We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Voices in bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Certificate of Excellence
Azle, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Voices in bathroom”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We woke up hearing voices in our bathroom. It was a male on the phone and the sound was coming thru the bathroom vent. We could very easily hear everything he was saying. This was quite unnerving. If we could hear him he could definitely hear us! Not good. Our suite was very nice except I had to clean the bathroom floor with a paper towel after we walked on it and there were shoe prints. Our shoes weren't dirty the floor had either been cleaned with something and not rinsed or it hadn't been cleaned. Not really sure which. This hotel is surface cleaned, but around sides and back edge of granite on bath vanity there was dirt buildup. Lower surfaces are not dusted. Holiday Inn use to stand for really good quality. It appears this hotel chain is going down hill. Cleanliness should be a priority. It isn't. That said, the front desk personnel were friendly, but not organized. We asked about nice eating establishments in the area. The girl at the front desk looked for a list of restaurants in a drawer that had a little bit of everything thrown in, but no list of restaurants and no strip maps of area. She didn't even tell us where our room was located or where to park for the best access to our room. Had to ask for our bottle of water. We are Platinum Club members.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1944Larry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear 1944Larry,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. I am pleased you found our hotel suites commendable. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, I would like to apologize for the issue, condition and the cleanliness of the bathroom fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our guests enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    48
    17
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
36
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Stuck traveling to Durant where the hotel choices are limited. I chose Holiday Inn and was going to stay here weekly on business but unfortunately the staff and manager doesn't care enough to fix the Internet on the third and fourth floors... There were no towels in the fitness center, or should I say the treadmill and dumbbell center (no machine weights)... Several people had to go to lobby to use Internet and to the business center everyone was upset but staff didn't care. They could have turned off the third floor Internet so everyone could use the low signal first floor Internet but they refused. I was going to be a multiple repeat customer, at this point I will have to choose another chain.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear David K,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We apologize for any shortcomings you experienced with the members of our staff and/or hotel management as well as for the poor internet service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We value you as our guest and we sincerely hope this incident will not deter from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The family and I stay here on a regular basis (at least 3-4 times per year) to visit family. I have NEVER had a bad stay. Maybe some of the people reviewing this hotel expect it to be the Waldorf Astoria. Its not. Its a Holiday Inn Express. And for $163 per night we got the 2 room suite. Its ALWAYS been reasonably clean and reasonably stocked. The beds are comfy (that's saying alot since we sleep on a Tempur pedic at home) the heat and a/c has always worked and plenty of channels on the TV for my wife and I to argue about. LOL. The breakfat has alot of items to choose from. Its not the Zodiac inside Neiman's Dallas (yes they have a very fine restaurant there) but its hot and its filling and not just sweetrolls like alot of other hotels. I have said this before and the trip there Feb 22nd confirms the fact for me that this is one of my favorite hotels anywhere. Some faces have changed since I was last there, but the service and friendliness hasn't changed any.

Room Tip: The slots at the casino in Durant are among the tightest I've ever played and the smoke inside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJHollandNBTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

States here for only one night but I was very impressed. The Staff was knowledgeable, hotel was very clean, Ans the breakfast was very good. Room was a little larger than I have come to expect from hotels in this category. I travel to Durant at least monthly and I have to say this is the best hotel on town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1person
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Let me preface this review by stating I am NOT a neat freak. However, I do expect the hotels I stay in to be cleaner than my brother who has 5 kids' house. Sadly that was not the case this week when I stayed in this hotel during an annual business trip. The lobby area downstairs was tidy, but that's where the neatness stopped. The table directly outside the elevator on the second floor was covered in dust thick enough for one to write in it, and someone (or someoneS) had done just that. When I laid down in bed that night I noticed a big cobweb above the window. As I stepped into the shower the next morning I noticed a big green booger smeared on the curtain. Only one of the towels in the bathroom was a bright white. The other two were dingy gray and had tattered ends. The 2nd floor hallway was not vacuumed the three days of my stay. There was a lot of confetti sized paper bits scattered along the hallway, and several large dirty footprints were outside of my room.

As an added bonus wi-fi was unreliable and slow.

I was very disappointed with my stay as I stayed here last year, and it was acceptable. Next year I'm going to strongly encourage my boss to book a different hotel. La Quinta will be open shortly, and the Choctaw was very nice and luxurious feeling when I stayed there 2 years ago.

Breakfast was decent, and the staff was pleasant. Those are the only two things that saved this hotel from getting a 1.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Rachel K,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am happy you liked some aspects of the hotel. However, I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us and regret you received housekeeping service, cleanliness issues and internet service which was less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel rooms were nice, cleane and very comfortable. The staff was courteous and responsive as well. However, due to overbooking, if we had not checked in earlier than we originally planned our room would not have been available and we would have been relocated to Denison, TX. We stayed here due to a very ill family member in the hospital in Durant. If we had been relocated, well...things would not have been pretty.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaW1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

The front desk folks were very pleasant and welcoming. Some of the housekeeping staff appeared to resent being there. We had to request towels and shampoo as the room has been shorted and the drawers were not working properly. The breakfast was not well stocked and there were no cinnamon rolls for the entire three days of our stay. (Cinnamon rolls are the reason that I choose HIE over Hampton. We'll probably stay elsewhere if we are once again in Durant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
0.4 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Denison
4.0 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
Address: 613 University Pl, Durant, OK 74701-7113
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now open, the new Holiday Inn Express in Durant, OK conveniently located near Lake Texoma, Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Choctaw Casino and the award winning Medical Center of Southeastern Oklahoma. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can enjoy staying at our all suite hotel in Durant, OK. Our Durant accommodations are located near many area attractions, including the Catfish Bay Marina and Lake Texoma, which is perfect for a family day trip. There are also many shopping spots nearby, where you'll find antique shops and boutiques. From golfing at the Silverado Golf Course to hiking near Fort Washita (a historical landmark), there are plenty of entertaining activities for the whole family to enjoy while lodging in Durant, OK.Business travelers can enjoy the convenience of staying at our Durant, OK hotel near local businesses such as Earth Biofuels, Gen Star, Crain Manufacturing, Cardinal Glass and Tetrachem, all situated less than 20 miles from our accommodations. You can also enjoy premium business services, including flexible meeting space, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a 24-hour business center.During your stay at our 100% non smoking hotel in Durant, Oklahoma, enjoy the heated, outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and the delicious, complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great hotel room deals and rates, and start planning your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Durant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing