, the best option was to offer our guests the option to swim next door at the Best Western. The renovations to the pool area are now complete and the pool at the Comfort Inn is open.
We would like to know what other amenities we have listed that are not being provided. We take this very seriously, and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Our GM would be happy to take your call.
We would also like to address the noise from the air conditioning unit in your room. First of all, thank you for immediately bringing it to our attention, as our front desk team is glad to know when things are not working properly, so we can provide a solution. A maintenance technician was called to the property to replace the unit in your room with a different air conditioner (we could not move you to another room as we were sold out). The best fix to the solution was to switch the unit out. We understand your frustration when you thought management was not reachable, but it was actually management’s decision to get maintenance in to fix the air conditioner right away.
Last, we agree that our front desk team does work hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasurable stay. They performed in line with instructions from management when they discounted your room. Management has empowered the front desk team to make these types of spot decisions if the GM is unavailable.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stopped here because it was right off the freeway. The hotel is dated, but they are in the process of remodeling. Our room was clean, but the bed was as hard as a board. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was OK. There is a little Mexican restaurant right next door, but don't expect to find a margarita there. It's beer only.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMommaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I apologize for any inconvenience. As you noted we are in the process of improvements, including new breakfast items, new mattresses, exterior painting and landscaping. We hope that this work will increase the value for our guests.

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were trying to reach Wichita, but my husband felt ill and said he needed to stop as soon as possible. We travel with our dog, so the Comfort Inn was the closest pet-friendly hotel with decent reviews. Wow, what a lousy experience. It's great that the hotel is non-smoking, but it doesn't really matter when all the smokers light up just outside the main hotel doors. One has to walk through a fog of cigarette smoke to enter the hotel.

The room was pathetic. The bedspreads were like cardboard and the furnishings were low-quality. We could hear guests in the adjacent rooms. I looked at the bathroom and opted to pass on taking a shower, not sure I would emerge cleaner.

The next morning, while standing in front of the bathroom mirror, I noticed three bugs climbing the walls of our room. We decided to avoid the breakfast. When we checked out, I quietly informed the desk clerk that there were bugs in our room, to which she casually responded, "Oh, yeah, the exterminator doesn't come until next week." Really? The real kicker is our room was $100. We had just stayed at the Comfort Suites in Buda, Tx where the accommodations were very nice and very clean and very spacious - and paid only $90. What a ripoff in Blackwell.

Don't stay here if you can possibly avoid it. Keep driving.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilotmom90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we have discussed your feedback to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. In addition, we are in the beginning stages of a series of improvements to the property, including upgraded furnishings and bedding.

If you happen to be in the area again, I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodland, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We arrived at 11 pm with no reservation after a very long day on the road. The desk clerk originally told us they had no rooms, but the manager overruled her, much to our relief. Room was comfortable and quiet and looked new or at least newly renovated. Breakfast was hot and good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxie1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwellManagement, Owner at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for submitting this review. I am glad we were able to find you a room, and that the room and breakfast met your expectations. I hope you do find the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackwell
0.1 mi away
Best Western Blackwell Inn
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Blackwell
27 reviews
15.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Ponca City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Blackwell
15.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ponca City
2.2 mi away
Super 8 Blackwell
Super 8 Blackwell
#5 of 5 in Blackwell
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1201 N 44th St, Blackwell, OK 74631-9502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Blackwell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Blackwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Blackwell
Blackwell Comfort Inn
Econo Lodge Blackwell, Oklahoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing