We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sooner Legends Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

Got reservations a year in advance for a football weekend. The night before our stay we got a call from the owner, Valerie, telling us we got bumped from our room. Terrible customer service, no respect to guests. Book a room at Sooner Legends Inn & Suites at your own risk, because you may not get one, even a year in advance.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OmahaHusker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    30
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
23
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WhyNotaSooner
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

I have never written a review of any kind so please bare w/ this. We called and attempted to book 3 rooms in June 2008 for the OU/NU game (11/1) I was told they were full but would call me if there was cancellations, so I left my name & #. We booked three Suites at the Marriot DT OKC so we at least could take in Bricktown. I actually got a call 37 days prior to the game weekend telling me they had a few cancellations and we now could stay there. We wanted "the whole Sooner experience" so we all decided to accept the offer and gave them our CC# etc. and then canceled the other rooms.

Less than 24 hours prior to arrival, I recv;d a call from an individual claiming to be the owner who told me she had to cancel our room reservations because ESPN needed them!
Yes, I was kicked out before I even arrived. We're talking about two families traveling from out of state! I told her to she should send ESPN to another hotel not loyal Sooner fans, she said she couldn't. I was shocked. She did not offer a comp night, dinner at the restaurant, or even a beer at the bar. She gave me another # to call for a room. I called the place and it was the new Best Western in Norman. The GM and staff were great as well as the rooms and they were also $45/room per night cheaper.

Buyer Beware is all I can say...while I would allow them to ruin my "whole Sooner experience", I will also never recommend them to anyone. In fact, it is my opinion and it is a shame the place bears the name of Sooner anything.

  • Disliked — the owner's attitude toward the customers who wanted to give them money!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank WhyNotaSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

We have stayed at this hotel several times during the football season. The staff is awesome. The atmosphere is everything a Sooner fan could want. The name is very appropriate because we have never failed to see a Sooner legend when staying there. If you are looking for a luxury hotel, feel free to pay the high prices and go to a luxury hotel. However, if you are looking for a very comfortable bed and great experience, this is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Atmosphere and beds
  • Disliked — Can get very noisy at night when the Sooners win!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2008

I was staying here as part of a conference at the University for a week. The quality of the rooms for the price I paid was incredible, and included a hot breakfast buffet that was a good way to start the day. There was a restaurant and bar connected to the the hotel which served some pretty good food at a good price and was nice on the couple of nights I was too tired to go out anywhere else. The room was spotless and the amenities were plenty, including free and fast high speed wireless internet, a real plus. A GREAT choice if you are in the Norman area.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanPVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2008

My husband and I stay here when we're in town to visit our son - he goes to OU. We really like the family atmostphere and how welcome the staff make you feel. The owners are always on the premises and they spend lots of time getting to know our family. The hotel is like an OU museum. There are pictures everywhere of OU sports. Very unique and nostalgic. Beside the comfortable beds, we really like the restaurant. I like their homemade Mexican food and my husband likes their ribeye steaks. We won't stay anywhere else when we come to Norman!

  • Liked — Hospitality and Restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbaker4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2008

The beds were awesome! We've stayed in several hotels in the Norman area and no place has beds like these. Especially for the price. When we've stayed at the "Name Brand" hotels in the area, they are more expensive and offer less value for the price. Rooms were very clean...white sheets/duvets/pillow cases so you know its clean. No floral bedspreds that can hide dirt, hair, and other unsanitary things. Staff was friendly. Overall a good experience. We stayed 4 nights and will stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Nothing - Great Place
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank skowens1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2008

Room was OK for the price. Heated pool was cold. Room comes with two free breakfast buffets, but if you have to purchase more, it's not worth the extra $6.95. Hotel would not accept the $10 coupon I printed online because I booked the room online from the hotel website. They said I had to call by phone to book my room in order to use the coupon. Of course, you will not find these directions on their website.

  • Liked — Sports Memoribilia
  • Disliked — Breakfast Buffet
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cdblain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Norman
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
4.5 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooner Legends Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooner Legends Inn & Suites

Property: Sooner Legends Inn & Suites
Address: 1200 24th Ave SW, Norman, OK 73072-5701
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sooner Legends Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service sports-themed boutique-style 136 room hotel in Norman OK. Hotel is in close proximity to University of Oklahoma. Rooms are equipped with pillow-top mattresses, goose down comforters and pillows, Egyptian cotton sheets, DVD players, in-room coffee service, and granite bathrooms.Each room features pictures and stories of former legendary Sooners past and present. Award winning restaurant with great daily specials and sports themed bar on premise with daily entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sooner Legends Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooner Legends Inn And Suites
Sooner Legends Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing