We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Powwow stay”
Review of Magnuson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnuson Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Anadarko, Oklahoma, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Powwow stay”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We came to Durant for the Choctaw Casino Powwow. We are always on a budget and usually stay somewhere cheap. We don't expect much. Hope for a clean room with no bed bugs. A double bed room at this hotel for 4 people for 2 nights was around $150. A bargain! According to the note in our room the lodge has been newly remodeled. The room was absolutely beautiful. It reminded me of a Holiday Inn I stayed at in Tulsa. The beds are so comfortable. My dad said he wished he could find a way to put it in the car! Loved all the pillows on the beds. And the window seat is so comfortable. The breakfast is pretty dang good with scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, muffins, bagels, oatmeal, cold cereal, fruit and pastries.. We were in and out of the room all day and the hot coffee and hot chocolate available all day was a definite plus. At the powwow, we tried to tell everyone that we could what a great place this is to stay and what a wonderful value. Unfortunately for most of our friends, they had already booked and paid for their rooms at other establishments. Too bad! We don't gamble, so the Choctaw Casino Resort didn't hold any appeal. This place is great and we look forward to staying here again next year when we come to the powwow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your review, yes we have remodeled the rooms and I am glad that you like them. The team and I are very excited about the improvements and now we are working on making the Lobby look great for Christmas. We are proud of our breakfast and we are glad you enjoyed it and the coffee is excellent (we are coffee drinkers too) Thank you and see you soon, James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    13
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
23
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed at Choctaw Lodge and was pleasantly surprised at the new look. The lobby area is inviting and very comfortable. The hotel overall is kept clean and tidy. The breakfast was a hot with multiple choices. The hotel is just across the parking lot from the casino and they offer a shuttle ride free 24/7. The best part was the comfortable pillow top mattress and the "Down" feel of all of the pillows. After a long night of playing the slots, I went back to the hotel and within minutes was fast asleep. The price was very reasonable.....Great Experience!!! Another amazing Choctaw facility!!

Room Tip: Rooms very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sperry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad we surprised you in a good way. We are working very hard to make this a great hotel and the team are very focused on making it the cleanest hotel they can. I am glad to see you enjoyed the new “Down” pillows and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Lodge very soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We decided to stay at the Casino while in town visiting family, but they were full. Went to the lodge, knowing it was just purchased by the Casino. I'll admit, our expectations were not very high, but were we surprised!!
All of the staff was wonderful..Friendly, Nice, and helped us with everything we asked. (even friendlier than at the Casino!!) The rooms, though on the smaller size, were wonderful, and the beds!!!! If I could have fit one in the car, it would have come home with me!! Everything smelled so clean, and the housekeeping staff work so hard to keep everything in top shape and it shows! The breakfast in the mornings is on par with much more expensive hotels, and it's FREE!! Bacon, Eggs, Biscuits, Gravy...It was amazing how much you get for what little you pay!
This is definitely going to be the ONLY place we stay while in town

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you can't do stairs, ask for a ground floor room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I am very glad that you found our team wonderful, friendly and nice; they take a real pride in working hard to ensure that all our guests leave the Lodge happy. I am also very happy to see you enjoyed breakfast; we love that we can give a better breakfast than expensive hotels. For me Breakfast is the best meal of the day so we wanted to make it the best meal we could. I and the whole team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Great stay at Choctaw Lodge with friends last weekend. The team were very friendly and accommodating and helped us with lots of shuttle buses to the casino. The casino was lots of fun (even if we did not win). The beds were great and I loved the hot breakfast in the morning........ my friends attacked the bacon. Overall lots of fun with a clean and cheap room. Highly recommended if only for the bacon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dive3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had fun staying with us. We look forward to seeing you come back and stay soon.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at the Choctaw Lodge on September 21, 2012. The room and common areas (including the stairwell) were very clean. The room was large with no frills but comfortable. The motel is hidden behind the casino but it is a short walk across the parking lot. Security was obvious so I felt safe on the short walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review, the Housekeeping Team work hard to make the Choctaw Lodge as clean as possible and it looks like they succeeded. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I stopped in Durant, OK and stayed at Choctaw Lodge, next to Choctaw Casino. The rooms are very nice (comfortable beds, etc), the staff is very accomodating and friendly. They have a nice morning buffet. I would stay here again, not only because it's a very nice place, but because it's within walking distance of the casino. Very reasonably priced...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamgunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for your kind review, the whole team works hard to make every guests stay the best it can be. I am glad that they made your stay a good one.

Thank you
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were very pleased; the entire staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The toiletries were nice with a pleasant fragrance; the bedding is new and the towels are new and fluffy. The Lodge is being renovated and the project manager was on hand and receptive to suggestions which I appreciated very much. I had suggested a warm dish for breakfast and he stated they are planning to add scrambled eggs and bacon; he also said the carpet will be torn out (I think in September) and replaced, they are tearing out the counter top with bar stools and replacing it with a small lounge with a Wii for children. He even let me name one of the two mounted Stripers they are putting up in the lounge; the male fish is named "Bob" and he was looking for suggestions on names for the female fish, I offered "Betty" which he liked.
The bathrooms and rooms are very clean, no smoke smell! The old televisions are being replaced. Shuttles take you to the casino, but we prefer walking after so much sitting. We had pool passes to the two beautiful pools. We also had access in our package that included the fitness room. I didn't use it, but it had free weights, several treadmills and some other equipment. There are numerous whirlpools and the fitness room has a sauna. I will even book a stay without the special offers sent to us by the casino. Clearly they are working hard at improving and keeping the price affordable. Unless we receive another free room package for the Towers, we will be staying here. The walls were a little thin and our neighbors were apparently deaf; loud t.v. until late into the night. (Oh, just don't expect a return on the slots!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englishhogg, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your very kind review.

We are all working hard to make the Choctaw Lodge a great place to stay and your very kind review helps to boost the team. We have had many comments about the scrambled eggs and we are adding these to our breakfasts beginning the 1st of September.

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon,

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
2.8 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel

Property: Magnuson Hotel
Address: 4617 S 9th Ave, Durant, OK 74701-2173 (Formerly Choctaw Lodge)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choctaw Lodge is located less than 400 feet from the Choctaw Casino, Durant. Near Southeastern Oklahoma State University, Lake Texoma, Eisenhower State Park, Red River Railroad Museum and the Johnson Creek Recreation Area. The Choctaw Lodge offers guests free buffet breakfast served from 6:30 am to 10 am, free shuttle to Choctaw Casino, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. Guest rooms offer cable TV with extra stations, free high speed wireless internet access, coffee maker, microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock/radio, iron/board, sofa bed and electronic door locks. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Magnuson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Durant
Durant Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing