We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Norman
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

The Fairfield Inn & Suites hotel is just what you'd expect from the Fairfield line of Marriott Hotels. The staff at the hotel was very helpful and always cheerful. The hotel has a pool which is about 40-feet by 20-feet and a hot tub. The pool area was kept very neat and was clean. The hotel also has a fitness center. The equipment included two treadmills and an elliptical machine. There was also a set of dumbells. Small space. The room was equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. A small desk and a dresser were also a part of the room furnishings. The one thing I missed having was a small side chair, but I think that is what you get with the Fairfield brand. We ate the breakfast buffet, which consisted of waffles, cereal, fruit, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, milk, juices and coffee. The hotel was completely full according to the hotel staff and the lobby / breakfast area was always able to hold the guests. Overall, this is a good hetel and a great staff.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wisconsintotexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    53
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
50
24
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Everyone at this hotel was wonderful. We stayed for three nights and every employee at the front desk was very cheerful and helpful without seeming fake or condescending at all. The Management went above and beyond with a request we made. The lady that hosts the breakfast was such a delight. The maid was even full of smiles and always said hello when we saw her. Absolutely the most pleasant staff I've experienced in a hotel. The price was very reasonable. Great decor, clean, and located in a great location. A+++++++!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77CamilleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poteau, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here while on business in Norman. They offer a government rate and free continental breakfast. The location us good with BJ's Brewhouse right next door. Rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Great stay!.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakewhite23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Went to a football game and stayed at this hotel. It was your typical Fairfield Inn. Good enough for a couple nights. Clean rooms with a very friendly, professional staff. Good enough breakfast. Conveniently located next to a decent sports bar - BJ's. My only knock is not directly on this hotel but Fairfields in general. It is not 2006. Time for HDTV and a cable TV system that has a program menu. It becomes tedious slowly surfing thru channels to find something to watch (I got stuck at the hotel all day sunday due to a monday morning flight.) Also, I get tired of standing in my own dirt and grime while taking a shower. Does anybody really use a bathtub at a economy hotel?? Pull the drain stops already.

As far as the hotel's location in relation to the stadium, you are hard pressed to find anything closer than 1-2 miles from the stadium. Cabs are non-existant during game day. Your best bet is to rent a car at the OKC airport and park as close as possible on gameday.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I'm a very frequent visitor of hotels all around the country, and not a single hotel has been better than this one. I stayed for 5 nights, and I was very pleased with every aspect of my visit. The front desk manager Colleen was very helpful and extremely polite. She took care of every last thing I needed. When I got to my room, it had a light hint of smoke. I mentioned the issue to her, and she immediatly apologized, explaining that the hotel is a non smoking facility, and moved me into a much better room. All in all, A++++ experience, and I will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I recently stayed here on a business trip and had a great stay. The room was very clean and while I was there they were in the process of steamcleaning all the carpets and bathroom tile as well as curtains. If you need to do business around th OU campus this is a great location as it is only about 10 minutes down Main Street from the school. There is plenty to eat within walking distance including Olive Garden, BJ's, Charlestons and McDonalds. The breakfast was the normal Mariott style.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

It is with great regret that I write of the worse Marriott experience I have experienced, at The Marriott Norman Fairfield Inn and Suites. I’ve had worse stays in hotels, but this is the worse for the Marriott group of brands. This was my 951st Marriott night, and was to include 2 nights. For the first time I had to check out early from the hotel – it was unbearable. Upon check in I found the clerk dressed in a college t-shirt rather than an appropriate hotel polo-shirt uniform. I was not acknowledged based on my Marriott Rewards status, nor was I offered my complimentary arrival amenity of an item from the market or 200 points. The requested Pack and Play was in the room when I arrived to room 220, but was missing bedding for the pack and play. We left to procure bedding from a nearby store. When returning we found the lobby secure to room key access as necessary for security after midnight. Having to return after midnight with our 1 and 2 year old children was not desirable, but we now had what we needed to be able to turn in.
The room was in poor shape, notably there was significant mold on the floor tile and around the bath tub. The air conditioner struggled to keep the room comfortable on this mid-October day but groaned through the night to keep the room comfortable. Our family of four was awakened throughout the night with the movement from the room above, no doubt company from the youth sports team members we saw congregated downstairs, the experience of being in a room beneath a slumber party was a reminder that I should ask for a high floor room next time.

Finally receiving decent rest by the time the sun was rising, we were awoken to a car alarm outside our room. No doubt this was good timing, housekeeping was knocking before we were done packing to abandon the room. Upstairs the gorillas were again awake, ensuring that the carpet was well tacked to the floor with the veracity of a “Stomp” performer. When we finished our packing and took bags into the hall, housekeeping asked if we needed service today. We responded that they could have the room and we were leaving. At the front desk the clerk quickly processed my early check out. I asked if I get my points back from the second night, he said “it won’t print on the receipt”. Not an answer. I’m quite surprised that he didn’t ask why I was leaving.

After packing the car I returned to the lobby to receive the complimentary cold breakfast. The breakfast attendant nicely dressed in a sharp pink dress shirt was packing up the room. Before securing the milk with a padlock, he asked everyone in the lobby if there was anything else he could get them. After completing the clean up, he made a second round to ensure everyone had what they needed. He was the first employee that I observed that appeared to have hospitality foremost in his job.

We have checked out, and are moving to a SpringHill tonight nearby. We’ve been to this SpringHill in Moore before, and are happy to have a nearby escape to seek refuge tonight.
The hotel’s physical condition is sub-par, the placement of groups of teenagers on the top floor a bad decision, but the lack of hospitality of the staff was driving force in causing my family to leave this hotel early.

Room Tip: I would select a different hotel. The SpringHill Suites in Moore are nice, the Residence Inn in Bric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mik505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanFFS_GM, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you faced during your recent stay with us. Our goal is to make every guest feel welcome, provide every guest a clean and fresh room that reflects the highest quality standards, always respond to any need our guests might have and to give you service that will make you want to return. Unfortunately, we let you and your family down and will make it our top priority to ensure something like this does not happen again. We take all guest comments very seriously and use them as a tool to help us ensure the proper training is implemented with every staff member, at every stage of your stay with us. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to show you the true spirit of hospitality that you have come to expect from every Marriott property. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Andy Booker
Property Support Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norman
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Norman
Hampton Inn Norman
#4 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#14 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
Address: 301 Norman Center Ct, Norman, OK 73072-4867
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in Norman, OK offers a great location off of I-35 next to the Sooner Mall and near the University of Oklahoma. Guests will enjoy our close location to many restaurants as well as area businesses including Norman Healthplex, Johnson Controls & Norman National Weather Center. Travelers will only be 20 minutes from downtown Oklahoma City. Travel north on I-35 and you'll be an easy drive to Bricktown Entertainment District, Chesapeake Energy Arena and the OKC National Memorial. When you stay with us you'll never disrupt your routine with our free WiFi, free breakfast daily, 24 hour fitness center, laundry room, business center and indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Norman
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman Hotel Norman
Fairfield Inn Norman
Fairfield Norman
Norman Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing