We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batty experience”

Alabaster Caverns State Park
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Freedom
Attraction details
Okmulgee, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Batty experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I love caves and always wanted to visit Oklahoma's only real cave state park. We knew not to expect stalagmites, but the tour was still interesting and seeing black alabaster which is only found 3 places in the world is cool. After taking the 5 o'clock tour, we experienced the Selman Bat Watch, for which you need to enter a lottery to register. After an educational orientation you are taken by school bus to an an area nearby, where you can take an optional walking tour and one of the biologists describes the flora and fauna of the area. Then, you take your seats to see a million and a half Mexican free tail bats fly from the cave at dusk. Unlike Austin, TX, you have to pay for this viewing, but the experience is very worthwhile.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fourhaydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    11
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A different kind of cavern”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have never been to a cavern that wasn't a limestone type. This cavern has been carved out of alabaster rock. There are not stalagmites, just giant boulders that have fallen from the ceiling. Someday this cavern will collapse onto itself and all that will be left is a canyon. Very interesting to see it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mikekrauss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“If you like caves, this is a good one”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A long drive from OK City but if you like caves, this one is for you. Combine this site with the salt flats just east of there and you have a full day. Tours are on the hour so if you get there at 10 minutes after the hour you will wait 50 minutes.....and there is nothing to do while waiting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jakeS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guthrie
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We drove out to the cave since we're both Okies and have never been. We were the last tour if the day, which allowed our guide to take extra time and a larger group than normal through the cave. She did a wonderful job pointing out all of the features of the cave and worked with our group on a very intimate personal level that made our trip through the cavern one that was well worth the trip. We highly recommend the trip if you're passing through. It's a great way to leave the beaten path and great for the kids too.

The park also has hookups for campers and tent sites too. I wouldn't recommend the tent in the summer heat, but the park is very quaint and well equipped for any adventurer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank JustPassinByGuthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wild caving at Alabaster Caverns State Park is pretty wild”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This review is just for the wild caving at Alabaster Caverns. Some rules for wild caving: register at the office. at least 3 people, each person to have hard hat, long sleeves, water, 3 light sources. (There may be other rules.) The office will give you maps of the caves. Plan on an adventure. You'll get VERY dirty. (see pictures!) We did 2 caves on day 1 and 2 other caves on day 2. I think there are 5 that you can go through. There were places that were pretty tight for me to get through. I'm 5'9" and 175 lbs. There is some physical exertion to climb up some of the areas. We has a blast! It is a challenging trip through some areas. You'll find some fairly large rooms and unique rock formations. There are lots of areas that are single file; you can't pass by another person. If you think you may get claustrophobic, be the last one in your group; you know you can always go back the way you came. Or, you may want to skip this trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank denner_n_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Alabaster Caverns State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing