We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Choctaw Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Certificate of Excellence
lubbock
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great time!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

we stayed in the inn which was very nice! and if you're not going there to gamble to try and save the family farm but for entertainment, you will have a blast! we got good service at gilley's and 1832 (love that restaurant!) and from the bartenders everywhere we got cocktails. my only suggestion would be to work on your gift shop t-shirt selection with your logo on them, it was very limited in sizes and only one design to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welovewkndtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Welovewkndtrips too! Thank you for your amazing compliments and I've shared your suggestion with our Retail Manager regarding more logo t-shirts. We look forward to your next stay at Choctaw Casino Resort.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    215
    96
    58
    63
See reviews for
164
349
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have stayed in the Choctaw Casino Tower many times and have already upload photos of the room; this time I wanted to post a few photos of the remodeled pool area they have been working on for months and there is still an area they have not finished yet. I was actually glad to see they removed the large slide that was a huge kid draw, which I thought was weird for a Casino. This being an Indian Casino in Oklahoma they allow people to go in at age 18; therefore, I can see why they have a section for the teenagers and kids like the arcade. We try to avoid all areas where there are a lot of kids, which is mostly in the Inn and in the pool area during the day. If you go to the pool very early or during the later hours most of the kids are gone and you can enjoy it more. I am so surprised that this being mainly a Casino and they have a swim up bar, there is NO designated section for ADULTS ONLY. I am hoping that when the other section is open they make a section for adults only. Going to a Casino to gamble, eat and relax, the last thing I want to do is be in a pool where a lot of kids are splashing and annoying the adults that come to gamble. I hope they rethink a section for this for the true patrons they are trying to get here. The other part that kind of bothered us is with this being a 24 hr Casino some of the shopping and restaurants were closed all day Monday and Tuesday. This is so strange to me with as busy as it would be during the summer all 7 days a week; seems like to me they are missing out on revenues. I was also glad to see they opened up the parking in front of the tower area where you didn’t have to go all the way to the back in the parking garage. Overall, we did enjoy the room and customer service was very nice from everyone we encountered.

Room Tip: For adults that don't bring kids try to stay in the tower in a high room; the Inn and lower towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Karen,
I always enjoy reading your reviews and love the picutures. Thank you for your suggestions, I'm happy to share them with our Management Team. We look forward to the next opportunity to have you as our guest.
Have a great week.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Got the last room available on a Thursday night and was able to use our AAA discount. Room was very comfortable and clean. Only drawback was the constant whirring of the power generators outside our room on the third floor... and our view of those generators. Casino has lots of game choices, but like many others didn't pay out much. Take your earplugs to sleep and money to spend on the games and you'll have a good time.

Room Tip: Choose something away from the third floor because of the generator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OklahomaGma5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
OklahomaGma5,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Those are great room tips. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay even with the inconvenience of the generators. Please come visit us again soon.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My wife and I recently visited and spent the night at Choctaw Casino in Durant, Oklahoma. The Hotel (Tower) is very nice and clean. The little white Buffalo soap is a nice touch for customers. The staff at Choctaw is very nice and tries to help in every way. We ate at the Buffet and it was wonderful - much better than the Win Star buffet. Complete seafood menu during the week, including crab legs, Win Star has stopped crab legs during the week. The Casino slots are to tight, not many wins. However, better than Win Star slots. It is shame that slots are not like they were four years ago. It is a shame that Choctaw has started limiting its comps - free meals and hotel stay. Beautiful pools and interesting area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are quieter and a little better view than I-75.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Glenn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your insight and hope that you will come visit us again soon. Have a great 4th of July!
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Booked a get away for a nice relaxing time. That is not what I got! First off the Lodge is not the place to stay. The rooms are like cracker boxes, very, very small. It is to far away from the casino and the Oasis pool. The shuttle is a joke, took way to long for it to arrive. It is old and the drivers are not friendly. You have to depend on the staff to get the shuttle for you. When you arrive at the Lodge we were told that it would only take 2 to 10mins. for it to get there. Lets try 25 to 30mins. later. Then when you are ready to go back to the Lodge you have to wait again and The driver drove right past us twice while waiting in our wet swim suits. NOT FUN! So we hiked back to the lodge ourselves.

Once you are at the pool area there is no one there to tell you were to get towels and I didn't see a sign. We were at the pool for 2 hours and not once did any servers ask us if we WANTED something to drink. We saw servers but they were standing around talking to one another. The swim up bar was nice but no one informs you on how you pay for your drinks there. Maybe put it on your room charge but, there is no signs or way for you to know. All of the people working in the pool area are very young and not customer friendly. They are not trained very well I believe.
Now the pool area is fantastic to swim and very nice. Family friendly and plenty of lounge chairs available while we were there during the week this might be different on weekends. A lot of kids and families so if you want an adult only experience this is not the place for you.
We stayed three nights and did end up in the new tower after one nights stay. The rooms are differently worth the upgrade to stay there. It is not worth the money to stay in the lodge.
The casino itself is okay not Vegas quality. Don't expect to win big. I spoke with one gentleman that won in a tournament but it was 4000.00 in free play not real money.
This trip was just a HUGE disappointment. Don't believe everything you read or see on their website. I think it is worth maybe one nights stay. They are continuing to built on so I think this is why you can't win. Went and ate at Gilley's, Butterfields and the 50's diner. The diner was the best for the food and the money.
If I do go back it would only be for the pool area which is Great. But I would learn how to sneak in my own drinks. The staff in the hotel are very pleasant. I know the next time I will just save my money and go to Vegas

Room Tip: Pay more to stay in the tower. Don't stay at the Lodge rooms to small and to far from everything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn D, Manager at Choctaw Casino Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Angela,
We are so disappointed to hear of the inconveniences you had while staying with us. The experience you described is not the high quality of service we strive for our guests. Please contact me at your earliest convenience so that I may gain further information regarding your stay. My email is kathryn.decaire@choctawcasinos.com.
Thank you,
Kat DeCaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I have been going to Choctaw for many years now. For some unknown reason to me, they have stopped offering their regular customers complimentary rooms on either the weekdays or weekends. "I've talked to about 50 regulars that this has happened to." Their current rates for platinum players is 89.00 during the week and 189.00 on weekends. Most of the people that I know got fed up with their total lack of respect for their regulars and have started going to Winstar. If you are not a club player then the rates are significantly higher.

If you use either Priceline or Hotwire you can usually get a very nice room in Durant for about 55.00 to 65.00 per night. Up until about 3 weeks ago, the casino provided free shuttle back and forth to the hotels in Durant. If you wanted to stay out late and not drive back in the dark or perhaps have a few drinks and not have to worry about driving it was all taken care of by the shuttles. They no longer offer that anymore except on Saturday nights and perhaps later on Friday nights.

Another major problem for me is that they are working on I75 north all the way from Allen to Sherman. Where it use to take 1 1/2 hours, it now takes 2 hours to sometimes 3 or 3 1/2 hours. Headed back south from Durant, they have started closing parts of I75 and making horrendous detours. Unless you have excellent eyesight this is NOT something you want to do at night. As you get closer into Allen they have really narrowed the road with barricades which is extremely dangerous while driving at night.

In the South end *the newest part of the casino" they even took out the drink services. You now have to either go to the bar to get a soft drink or wait and wait and wait for a server to go by and ask for a drink which of course you are expected to tip.

I know that a lot of folks complain about the smoke but with the new renovations I don't find that to be much of a factor.

The rooms are nicely appointed but it is time for them to change out the mattresses. They have become hard and lumpy. They did upgrade their pillows finally, where they used to be flat as a pancake they now offer two very comfy pillow types.

Whatever you do, do not stay on the 4th floor. There is so much noise from the roof top air conditioners, fans and construction work that you absolutely can not sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank girlgodiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We went there for the first time 2 yrs ago. We have come every month since at least once a month but usually 2-3 times a month and stayed two nights each time. We leave thousands behind each time. We used to hit small amounts here and there but lately it has just taken and not hit anything at all. My frustration is two fold. For people that are consistant in coming several times a month like we are, come play every slot tourney, etc. husband plays poker, I don't understand why this month, they dropped our hotel offer. We only get 5 in free play. It doesn't feel like good, consistant customers who spend money there are rewarded anymore. It has been my favorite place but I don't feel valued now. Winstar, that I haven't cared much for in a long time, sends 2 free nights, 10 in free play and a free buffet-their buffet is delish-and I spend less money there than Choctaw but I go to the places I get the hotel at so this month, winstar it is. Good customers should be given offers to keep their business.
Second is kids. Way too many of them. I don't know who in their right mind would ever bring kids to a casino but some doofuses do there. Their business center has only 3 computers and in summer and holidays it is filled with kids whose parents are using it as a babysitter. Not fair to the paying adults who really need to use it for business. there are two pools outside and a game room in the inn. There should be an 18 and older sign on that business center to preserve for the paying clients and at least some places kids aren't. In shreveport, all their casinos entrances are closely guarded with guards making people show id's to make sure they are of age. ALL of them do. Here, there are people strolling babies thru the casino, dragging toddlers around. Not cool. I want to keep this my favorite place but to keep losing and having my offers taken is just sending me to shreveport and winstar where I still get them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank diane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
3.3 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
0.6 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Choctaw Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Choctaw Casino Resort

Property: Choctaw Casino Resort
Address: 4216 S Highway 69 # 75, Durant, OK 74701-1955
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Choctaw Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Choctaw Casino Resort in Durant, Oklahoma, includes 330 hotel rooms, a natatorium, fitness center, business center, full-service spa and three retail outlets. In addition, there is a 175-seat amphitheater, nine restaurants and 110,000 square feet of gaming space, including 4,000 slot machines, 30 poker tables and 40 table games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Choctaw Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing