We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad, Bad, Bad” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Inn
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad, Bad, Bad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I'm not sure where all these good reviews are coming from. I stayed here on 3 separate occasions while my husband was working in Elk City. The room he was provided with was dingy and run down. The carpets were so filthy that they turned the bottom of our socks brown and there were cigarette burns in the comforter. The shower had rust in the tub and the ceiling tile above had black mold growing out of it. The towels were stained, the internet was so slow it was almost impossible to load a webpage, and the door had a large gap in it through which bugs and noise freely entered. The worst part was that the housekeeping staff barged in on me without knocking as early as 7:30am some mornings and would not go away. They insisted on cleaning the room at their convenience, not yours. There are not many nice hotels in Elk City, but there are definitely better options than this. Take your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plishyploshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    53
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
56
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Even the electrical and plumbing are updated. Some work still in progress, very minor (vending area).

Like most motels in the panhandle, expect there to be oilfield workers. The ones present when I stayed were quiet and courteous, not partying. But they leave early, and all have diesel trucks. You can expect the same at ANY motel in the oil patch.

Room Tip: Not much street noise, all rooms probably the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant experience. We found this by chance and it was so lucky. The guy at the front desk was so nice and friendly. He told us the carpet was just recently installed. It was a comfortable, clean and the bed was not at all squishy. The biggest surprise was that it was so affordable. Highly recommend this place

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

It's pretty cheap. It might be on the old Route 66, but there's precious little to suggest it if that's what you're looking for.

Before reaching our room, we passed a pile of construction debris. I hope it's debris and not intended for use. It's sitting in the parking lot.

Opening the door, we see a cracked ceiling and notice one wall sconce askance. The toilet is crammed too close to the wall for a larger frame like mine. The tub is old and tired, the floor squeaks, and the bathroom rack struggles under the weight of bath towels. The advertised vending machines have been replace with construction debris.

Clean enough and bed was comfortable enough, even with a lumpy pillow. Watch out: some of the locals leave early (before 7:00AM) and their trucks and voices can be loud.

I will never return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Wow -- huge TV and comfy beds. Microwave , refrigerator and coffeemaker you in room as well. Would rather stay here than an overpriced chain. Ash, manager, very friendly. Could not find a place for breakfast so left on 40 East to Weatherford to eat and continue on our way.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purrowess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollister, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here for a night this week and found this to be a very nice place. I was traveling through, and decided to stop for the night. I got a nice room and the proprietor/s were terrific about helping me find my lost cell phone (which involved calling it many times while listening for the ring). Everything worked like it was supposed to, the room was clean and attractive with no lingering odors. I don't normally write reviews, but I feel this one is very deserved. I highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I was excited to stay at The Flamingo Motel on our Route 66 journey. I was a little disappointed by the lack of retro touches on the inside. I wanted a nod to the 66 glory days. Once I got over the disappointment, the motel was fine. The manager was quite friendly and we chatted up the neighbors. There were a number of gentlemen working on the pipelines staying there, but it was surprisingly quiet despite being full. .

It was clean. The bed was quite comfortable. Flat screen TV's as others mentioned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elk City hotels
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Elk City
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elk City
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Elk City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#6 of 17 in Elk City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Elk City
Clarion Inn Elk City
#9 of 17 in Elk City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Elk City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Inn

Property: Flamingo Inn
Address: 2000 W 3rd St, Elk City, OK 73644-4306
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Elk City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Elk City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flamingo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Elk City, Oklahoma on Route 66 is Flamingo Inn. Locally owned and operated, this 45 room Inn is a great place to stay. Rooms available are Single, King, Double Beds, 3 Beds, and rooms with kitchenette for those that may be staying for longer periods of time in Elk City. All rooms have a flat screen TV, free wi-fi, in room coffee makers, iron and ironing boards. Located next door to us, is Pedro's Mexican Restaurant, Elk City's busiest restaurant. On the other side of our Inn, is a laundromat. We are within 1 mile of several more restaurants, grocery stores, gas stations. Located right across from us is the Elk City Hospital. Whether you are in town for business, pleasure, or just passing through, come stay with us at the Flamingo Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Flamingo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing