We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time and we're going back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hulbert
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Hills Guest Ranch
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had a great time and we're going back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Went for a long weekend with the kids (8 1/2 & 10). Stayed in a cabin that slept 4. Twin beds were VERY comfortable. Pull-out queen sleeper was like sleeping with a metal rod going through your back (like most sleepers are). One of my kids slept on the pull-out each night since they were small enough to twist around to avoid the metal rod. I do NOT suggest the queen sleepers for 2 adults if you require a firm mattress! WAY too uncomfortable! Beds have one pillow each, so if you like more, bring your own (glad we did.) Cabins are CLEAN and updated. No tubs, but very nice shower. They also have a sink, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, stove top electric burners (2), and plates, silverware and glasses. There was literally 1 pot and 1 frying pan. All cabins have a charcoal grill right outside and some have stone fire pits. Cabins have tile floors throughout, so if your feet get cold easily, bring slippers or house shoes! All cabins have some view of the lake and LOTS of windows, but some are better than others. Cabins are a duplex setting and there is a connecting door that locks. We were very fortunate to have quiet neighbors that were courteous, as were we, late at night, but I can easily see this being a nightmare if you have a loud family with animal kids next to you. Fishing is right off the dock down the hill in the back of the hotel. Sequoyah Riding Stables are right down the road. It was cold & rainy, but we went anyway and LOVED it! It's a 3-mile ride through the woods and takes an hour. Make reservations because it fills up fast in nice weather! Nature Center is close also. Feeding time is 3 pm and worth going. There was a Bald Eagle, owl, gray fox and coyote outside. Animals vary - they are rescue animals and may be different when you go. Golf course looks nice, but we don't golf. However, drive to golf course at dusk and you will see a ton of deer. Main hotel looks a little old and outdated, but it's very clean and the staff is VERY friendly. Restaurant is okay and service is slow. We weren't in a hurry, so it was fine. Several restaurants are in town and not a far drive. Pizza Port is just over the bridge and is AWESOME, and they deliver. Morgan's Corner (near Pizza Port) has all the bait/minnows you'll need. Fred's is a store on 51 that has a little bit of everything (like a mini WalMart) if you forget something. Hotel has lots of board games if the weather doesn't cooperate. Lots of nature trails for walking, hiking and bikes. Pool wasn't open yet, but looks very nice. We really enjoyed our stay - nice to get away and enjoy the outdoors and the lake. Bring your fishing poles, golf clubs and bikes and leave the electronics home!! We made reservations for Memorial Day weekend as we checked out from this weekend. It books up fast, so plan ahead. A nice getaway at the lake and less than an hour drive from Tulsa. Had a great time and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: TIPS: Floors are all tile in the cabins - bring house shoes/slippers. Not many plates/silverware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    13
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

You never know what weather will be like in Oklahoma. So, when you get 70s in December this is a great place to enjoy it. Walking paths, golf, a nature center, horseback rides, and fishing. Lake view cottage with odd arrangement (2 twin beds in the bedroom and a queen sleeper sofa in the living room). Redone all the way through. Very clean. Restaurant in the lodge was good but very slow.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okietraveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed three days for our family reunion. The cabins were very clean and are updated and comfortable with a kitchenette and bathroom. The livingroom has a queen sofa bed but like all sofa beds it was very uncomfortable. I definitely would save it for children only. We all stayed in the cabins and we were very spread out. Unfortunately we didn't have a large living space we all could meet in comfortably. There is little to do at the resort except swim unless you have a boat. The town of Wagoner offers very little in terms of shopping and restaurants unless you like fast food chains and Walmart.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamagirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Beautiful state park with lots to do: horseback ridding, new pool, nature center, tennis, golf, boat rental and good fishing oppertunities. Our cabin was newly remodeled, clean and very nicely decorated with a wonderful vew of the lake. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars rating was the lodge itself is a bit dated. Good job all, thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grove812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

I had a clean and updated cabin with a comfortable bed and, microwave sink and fridge. Nice view of the lake. The lodge and cabins are old style, with some outside repair issues, but with a nice pool and splash pad available (September was still warm enough to swim!), golf, horseback riding stable, and golf course, who cares? The restaurant has good basic food at a reasonable price if you don't want to cook.

Room Tip: Many of the cabins have great views of the lake,better than the lodge rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TNewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustang, Ok
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Area is beautiful. On Fort Gibson Lake. Worth a stay and good lodging prices. Several very good restaurants around the area, Wagoner, has 2 good Mexican restaurants. Okay, Ok has a great seafood and steak restaurant (Martin"s).

Room Tip: Use your AAA or AARP, seniors. Also has cabins if lodge is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blueturtle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

My husband's family recently held their bi-annual family reunion here which they've done for many many years now. This was my first time to visit and I was a little worried as I have pretty high standards when I go out of town. The hotel room was comfortable (nice AC!) and the Wi-Fi was great even though we were far from the lobby (a must for my husband!). We did have a scary spider in the room but it was exterminated quickly and we went about our merry way. The camp grounds are really beautiful with the huge lake pretty much occupying 75% of the parks circumference. We weren't able to get into the lake due to some bacteria concerns (pretty common in such hot weather) but the hotel pool was a great alternative. There was shady spots to relax and the pool was nice and large to accommodate all the children everywhere. They also had a splash pad which several of the people in our group enjoyed. I only tried the dining area once, which I was told was overpriced. The food was decent, basically what you would expect from a small lodge cafeteria/buffet. The year after next we will have dogs with us, so we will likely choose one of the cabin options... They looked very comfortable and spacious while also rustic and fun. They don't have Wi-FI in them though, so it will have to be a non-working trip. Oh, and I almost forgot, make sure to try out the horseback rides while you are there! The shaded trail is at least a mile long, if not more, through twists and turns. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed it and all the horses were mild mannered and handled well with beginners!

Room Tip: Book cabins early! They fill fast. Wifi is available only in the hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmart84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Western Hills Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hills Guest Ranch

Property: Western Hills Guest Ranch
Address: 19808 Park 10, Hulbert, OK 74441-2304
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Hulbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hulbert
Number of rooms: 150

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing