We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Norman
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent staff is enough to overcome the small rooms and give an overall rating of "Excellent". The rooms are always very clean and there always seems to be someone keeping things picked up in the rest of the hotel.

We have been coming to O.U. games for a number of years and choose to stay here as opposed to other hotels that are closer, even though that means we have to park at the games. It is quick and easy to get back to the hotel after the game.

We would generally not eat a breakfast buffet. However, this buffet is especially good and everything is fresh whether you eat early or later.

Megan and Kendra at the front desk could not be nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rpagosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Good night's sleep. Quiet (except plumbing - it knocked a little shortly after use). Secure. Good food. Good staff. It does tend to confuse the gate people if you're not attending a Conference, but considering I was probably as confused as he was, who am I to complain? Definitely not the place for kids in my opinion, but was excellent for my purposes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Many Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for all of us in our group! The staff was friendly and efficient, and the entire facility from lobby to dining to guest rooms was clean and in great condition. As others have stated, the guest rooms are smaller than those found at many hotels (unless you've traveled to Europe where the size of these rooms would be more the "norm"), but the beds were comfortable and the linens were high quality. The amenities were incredible, especially considering the low cost for the stay: full-size weight room, gym with running track above, equipment rentals, game room, exercise room (with classes offered), huge swimming pool, gift shop, pub, lobby/restaurant area with TVs and lots of seating, computer stations, and a complementary breakfast with a huge assortment of food choices. Although the hotel is on the outskirts of town, it was still very convenient to activities in Norman. We will definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone traveling to the Norman area for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoSoonerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Disregard the negative reviews, this place is fun. I have never been to a hotel with so many amenities: huge outdoor pool, weight room, lounge, cafeteria, free popcorn and drinks, free hot breakfast. Yes the room is smaller than most but we are comfortable. Plenty of pillows and nice linens. We'll stay here again and we come to Norman every there months.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writewaysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

First and foremost, you have to remember that this place was designed as a training center for the U.S. Postal Service. I believe it now holds training clasess for other federal agencies and the military. We saw a lot of military while we were there. The rooms are very small and somewhat spartan, but they are quiet, and best of all cheap! The amenities more than make up for the small rooms. There is a huge saltwater pool with a separate area for lap swimming. This place also has the biggest workout facility I've ever seen at a hotel! Endless machines and an incredible set of free weights. There's also both an indoor and outdoor running track, a basketball court, and a softball field. If you have your own car, local restaurants really aren't that far away, but the hotel has it's own food court and the food was surprisingly good. The staff was friendly and courteous. For the price, it was a great bargain!

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, upgrade to a suite. We looked at one, and they're much larger. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missionman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncedgm, General Manager at Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Our rooms are indeed somewhat compact, as they were designed for single or double occupancy only (1 or 2 people), and short of demolishing them, we are unable to make adjustments. We take pride, however, in ensuring that they are extra clean, and have quality amenities. We make suites and connecting rooms available to our guests for a $50 supplement, and those easily accomodate up to 4 people and have two bathrooms. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the fantastic amenities that our hotel has to offer, and that the food court was to your liking as well. We hope to have the pleasure to be your hosts again soon. Enjoy the rest of the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

When we arrived, we were greeted promptly with a very unhappy, unfriendly "guard" at the gated entrance to the property. After a rather lengthly questioning session we were allowed to enter the gate and park under her very watchful eye. Once we entered the building, it was obvious we did not belong here. It is not a hotel at all and should remain strictly a training facility. We wanted to give it a chance because we knew we would not be able to recieve a refund if we left. Upon entering the smallest room (smaller than a room on a cruise ship!) we exited and booked elsewhere. We ended up paying for 2 hotels but at least we weren't subjected to staying at this property.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarks4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncedgm, General Manager at Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

I am sorry that your experience was not a positive one. Our conference Center is a Federal building, and as such has a gated entrance staffed 24/7. We are working diligently with the security staff at the entrance to ensure that they are more hospitable. As it is, many guests appreciate the excellent security associated with our facility. I am sorry that you left without experiencing the many outstanding amenities and the great breakfast that is included in our room rate. I hope that you will give us an other chance to ear your business.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

This hotel is a corporate training and conference facility owned by USPS and managed by Marriott. I was in the area visiting relatives during Memorial Day weekend and stared here. The rooms are small but well equipped with a queen size bed and upscale linens including lots of pillows and a comfy down duvet. Bathroom is also small but the towels were thick and soft and the soaps and shampoo were very nice. There's a cafeteria on the main floor also run by Marriott and a great breakfast buffet is included with the room. There are more than the usual recreational facilities on the campus including a complete fitness center, a salon, game room with pool tables, an outdoor tennis court, huge outdoor pool, and an indoor gym. I understand they also have golf available but I didn't see it. Everything I saw was clean and tidy. Didn't have time to make use of the many facilities but I did eat breakfast every morning in the cafeteria and took advantage of the free coffee in the lobby every evening. An additional bonus is free parking and 24 hour security at the entrance gate. Really a very nice, economical place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katztailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
5.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 25 in Norman
173 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development

Address: 2801 E State Highway 9, Norman, OK 73071-1101 (Formerly NCED Conference Center and Hotel)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range: £79 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development 3*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened to the public, this is the largest hotel in Oklahoma, featuring newly (2009) renovated guest rooms, affordable buffet style dinner and route 66 lounge. It also has the most extensive fitness and recreational facilities of any hotel in Oklahoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nced Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing