We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alabaster Caverns State Park

Alabaster Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Freedom
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“One of a Kind!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Do not miss this great opportunity to see one of the three gypsum caves in the world.... This is the world's largest gypsum cave.... 3/4 of a mile hike through the hills of Oklahoma.... Great opportunity for the family... Don't miss this!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    10
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bat tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Great tour! Kids loved it and our guide was very knowledgeable. Glad we signed up for the Selman Bat Tour, utterly amazing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank S2_Okie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anadarko, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to come in the summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

My wife and I visited the Alabaster Caverns before attending the Selman Bat watch program. It is a nice place to visit, and definitely a nice place to cool down on a hot Oklahoma Summer day. It takes a little less than an hour to go through the cave on a guided tour, which I think they do on the hour. You can make a reservation by phone, which is advisable just to make sure you get the tour when you want to take it, and not have to wait for the next one. Other than the cave tour, there didn't seem to be much else to do in the area besides a small gift shop/visitor center. My only complaint is that you don't get much time to enjoy the cave because they keep you going at a fast pace I guess for the next tour. You're pretty much waking non-stop with little time to check up the cave features. Staff were nice, knowledgeable and friendly. I'll definitely go again if I'm in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Interesting Cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Alabaster cave was interesting because it is a gypsum cave. The cave has 335 steps but was not that strenuous. You have to be careful of slipping because the cave is wet and also has some muddy paths. If you are in the area I would visit the cave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, NE
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Our poor tour guide had been on for five days, and you could tell. It must be hard to repeat the same stuff over and over, hour after hour, and still have emotion. Still, a thorough tour. No bats on our visit. Learned you shouldn't touch the green slime lest you be sick. And don't drink a drop of gyp water lest you be on the pot for 20 minutes. And don't stay in the caves for 6 weeks lest you be permanently blind. The caves in themselves are neat but I wasn't wowed. That's probably just me, though. Do bring a jacket or long sleeve shirt!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bumpy1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alabaster Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing