We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend at Buncombe Corner Striper Inn on Lake Texoma”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buncombe Corner Striper Inn
Comanche, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend at Buncombe Corner Striper Inn on Lake Texoma”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Buncombe Striper Inn is located on one of the most beautiful and popular parts of Lake Texoma. My wife and I chose the inn to spend our 49th wedding anniversary. August is probably the hottest time to go to the lake but we had a wonderful time. We met some of our former job mates there and the rooms are newly remodled, VERY clean,comfortable and the AC and T.V. (DirectTv) were all we could have asked for. We had a most pleasant two days stay. The owners and hosts Gary and Beverly are the best ever. We plan to come back next year and spend our 50th anniversary there next August.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

First time visit at this really nice, comfortable vacation lodging at Lake Texoma. Clean, quiet, and very accommodating. Gary and Beverly will do whatever it takes to make you feel at home. Met friends there and enjoyed every minute.

Room Tip: Rooms in the motel were very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a big problem when we started receiving texts early our first morning there, that our credit card had been charged after being very clear with the owners that we were paying in cash. We received 4 of these texts for only one nights stay! Gary, the owner said his wife Bev was in bed (this was about 11am) and had accidentally charged us instead of another couple that was checking out. So we paid someone elses bill! They said they refunded us but without wifi, we couldn't check our bank account to see how many times we had been charged versus refunded.

Bev, the second owner told us to send her a check for a discounted price when we got home. This was her apology for causing us grief and making an unauthorized charge to our bank account. Then when we called to get their mailing address, she changed the agreed upon price - raising it higher. Through emails she then alluded to contacting the district attorney which was laughable as we paid our bill promptly. We are still waiting for our receipt over a month and several emails later. So much for good business practices.

The rooms are very small and in need of repair. Our room had a hole in the wall that let the ants and roly poly bugs parade through the bathroom. Multiple places on the ceiling had big cracks with the paint and sheetrock dislocated. There was only one electrical outlet available near the bed and another near the bathroom sink.The 2nd room had 2 beds with both beds being pushed tight against the wall on one side and the AC unit on the other. There was a small path in between.

There was no wifi offered, the televisions were super small and the cable tv only had infomercials (There was a Thunder basketball playoff game the next night). There is a game room with old, comfy couches, a slightly bigger tv and an old pool table available but we found out AFTER checking in that there is a daily charge for using this room.

Room Tip: The bunkhouse might be in better repair
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bevcook, Owner at Buncombe Corner Striper Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
i won't go into extensive detail other than to say that we waited nine days for payment. charging the credit card was a mistake, but was immediately refunded. our motel is not new, but new to us. since purchasing we have upgraded as we can afford it. the rooms are clean, no bugs, the t.v.s are newly purchased flat screens with direct tv. they are not big screen flat screens, but our customers have been very happy with them. we will continue to upgrade our business as we can afford to do so. i understand that not all customers are not happy customers. receipts have been sent multiple times for this payment. the payment was recieved nine days after services were rendered. i appreciate each and every review. we have and will continue to understandingly respond to reviews. i must admit, the ant and roly poly parade was very intertaining. lol...our facility is sprayed regularly. so, we can assure customers that it is fine. however, the outside insects do live here at the lake. it is the lake.i know we can't please everyone all of the time, but we will gladly continue to try. heidi, thank you for your review, and have a blessed day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a crew together to fish this past weekend on Lake Texoma. Stayed at the Corner and had a great time. The Bunkhouse was very spacious and clean. The old kids has as much fun as the young ones. Great owners!!! Oh, BTW, We maxed out our limit of fish within 3 hours. A super birthday and weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had clients in from out of the country and took them on an overnight stay before fishing the next morning. The bunkhouse was perfect for us. Pool table was used constantly & enough tables/chairs for everyone. Rooms/Beds/Restrooms were very clean.
We will stay there again next time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Buncombe Corner Striper Inn is absolutely my favorite get-away. All outside life just slows down and complete relaxation begins. I come here twice a year and have for years. I plan on returning for many years to come. Thanks Bev and Gary for all you do to make our stay so pleasant. See you next time. :))

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birdie042664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My family and I have stayed here several times and we always have a great time. The owners are very friendly and always have our room ready for us when we get there. They will even turn on the AC before you arrive so you don't arrive into a stuffy room. The rooms are always clean and the owners are great about getting you extra things needed, like towels and soaps. It is a short distance to the marina and this area is great for families. Another thing we liked is there is enough room in the parking lot to park our boat and trailer so we didn't have to park it in the public parking where we couldn't keep an eye on our things. Great place to get away!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sand Bass Inn & Suites
5.8 mi away
Tanglewood Resort and Conference Center
4.8 mi away
Lake Texoma RV Campground
Lake Texoma RV Campground
#1 of 6 in Gordonville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Lake Texoma Lodge and Resort
Show Prices

Been to Buncombe Corner Striper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buncombe Corner Striper Inn

Property: Buncombe Corner Striper Inn
Address: 4033 Shay Rd, Kingston, OK 73439-8153
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Kingston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kingston
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a fishing lodge set on a beautiful wooded lot. The motel has seven rooms. Our bunkhouse is great for large groups or family reunions. The bunkhouse has five private bedrooms with built in bunkbeds and private bath for each. The king room has a king bed, four built in bunks and two private baths. The rec room has a pool table, living area with TVs, two tables, fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Each building has charcoal grills and pic nic tables. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing