We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific stay in Norman”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montford Inn and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Norman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific stay in Norman”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a fabulous weekend at the Montford Inn and Cottages in Norman. The hostess was absolutely delightful, the room was cozy, the cookies in the afternoon were scrumptious and the breakfast was delicious! It was so nice to stay in a home away from home while we visited OU for the weekend. We went to a football game and walked from the Montford Inn....it was perfect to avoid all the parking hassles closer to the stadium. We had a great time and the Montford Inn was a perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurotravelcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Reading that you felt right at home in our inn made our day — that's exactly what we want for each of our guests! Thanks for your thoughtful recommendation. We hope to see you for a game or two next season!

Best,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    31
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
157
24
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

My first trip to Norman for a family event was such a pleasure! The inn brings together old world charm and comforts of home. Very comfortable and near OU makes it an ideal location for visitors. The owner and her friendly, caring staff make this B&B a favorite of mine!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank silverchickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whmdad, Owner at Montford Inn and Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We're thrilled to be one of your favorite B&Bs! That's a compliment we won't soon forget. Come back and see us again soon!

All the best,
Montford Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We showed up tired and needed to recharge. We left rested and renewed. We had tons of privacy and quiet. The Inn was located close to all kinds of activities, and Norman is a realy progessive city with lots of stuff to do. The Murrays were welcoming and charming. The Scissortail Cottage was warm and inviting. William brought our breakfast to us and it was delicious. You cannot go wrong here at the Montford Inn. We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was fortunate enough to stay at the Montford Inn for several nights while dropping my son off to OU. Phyllis and William made my trip seem like a family visit with their hospitality and wonderful breakfasts. The rooms were immaculate and decorated in such a lovely fashion, and I am extremely picky about away-from-home linens, bathrooms, etc. They were very accommodating when I needed to extend my stay for an extra night. While booking my room, I had the worst phone connection and thank goodness for Sandy, who had the patience of a saint while trying to figure out the dates I needed. I look forward to visiting this exceptional B&B again in the future and would highly recommend this establishment to my friends, family and colleagues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstinalovell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

First off I have stayed at the montford probably ten times over the last seven years. We always stay in the cottages. The cottages are are usually very cozy and comfortable. This was our first timr to stay in prairie house. The main problem is there is no way to block out light in the bed room during the day or night. There are are blinds on the windows but they need to add curtains. There is a translucent curtain on the backdoor that lets in the sunlight during the day and at night lets in all the street sign lights which the norman music sign is right behind this cottage. The bathroom is wonderful but otherwise the stay was very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffinfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

I thoroughly loved my stay here. The house is lovely & very homey & comfortable. My room was marvelous, & bed was perfect. I slept so soundly. The entire home is clean & fresh. Everything is spotless. The breakfasts prepared by William are awesome & delicious. I thought that I was in a first class restaurant. The service is excellent & the other people staying here were nice & fun to visit with. I give The Montford Inn an excellent rating!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Show Low, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Highly recommended. All the comforts of home and private spacious rooms make the Montford Inn (family-run establishment) a fantastic choice, especially for our family reunion. We had nine family members and friends stay at the Montford Inn for 3 days. Between the rooms in the main Inn and the cottages across the street, the Montford Inn is the perfect venue for hosting out-of-towners for family gatherings. The common areas, a large spacious parlor and living room, were the perfect spot for us to congregate before and after our festivities. It was like being in our own living room: gracious, welcoming and homey. Our accommodations were well appointed, housekeeping was excellent, the staff attentive and the breakfasts yummy and delightful. (Thanks William!) Phyllis is exceptional in making guests feel like family; how she remembers everyone’s name is a mystery! She found a hair stylist willing to come to the Inn on a Sunday so that my 95 year old mother would not have to go to a salon before her birthday celebration. How wonderful was that! Across the board, the Montford Inn lived up to its reputation and reviews. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Norman
Super 8 Norman
#11 of 24 in Norman
3.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
3.4 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Norman
Hampton Inn Norman
#4 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montford Inn and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montford Inn and Cottages

Property: Montford Inn and Cottages
Address: 322 W Tonhawa St, Norman, OK 73069-7124
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Oklahoma's premiere Bed and Breakfast Inn and Cottages. In the heart of Norman, Oklahoma, near the University of Oklahoma, Montford Inn invites you to experience the comfort of being at home, yet be a part of something special. Montford Inn is everything the discriminating guest has come to expect: Elegance, Grandeur, Comfort, Attention to Detail, Charm, Antiques and Location. Guests will find the spirit of the Inn to be delightfully romantic and relaxing. The Inn, built in 1994, was custom-designed to create a unique quality and personalized atmosphere, achieving a distinctive ambiance through a combination of elegance and country tradition. Whether you are looking for the perfect place for that special occasion, or coming to Norman, Oklahoma City or the University of Oklahoma on business, Montford Inn offers its guests the luxurious alternative to traveling in hotels at surprisingly competitive rates. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing