We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Bel Air, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel was GREAT for the value. My wife and I stayed there for Dad's Weekend at OU. The Hotel was booked solid. As to all the hotels in the area were. But after staying at this hotel, I will continue to make reservations there. It's great for the value, as mentioned in other reviews, TV's were old, but they did work, rooms were small, but they were CLEAN and COMFORTABLE! I don't need a king size suite. If your staying in, then get a LARGE hotel. We happened to be there when the Earthquake hit, staff was wonderful during this time and the safety of all guest's. The Food Court was awesome also. Plenty of things to do at this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    70
    21
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
23
8
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is the US Postal Service national training center during the week (National Center for Employee Development.) On the weekends, it's for visitors to the University of Oklahoma football games, parents' weekend, etc. It's run on contract by Marriott.

Typical of Marriott, it's clean and well-run by fresh-faced, smiling young front desk employees and a competent behind-the-scenes staff.

But we see it as a "last resort" place to stay for a few reasons:
- It's isolated from civilization (several miles from the heart of Norman or any shopping or dining)
- The rooms are VERY small with barely serviceable bathrooms and old tube TV's.

The upside: a free breakfast every morning and it is quite the buffet!

Room Tip: If available, the handicap accessible rooms are larger and more usable. We needed one when my wife...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granbury
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My family comes from Delaware,So Calif. and Texas for the last 5 years for a OU football game and for the last 3 we've stayed at NCED.
Our stay at the facility has become almost as important as the game. Everything we need to be comfortable and enjoy each other is here and I don't think we've ever found anything to criticize. THANK YOU!
Truly we look forward to more than just the game.
e.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncedgm, General Manager at Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. As we continue marketing our conference center to the public, we are pleased to hear about the many positive experiences from our guests. I and the hotel's associates wish you and all our loyal guests a wonderful holiday season, and we look forward to being your hosts again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This place was great. It has a huge outdoor pool, fitness room, laudry rooms, computer's available, free wi fi, a very nice gym, weight room, volleyball, basketball, pool tables and just about everything you can think of. They also have bikes you can rent. The rooms were clean, the food was great. We truely enjoyed our stay! oh.....we also loved the friendly ducks that will eat right out of your hand.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is a huge facility with huge amentities - the food court is reminiscent of a good cruise ship and was still open and during my recent stay, was still serving a partial menu (sandwiches, pizza, etc.) at 1:00 AM. The free breakfast is fantastic - lots of custom cooked items and a huge selection. A nice on-site bar. The work out facility is comparable to a good gym and the staff was uniformly friendly and accomodating. There's a very nice spa as well. The rooms are, well, functional in size (queen bed, small reclining chair, decent TV, small desk with computer connections for your laptop, small but very adequate bathroom. Everything is furnished to Marriott standards. Very clean. Fine room for one or two people - if you need to bring kids, get a connecting room for an extra charge. It is just out of Norman, so if you like to be in the middle of lots and lots of restaurants, etc. this is a car (or free shuttle to selected locations) dependent location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TulsaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Attractive, large grounds of conference center largely devoted to postal employee events. Rooms were small but nicely appointed, quiet and clean. Surprisingly great food available cafeteria-style, open til 2am. Numerous comfortable sitting and visiting areas, in and outdoors. Very friendly atmosphere among staff and guests alike. Although shuttles were available throughout the day (e.g. to the Sooner Mall or Walmart, and to football games of course!), one really would need a car to get anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms are limited to 1 Queen bed or 2 twin beds. I understand it is possible to get adjoining rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Excellent staff is enough to overcome the small rooms and give an overall rating of "Excellent". The rooms are always very clean and there always seems to be someone keeping things picked up in the rest of the hotel.

We have been coming to O.U. games for a number of years and choose to stay here as opposed to other hotels that are closer, even though that means we have to park at the games. It is quick and easy to get back to the hotel after the game.

We would generally not eat a breakfast buffet. However, this buffet is especially good and everything is fresh whether you eat early or later.

Megan and Kendra at the front desk could not be nicer or more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpagosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development

Property: Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Address: 2801 E State Highway 9, Norman, OK 73071-1101 (Formerly NCED Conference Center and Hotel)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development 3*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened to the public, this is the largest hotel in Oklahoma, featuring newly (2009) renovated guest rooms, affordable buffet style dinner and route 66 lounge. It also has the most extensive fitness and recreational facilities of any hotel in Oklahoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nced Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing