We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Route 66 of Memories” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Route 66 Museum

National Route 66 Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Elk City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Route 66 of Memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

As we were heading west we made a side trip to to the National Route 66 Museum. We have always wanted to travel on Route 66 over the years and Route 66 is slowly disappearing. This museum is part of a larger group of buildings in Elk City which has so many memories it is had to describe. The Route 66 building takes you through the local area of 66 and if you are older that 50 this place will stir your memory. The other buildings takes you through the local history of Elk City and is an antique collectors dream place. There are so many items in all the buildings that it will just amaze you. The admission fee is very low for what you get.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gjsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    69
    28
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
519 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Rare pieces of equipment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Well worth the visit, nicely exhibited, especially the farming museum with it's vintage items. The machinery was very well maintained.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolutely amazing museum experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had seen the signs many time and we finally stopped to check it out. We had no idea how much this museum has to offer! A tremendous variety and number of fascinating artifacts, interesting and very informative exhibits all professionally executed and housed in a variety of period buildings. Everything is well documented and laid out and the staff is very friendly and knowledgable. The ridiculously low admission fees and amount of things to see make this a must-do for even large families. I am on the board of a small town historical museum and I can't say enough good things about this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
361 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Worth getting off the Interstate to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Saw the signs while traveling East on I-40. Decided to go see it. Glad we did. Several buildings devoted to the old Route 66 and an entire recreated village showing life as it was in probably the early 1900s. Very reasonable entrance fee and you can stay as long as you like. Many things to bring back old memories from "back in the day".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JackfromGigHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“More than Route 66 and highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We visit this museum having stopped at the Oklahoma Route 66 Museum in Clinton and decided not to pay the entrance fee.

For us this was a good decision. At a cost of only $5 dollars we were able to see R66 memorabilia and a great deal more of other historic displays (we had by now realised that whatever R66 museum you visited it was the same type of stuff everywhere and once you’ve seen it one, well you get my drift).

Pleasant staff in all the attractions and we had several friendly chats.

We spent quite a long time here but I was ready to leave by the time we reached the last exhibit (agricultural machinery for us) as it was extremely hot.

An excellent visit and highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Route 66 Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Route 66 Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing