We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommended”

Patron Mexican Grill
Ranked #43 of 74 Restaurants in McAlester
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
615 reviews
533 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

The staff at the Hampton Inn recommended this Mexican restaurant to us, and we are glad they did. The margaritas are excellent, and they have a wide variety of them, a stable of mojitos, and many other libations. The menu is also wide ranging, with all the usual suspects and then some. For example, there are salmon tacos, camarones rancheros (grilled shrimp with red chile sauce, grilled tomatoes, and bell pepper), and a "light dinner" section. My wide had the tortilla soup, and they were happy to hold the cheese. It was light, with chicken broth and chunks, and ample avocado slices. We also enjoyed a side of pickled jalapenos. I ordered the chicken fajitas (with four shrimp added for $4), and they were wonderful, served with excellent grilled peppers, tomatoes, and onions, sides of beans, rice, pico de gallo, sour cream and guacamole, as well as tasty homemade tortillas. My wife shared a bit with me, and we still didn't finish a single order. Service was good, but not hovering, and prices were very reasonable. Now I can recommend Patron as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jays911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    9
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food/Good Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We went to Patron on a whim and found that the food is pretty good. We were dissapointed that you have to buy cheese with the set up. Chicken burrito was good. Chips are great. Salsa is from canned tomatoes. Dining room was clean and smelled good. We would eat there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OKfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAlester, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Quality and service has gone down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Went on a Saturday late afternoon/early evening. The server we had was friendly, but seemed overworked and rarely came around to check on us. Our chips and salsa were never replenished. We were not asked about our meals after they came. After being there about an hour and a half, we had to go stand at the front and wait for someone who could get our bill for us.

The alcoholic drinks we ordered were not prepared the way we asked, or even properly, and were very weak. Very, very expensive drinks. Between 3 of us we had 5 drinks total, and the drink bill was $40.

The food was very slow to come. When it did arrive, the food was very tasty, but portions were small. Prices for the food were about average. Total food bill for 3 people was about $28.

This is the third time in a row we've been disappointed with some aspect of the dining experience. I don't imagine we'll return again any time soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Qbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What happened to this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Was the best Mexican restaraunt in McAlester , new management came in , restaurant is nothing like it was , Lost food quality and service. Even smells inside

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Really good food. I had taco chicken plate which was excellent and other family members had some type of Mexican sampler plate and they loved it. Victor was great!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mstraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patron Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Patron Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing