We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience. Highly Recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Rooms were not as tiny as many reviews indicated. I expected to come in te room and trip over the bed. They are small but unless you are planning large amounts of time in your room other than sleeping, they are very comfortable. I am pretty spoiled to room size since I a am a meeting planner and often stay in 4 and 5 star hotel suites. We were there for an OU game. Enjoyed our stay. One word of warning if taking hotel shuttle to game. They are very prompt. If you book 4:00, be there 5-10 minutes before. They leave promptly as soon as their clock "strikes" the hour.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonWaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

You're actually allowed to feed the ducks and ducklings at the pond and there is a pellet vending machine to feed them with if you don't have bread. The hotel has features you won't find elsewhere like a basketball court, baseball field, and olympic sized pool. It's also one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed at. Downside is that the rooms are smaller than average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel is apparently where postal workers convene for training. Wish I could train here! The other writers say the rooms are small, but we didnt think so at all. Nice, clean, efficient rooms. Huge outdoor pool, great outdoor sitting areas. Fitness room is HUGE, as is the lobby area and dining room. The prices are very competitive and i think the best value in Norman.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spunkydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Rooms are small but the conference center is HUGE. Very large cafeteria with price and selection that can't be beat. Postal workers in Norman for technical training have little choice but to stay there, but for conference attendees, this place can not be beat!

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher to get away from the noise. Pool view is the only one worth seeing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeTretick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Our family loved this location. It has great fitness facilities with a massive pool and hot tubs that are open until late at night. The rooms are small, but with the many recreational options, you probably won't be in your room very much. Our queen suite was really two rooms - each with a separate bath - one with a queen bed and the other with a pull-out sofa. There were two t.v.s and fast internet connection. There is a pub on site and the breakfast buffet is large. Before choosing your breakfast, take a walk around the different food options - you will want to spend calories on options that you enjoy and not waste food. The resort is charming because of all the postal memorabelia that decorate and line the hallways. If offers a certain level of security since everyone who drives onto the property must check in with a security booth. There isn't anything missing from this resort except perhaps a shuttle to OU. However, they do offer a shuttle with scheduled pick-up times that will wisk you off to other localities - including the mall and movie theater. If you have children, they'll enjoy this location.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor foom was quiet and comfortable - not large, but had everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceanlover123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I was in Norman to attend the Oklahoma University graduation. I found the NCED to be a great place to stay. It was comfortable, affordably priced and quiet, even though it had been booked to capacity the weekend I stayed there. The food was very good and the complimentary breakfast terrific. The only problem I had was eating too much at breakfast, but that was not the hotel’s fault.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HamilcarWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I are not postal employees but find this a great place to stay when we visit our grandkids in Noble, about 3 miles away. The staff is superb: very friendly, knowledgeable, and cheerful. Repeatedly, staff at the front desk, the buffet/cafeteria, the bar, etc., went way out of their way to be helpful, too.
We had been warned that the rooms are very small, but they work fine for us, and we never travel light! I really like the chest of drawers and the closet so I can find my clothes easily. The upholstered chair is also very good to have. Because of food sensitivities, I travel with a Koolatron (portable electric refrigerator) and an electric kettle, and we even find room for both of them.
Breakfast provides appropriate choices for both of us, and we are ova-lacto-pesco-vegetarians. It also meets my dietary restrictions. We find eating supper at the buffet when we first arrive after a 9-hour drive is much better than going out to a restaurant.
The microwave by the cafeteria is very useful, as are the hot coffee and tea after hours.
We are looking forward to taking our grandkids swimming now that the pool is open for the season. A saltwater pool is so much healthier than one that is chlorinated.
We enjoyed spending time in the sun in both courtyards with our grandkids last March, when it was otherwise too chilly to stay outdoors long. They are nicely landscaped and I especially like the tiered herb garden. I enjoy seeing and hearing the ducks and geese in the large pond at the entrance.
I agree with the other reviewers about how inexpensive and tasty the food is.
Next week we will stay at the hotel for the fifth time, and are looking forward to it.
Until our daughter moved from Norman to Noble, we stayed many times at a B&B in Norman. We really liked it, and its owner, but find this hotel is much more convenient for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emelie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ncedgm, General Manager at Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are very fortunate to have so many great reviews on Tripadvisor and I greatly appreciate your feedback. Our staff always strives to deliver a great guest experience. I will be sharing your review with them, and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norman
Hampton Inn Norman
#4 of 24 in Norman
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development

Address: 2801 E State Highway 9, Norman, OK 73071-1101 (Formerly NCED Conference Center and Hotel)
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range: £84 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development 3*
Number of rooms: 964
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened to the public, this is the largest hotel in Oklahoma, featuring newly (2009) renovated guest rooms, affordable buffet style dinner and route 66 lounge. It also has the most extensive fitness and recreational facilities of any hotel in Oklahoma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nced Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing