We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Searcy, Arkansas
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Montford Inn. So nice to stay in a place with very friendly staff, wonderful breakfast and so close to cool coffee shops and the theatre where out concert was. It was also great to have a private hot tub.

thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
160
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McCormick, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were a little surprised that such a n attractive and comfortable B&B could be found in this neighborhood. But it was convenient to be able to walk to several nice restaurants.
The inn was designed and built to be a B&B so the rooms are comfortable and the layout of the main floor is inviting. You can easily spend an hour just admiring the collectables.
We met the owner who told us all about the inn and the accompanying cottages, a very visionary businessman. Breakfast was delicious and there was wine and snacks ready for the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had stayed at the Montford about three years ago in the main house. It was very pleasant and we really enjoyed our time there. So we decided to go back and stay again, this time booking one of the cottages. We chose Prairie House. The staff and service is always nice there, so they took us over to the cottage. We entered through the bedroom, which I think set a weird tone to walking in the house. It was not at all what we were expecting. We had looked at the pictures online and so we didnt even think we were in the right cottage at first. The bedding, furniture and arrangement of the cottage was different. The smell was probably the first thing that got me. It felt like going into grandma's house after many many years of it not being freshened. Very musty.

The bathroom was great. They had totally re-done that and you could tell. It was modernized with a deep two person jacuzzi which was great. The double sinks were nice too. It had a "double shower" in there, but I wouldn't really call that a double shower...it was a double shower head and it was more comfortable for one person at a time for average size people.
The water pressure is excellent as well as the amount of hot water. Great job on that!

The kitchen was nice, but the microwave light display didnt work really well, so when heating up your food you had to watch it because you couldnt see the numbers, they didn't display right. In the freezer was a HUGE disposable metal pan that has tons and tons of ice that had overflowed in it. It didn't look very good.

We didn't frequent the living room area much at all. There was a couch in there, but nothing else much to it.

The bedroom has a closed off tv hidden behind cabinets, but if you wanted to watch it, you would have to crain your neck to see it. We ended up just watching on our laptop, easier view.
The internet connection there is not good. Ours kept crashing-we were wanting to watch old tv shows and it wouldn't support that or even just checking email.

The breakfast was great, food is always amazing here. They brought it over to us, which was nice to eat in privacy.

There is a train that you will hear that is close by, but we slept good and bed was firm but comfy. Overall felt safe, its not the most choice location of the cottages since its almost close to the main street on the corner but they have done a decent job of fencing it off and making it look quaint.

It is all hard wood floors, so bring your slippers or socks. Feels kinda cold and unfriendly in that regard. The robes were nice additions too that they provided.

Overall we wouldnt stay at this cottage again, but we would stay at the Montford again. The room is overpriced for what you get, but the establishment is a good one and a clean one.
I would just choose a different cottage over this one if you are debating.

Room Tip: look for the carpeted ones, more updated ones, and ask if pictures are accurate on the site and up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Montford Inn is quaint, quiet, and clean. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We enjoyed a complimentary glass on wine on the front porch in the afternoon. Breakfast was delicious. It was the perfect place to stay while visiting my daughter at OU. I will definitely return.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rwenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This B&B was very quaint & quite. We stayed in the main house. They offer theme rooms.We stayed in the Alumni room,which had a hot tub outside our room(private). In the evening they offer wine,hot cider & cookies for the guest in there living room. They also have a room off the living room with books & games.. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast & great company. Our stayed included two free tickets to the Fred Jones Jr Museum of Art on Elm St, which was an extra treat. They also offer two cottages across the street. Worth checking out...

Room Tip: Chech out their web page for your favorite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We love the Montford Inn. The people are friendly, and the accommodations comfortable with a delicious, hearty breakfast. Phyllis the Innkeeper is wonderful. I've stayed at the Montford Inn twice now and Phyllis has truly made each stay memorable. She is a wealth of information for newcomers to Oklahoma and to Norman like us. Our daughter is a freshman at OU. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. The Montford Inn is conveniently located to the university.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed for two days in the Yesteryear room two weeks ago, and it absolutely exceeded our expectations. The room was spotless and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was out of this world. The inn is a bastion of tranquility: sitting in the hot tub looking at the stars just melted all of our stress away. What was really amazing is that there were apparently 28 people staying at the same time, and we never heard them except for doors shutting. The family has really done their best to make relaxing, enjoyable time for their guests. We will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Norman
Super 8 Norman
#11 of 24 in Norman
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing