We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Norman.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly loved my stay here. The house is lovely & very homey & comfortable. My room was marvelous, & bed was perfect. I slept so soundly. The entire home is clean & fresh. Everything is spotless. The breakfasts prepared by William are awesome & delicious. I thought that I was in a first class restaurant. The service is excellent & the other people staying here were nice & fun to visit with. I give The Montford Inn an excellent rating!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013

Highly recommended. All the comforts of home and private spacious rooms make the Montford Inn (family-run establishment) a fantastic choice, especially for our family reunion. We had nine family members and friends stay at the Montford Inn for 3 days. Between the rooms in the main Inn and the cottages across the street, the Montford Inn is the perfect venue for hosting out-of-towners for family gatherings. The common areas, a large spacious parlor and living room, were the perfect spot for us to congregate before and after our festivities. It was like being in our own living room: gracious, welcoming and homey. Our accommodations were well appointed, housekeeping was excellent, the staff attentive and the breakfasts yummy and delightful. (Thanks William!) Phyllis is exceptional in making guests feel like family; how she remembers everyone’s name is a mystery! She found a hair stylist willing to come to the Inn on a Sunday so that my 95 year old mother would not have to go to a salon before her birthday celebration. How wonderful was that! Across the board, the Montford Inn lived up to its reputation and reviews. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I'm military stationed overseas and was home on leave. It was my last weekend and my wife and I went here just for one night the evening of 27 July to celebrate her birthday and enjoy the peace and quiet of my last weekend. It was perfect and just what we needed. We stayed in the Alma Mater room and loved having a hot tub on our own private porch. It was like being at home in our own house except for all the noisy distractions. The room size was perfect and the king sized bed even better. We both slept great that night and the next morning awoke to the wonderful smell of breakfast being made. The breakfast had to be one of the best parts. Fresh and healthy and it filled you up perfectly. Loved the sweet southern hospitality at this place and recommend it to anyone just looking for a getaway. Things to note if Norman is having any special events at the University it can get noisy. Not that we had any problems it was just noted on our reservations so probably not best to be there during an on OU home game. My wife and I plan to return the next time I'm on leave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdaman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Was in town for a wedding, and stayed here for 2 nights in the Trophy room. The bed was very comfortable, the only complaint with that is the ceiling fan in the room was off-center, and therefore it didn't do much to cool you off while you were sleeping. Not used to staying in B&B's, so I didn't anticipate not being able to control the A/C in our room. (We are hot-natured). The breakfast was great and included a fruit smoothie, breakfast casserole, fresh fruit salad, and a piece of cinnamon bread. I'd recommend staying upstairs, as our floor was squeaky (typical of an old house!) and I would have hated to be underneath that. Also, blinds are not room darkening, so bring a sleep mask if you need it to be dark.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are more quiet. Bring a sleep mask and ear plugs - close proximity to train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shae K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My daughter and I were taking a tour of OU. The Montfort Inn made this a special memory for us. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a lovely cottage. The cottage was charming. The bed was awesome, and the huge tub was super. We asked for dinner recommendations, and Tegan, the innkeeper,gave us great suggestions. After a wonderful meal out, we returned to a tasty treat of cookies and fresh lemonade and wine. My daughter and I sat in the back garden and relaxed. In the morning we had a terrific breakfast and delightful conversation with Mrs. Murray. She gave us great information about OU. We hated to leave. I hope my daughter selects OU, because I could see us coming back to the Monfort Inn for many years. Thank you for creating a lasting memory for my daughter and me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We spent Jun 27 - 30 in the Chickasaw Rancher Room. The room is well furnished, the entire inn is very clean. Our bed was soft and very comfortable. The staff was friendly, attentive and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. Then there are the breakfasts, made from scratch with fresh local ingredients, delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBum-InTraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our daughter just got married and we had several people come in from out of state. They all stayed at The Montford, some in rooms and some in cottages. Everything was wonderful. The Murray family and the rest of their staff were very kind to all of the guests and family. The rooms and cottages were wonderful, the food was great, the atmosphere was calming and relaxing. Everyone enjoyed their stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Norman
2.3 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range: £82 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing