We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy and Cool”

Lake Thunderbird State Park
Ranked #6 of 33 things to do in Norman
Attraction details
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Windy and Cool”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A good area for summer camping. The cool wind from the Lake is chilling. come with your food and play some games.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amoscp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    39
    23
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Setting”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our visit was out of season so no amenities open. Walked one of the short trails and saw some wild deer which was great. Views across the lake were lovely

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank daviddewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great trails”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We don't ski or swim much here. They have very nice and easy hiking trails for adults and kids. The camp sites are very nice. You can bike or walk the trails. The trails are well marked. It is clean and safe.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank doctormay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Red Dirt Lake”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I grew up living one mile from Lake Dirtybird (as we lovingly call it) and love going there. Keep in mind this is a state park so will not have anything extravagant but they have some really good campsites for RV's on the Alameda Street side. It also has tent sites as well but I have not used those so cannot give you much information on that. Bait and groceries are not too far away but I always stop before I get to the lake to save money on supplies. I never go over to the Highway 9 side, except for Clear Bay Cafe and I love that place. You can drive or boat up to the cafe and they have some really good music in season on the weekends. The campsites over on the Alameda Street side are clean and have plenty of room for a small RV. They have concrete pads and water but last time I was there, no sewer hookups, although there is a dump station there. The camp host is very nice and knows the area and is more than willing to help anyway possible, but won't bother you unless you ask. If you do decide to swim here, get ready to ruin some clothes/bathing suits because they will be dyed red dirt. This is more of a fishing and relaxing lake than a swimming lake (IMO) but it is a very relaxing place to stay and to fish. Being so close to a large metro area though, it is packed on the weekends in season, so if you want to camp in a good spot, get there on Thursday!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pgfan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Bike Trails Are AWESOME”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I love the biking trails in this park. They range from easy-extreme. Helmets are required on these trails. I would also pack extra water. The hard ones are really hard.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoshB2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Thunderbird State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing