We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night aside from flies”
Review of Magnolia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnolia Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Tomball, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok for one night aside from flies”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

The hotel is not as clean as it should be. The carpet was quite dirty and there were a lot of flies giving us a welcoming embrace as soon as we entered the room. When you first go in the room aside from the flies everything looks nice, until to you look closely. The beds were not queen and the floor was dirty. The pool was missing several tiles and it was very slippery. It could use some TLC and a good cleaning. I am sure it has the money to do it since it was nearly full to capacity, and at $70 a night there is definite money going in. Hope it improves because Durant seemed like a nice little town to visit.

Room Tip: Take your Lysol
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanesa_Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    6
    8
    18
See reviews for
7
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

How this place got 4/5 stars is beyond me. We booked two nights here. We sort of went with another couple. When I say sort of, the husbands stayed the first night (while us moms stayed back with the kids), then we switched out and us girl's stayed the second night (while the boys stayed home with the kids). I'm explaining this for a reason.

The second night, the girls arrived. We went to the front desk to request a shuttle to the casino. The lobby was full and included some shady looking people. The front desk clerk announced that she remembered our husbands the night prior and commented how they were at home with the kids and we were alone. She also announced our room number, audible enough for the entire lobby to hear. Gee, thanks.

The parking lot was very loud, ALL NIGHT, and there were people sitting on the stairway. We had to ask them to move so we could get to our 2nd floor room. Kids up playing all hours, people running up and down the breezeway, morons gunning their engines, and the LOUD train. We caught maybe 4 hours of sleep. We considered driving the hour back home, but didn't want to risk it because we were so tired.

The room was very stinky and there was a brown stain (of questionable nature) on the bedskirt. The hot/cold shower knobs were on backwards and it took some time to figure out, not to mention the shower pipe had come uncaulked from the tile and was hanging out. There was a gap in the (closed) front door and daylight was actually streaking in the next morning.

I emailed management about the clerk announcing our info and didn't get anywhere. Never again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tam2419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durant hotels

READING
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We travel with a dog, so always looking for a place that will allow pets. room was clean, bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. Nice area to walk our dog. Places to eat not far away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reading_travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinndurant, Director of Sales at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your review of your stay with us! We appreciate your time and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!

Days Inn, Durant OK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cctexas
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2010

We went to visit our son and had a wonderful stay with Days Inn while we were thier. The breakfast was great. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinndurant, Director of Sales at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review, 6 December 2010
We are glad to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and complimentary breakfast. Anytime you are in to with your son, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks you for the great review and we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We stayed one night at the Days Inn Durant. When you first drive up, it does look a bit outdated, but the inside it totally remodeled. The front desk service was always quick and very helpful. I was very surprised by how clean and nice the room was. One small issue we had with the bathtub was taken care of immediately. I doubt you will find a better deal when staying in Durant. Save your money for the casino and stay here - it was the best price in town!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PooPeck33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinndurant, Director of Sales at Magnolia Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Since our property has new ownership and has been newly renovated we appreciate the response and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

The property was apparently newly remodeled. There were granite counter tops on the vanity and lining the shower. There was new carpet, drapes, and furniture. It was much different than my stay last year. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Crystal was very sweet and went above and beyond what was necessary to make sure me and my elderly mother were comfortable. A man that I assume to be the maintenance man was loud and obnoxious. He spoke profanities loudly and it was very offensive. Other than that, it was a delightful trip.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sllims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2009

The room was average and acceptable to stay in. During the night the sound of doors slamming constantly and a train made it difficult to sleep. The non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke. I will pay more and stay at a better hotel next year at the CHOCTAW TRIBAL GOAT SHOW.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOATRACER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durant
0.3 mi away
Best Western Markita Inn
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durant
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Express Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Durant
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Durant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Inn

Property: Magnolia Inn
Address: 2121 W Main St, Durant, OK 74701-4940 (Formerly Days Inn Durant)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Durant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Durant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnolia Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
81 rooms, 2 floorsPets are welcome for addition fee.The Days Inn Durant is located at Hwy 75/69 and Main in Durant, and 90 miles from Dallas Ft Worth International Airport.Hotel features include seasonal outdoor pool, El Tapatio restaurant, free parking, public high-speed Internet access, and free shuttle to and from casino.Each guest room has air-conditioning, am/fm clock radio, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, microwave, refrigerator, and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Durant Hotel Durant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing