We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!”
Review of The Stone Lion Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guthrie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stone Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Guthrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yukon, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Much Fun!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My husband and I attended the murder mystery dinner to celebrate our 30 year anniversary. We had wanted to stay overnight but they were completely booked. We will do that next time and there will be a next time because it was so much fun! I have not laughed that hard in such a long time. The fun actually begins a few weeks before when you find out your character, start putting your wardrobe together and preparing for your trip "back in time". The food was lovely, and "Uta" was the best! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    64
    22
    19
    16
See reviews for
31
169
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noble, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My husband and I attended the murder mystery and spent the night. We took my mom and her friend for her 81st birthday. We all had a great time. Food was very good and the murder mystery was a lot of fun. My mom said it was the best birthday gift she had ever receieved.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustang, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was apprehensive about the whole murder mystery dinner because it was my first. When my husband and I got there, we checked in at the Stone Lion and went to our room at the White Peacock, our French Room was adorable. Our fridge was stocked with Coke, Diet Coke and Sprite I think, everything was spotless and decorated beautifully. We got ready and I got a chance to visit with Becky and her friends, they were so sweet, and so enjoyable to talk to. Once it was time for the murder mystery we headed back over to the Stone Lion Inn. Shortly after everyones arrival we were served hors d'oeuvres and the fun began. The entire evening flowed smoothly and the food was okay. I say okay because I am picky and don't eat meat with bones, but everything else was good. (My husband liked the Cornish Hen because he ate mine too!) We enjoyed the huge jacuzzi in our room. Breakfast was great, and Becky shared stories with us which was hilarious.

My family and I have already planned a date for all of us to go back!

Also, they take photos throughout the entire night and offer post them online for everyone! NICE TOUCH!

Room Tip: White Peacock Rooms seem to be less antiquated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great time at our murder mystery event. Everything was very well planned out and the food was amazing. We stayed the night and had breakfast in the morning. I would love to do it again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbschroeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My sister had always wanted to attend the Murder/Mystery dinner and spend the night at the Stone Lion Inn in historic Guthrie. We had the most wonderful experience! The staff is friendly and makes you feel like you have known them forever. Walking in the door to the Stone Lion, you feel as if you have stepped back in time. The dinner was good, breakfast the next morning was awesome, and we have never had so much fun dressing the part of becoming someone else for the evening. Can't wait to go back and take the entire family!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Got there, paid, led to our room. Not enough lighting in the room to prepare for the mystery. Only two outlets, zero outlets in the bathroom. Dinner was ok...candles, not enough light. They said they had a refrigerator for the guests. It was empty with the sodas and water in a tub under the embalming table, warm.... Kitchen locked so zero ice available and no employees around whatsoever. Breakfast looked store-bought: that presliced blueberry cake/bread, cobbler, smoked sausage and green chili egg. The owner told stories at breakfast. She was ok. Sort of like she was doing a comedy show...wanted to hear more about the ghost stories... Didn't even ask if we "experienced anything weird". I will tell you... About 45 after breakfast ended, 10:30, my husband and I had to leave due to my not feeling well all of a sudden. I vomited and had diarrhea for the rest of the day. We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missymayigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Axe, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My Husband and I had a great time. We had never participated in a Murder Mystery before.
The Stone Lion Inn is beautifully furnished with antiques and we enjoyed the dinner. All the
guests were great in their parts and were dressed for the era of the mystery. Would love
to go back again and have recommended this to our friends. Uta was a great hostess!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guthrie
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Guthrie
2.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Guthrie
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Guthrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Guthrie-North Edmond
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Motel
Townhouse Motel
#5 of 7 in Guthrie
17 reviews
15.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Edmond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone Lion Inn

Property: The Stone Lion Inn
Address: 1016 W Warner Ave, Guthrie, OK 73044-2730
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Guthrie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Guthrie
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1907 stately Victorian Mansion, located in historic Guthrie, has been lovingly restored to preserve the authenticity and retain its original charm and ambiance. Stone Lion Inn bed and breakfast features a downstairs parlor, oak paneled dining room and leaded glass bookshelves in our library, as well as six guest room suites with elegant interiors including antique furnishings, sitting rooms, and private baths with claw-foot tubs for two.At the Stone Lion Inn, we are known for our Murder Mystery Weekends. Every Friday and Saturday night, up to 40 guests participate as characters in our famous murder mystery complete with a 7 course dinner. The event lasts for four hours as our guests interact with each other to solve the hilariously convoluted plot. One of them will be a murderer, and one of them will be murdered! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Stone Lion Hotel Guthrie
The Stone Lion Inn Guthrie, Oklahoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing