We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Norman(Norman)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Norman(Norman)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman(Norman)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites Norman(Norman)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
14
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Although the three course breakfast isn't gourmet, the owners are terrific and the house is very charming. It is also walking distance from some nice restaurants. Each of the rooms has different themes and furniture. Our Bed and Bath room had a tub in the bedroom, almost at the foot of the bed and was cozy and romantic.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank RockstarWinemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a historic house that belonged to a dean at the university once and now is a bed and breakfast. The rooms have themes. We were in the "Blue Danube" room. It has a jacuzzi tub (which we had no time to use), a shower, a closet, a very small TV, and a queen size bed. There was very good internet access, but there was no desk, so we had to put our computer on a bedside table. There were soft chairs in the room, but no straight chairs. There was plenty of dresser space in the room. The bed (when we came in) was overloaded with decorative pillows (which is a nice touch, but one never knows where to put them, as one does have to sleep in the bed). There was a window air conditioner, which we used. The room had a lock and key. When I asked about whether they needed the key to make up the room, I was told there is "no maid service". This is OK, as we don't mind making our own bed, but seemed a bit strange. No one came in, even to empty the wastebaskets or change the towels the entire time. This was OK, because we only stayed 3 nights. I don't know whether this was because the innkeepers were on vacation and they had someone else running the place. The upstairs hall had a small apt. size fridge with drinks, mainly cokes and water, and a coffee maker (and various kinds of coffee and tea) that one needed to learn how to use-- Keurig or something like that. The downstairs had some packaged snacks in a jar that one could help oneself to. There were nice 3-course breakfasts, not too big, different each morning. It always started with fruit, then a main dish (one day half a waffle, another day stuffed zucchini, another day a crepe), and lastly a small dessert (one day a tiny piece of cheese cake). They are willing to take into account one's allergies, but we don't have any. They did provide us decaf coffee, when we asked. There is parking for perhaps 4 cars in the driveway. The front door has a rather cranky combination lock, which they showed us how to use, and eventually one can figure out how to use. There is a nice front porch with rocking chairs and porch/lawn furniture, which is a nice place to visit with friends. There is also a nice side garden with a small waterfall and fish pond with goldfish and a table and chairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolmbergHouse, Owner at Holmberg House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

We are sorry we missed meeting you and your husband and hope you will visit again. We trust that our staff took very good care of you. We are a small bed and breakfast and therefore are able to give personalized service. We did have lap desks and a computer table for your use in the closet of your room. I apologize that it wasn't pointed out to you. It certainly would have made it easier for the work you were doing while here.

With so many business travelers and international guests, (who generally stay two nights), we don't provide turn down service as everyone's schedule is different and we never want to interrupt a guest enjoying the space, napping or working. We do however, let our guests know if they need anything at all, we are here to accomodate. Thank you for your kind words. Blessings & Safe Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at Holmberg House and received the best customer service from Gene & Lou. The food that Lou cooked was delicious for breakfast and generous. Our Cottage-was clean and exactly what we needed for an overnight stay. The thing that took them from good to great however was-after leaving my purse in the cottage they actually delivered it to my house! Customer service is their specialty!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage that backed up to the alley of campus corner-so expect some music from the bars or walk on over and grab a Guiness without the need to drive! The music would not be an issue if you are staying in one of the rooms in the big house.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Needing a place to stay near OU to see a dance performance on campus, Holmberg House was the perfect location. We met my daughter and walked to one of her favorite restaurants and then on to the theatre. Lou and Gene were gracious and accommodating, even inviting my daughter to join us since the room sleeps three. The Holmberg House has a peaceful, pleasant atmosphere. Breakfast was individually cooked, unlike some larger B&Bs I've stayed in; no warmed up casseroles here! The living areas have shining hand crafted woodwork and are impeccably clean. Comfortable beds, pretty décor, large bathroom, and plenty of closet space. The only problem was the noise, but as soon as we turned on the A/C fan we slept well. Who knew the train went through Norman all night?

This is The Place To Stay in Norman, and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

comfortable, inviting, welcoming.....best location (right near the OU campus....Amazing owners that know how to pamper a guest and make them feel special and relaxed...beautiful home, rooms are perfection....I highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews