We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Poor Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Poor Restaurant”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed here for four nights with a convention. The hotel itself is very pleasantly decorated and the typical Embassy Suites rooms are great. This hotel was especially suitable for our convention (500+ people) because of the number of banquet and break-out rooms. Breakfast was great and the free drinks especially welcome when meting with so many friends.

The restaurant was terrible. We waited for 90 minutes to get our dinners. It was not crowded. They didn't even bring bread until they brought our meals. I ordered rack of lamb and it was so overdone that parts of the chops were like wood. They were inedible. The polenta-type cake was luke warm and dried out. The others at my table were also very unhappy.

The banquet food was mediocre. The rolls were soft and tasteless. I do have to say that the one time they served jalapeno cornbread it was excellent. The prime rib was so over cooked that it was tough and the potatoes were cold. The brisket was excellent and very tender, but the chicken breast piece with it was too tough to eat. The Chicken Oscar was also tough and barely warm. The best meal was the vegetarian manicotti with sauteed vegetables. Again it was not very warm, but it was tasty. The vegetables were not overcooked, as others were during the convention. Service was spotty. At only one meal did my table actually receive coffee. At a breakfast, they only put out 4 coffee cups for each table of 10. When we asked for more cups, the servers did not speak enough English to understand. They kept pointing to the coffee pots.
I gave this a high rating because most travelers will not be eating restaurant and banquet food. If you are not flying in and have a car, you should travel to a restaurant outside the hotel. I include the banquet details for anyone who may be planning an event at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vlbvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
To our valued guest,

On behalf of our entire hotel staff and myself – I would like to thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center for your recent visit to Norman! We were honored to have you staying with us. I am sorry for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I wanted you to know that we greatly appreciate your comments. It is your feedback that helps to ensure that we are constantly improving our level of service. I hope if you find yourself in Norman again you will decided to stay with us.

Sincerely,

Casey Kittel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    194
    82
    36
    34
See reviews for
323
135
23
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel. We enjoyed the evening reception ( free drinks are always nice) and free breakfast. Nice accomendations and friendly staff. We stay here for games and parents weekends. This is definitely the place to stay in Norman.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear valued guest from Dallas,

Thank you, for taking the time to rate Embassy Suites Norman! Our Embassy Suites mission is to “Make a Difference.” I would like to personally thank you for giving myself and Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center the chance to “Make a Difference” through serving you during your travels. I certainly liked seeing that you enjoyed our hotel. I hope we succeeded in making your stay everything you had expected during your time in Norman. We truly appreciate your comments and hope that you will keep us in mind if you ever find yourself in Norman in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was forced to make two reservations as I only had enough Hilton Honor points for one night and was staying two. This was no convenient. Then, during the stay, we were locked out of the room after the first night as the hotel claimed we did not reserve the room for 2 nights. After speaking with the front desk about the error and confirming we had a 2nd reservation, the hotel staff was rude and did not listen. We left the hotel and went to a Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
4 Thank Kaki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
To our valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always appreciate your time and look for any opportunity to better our service. We will look forward to sharing with our team members this feedback in order to better our customer service.

Kind Regards,


Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here and had a wonderful time - the service is outstanding, the room was clean and quiet, complimentary breakfast was great, happy hour had plenty of food and drinks. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
To our valued guest from OKC,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I know you have a choice in where you stay and I would like to thank you for choosing Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center for your recent visit to Norman! I am glad we were able to make your time here an enjoyable one. The team will be thrilled they were able to make a difference, as that is our goal. I hope we can be of service again.

Best,

Casey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
410 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I came here on the recommendation of my friend.

I was immediately pleased as I entered this hotel because it was clean, fresh and the staff was very friendly.

The reception in the afternoon is a very nice gesture and the break is also awesome.

A very nice place to stay and only minutes outside of OKC.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Omar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know how busy life can be and know you have a choice on where you stay. We strive to make a difference when guest come to stay with us and are glad you had such an experience.

We hope to if you find yourself in Norman again, you will be our guest again.

Best
Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Everthing about my stay was excellent. Staff went above and beyond with all of the services they provided. Will stay there again when in the area. No complaints at all regarding staff or accommadations. The complimentary breakfast is delightful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear valued guest from Freedom,

Thank you, for taking the time to rate Embassy Suites Norman! Our Embassy Suites mission is to “Make a Difference.” I would like to personally thank you for giving myself and Embassy Suites Norman Hotel & Conference Center the chance to “Make a Difference” through serving you during your travels. I certainly liked seeing that you enjoyed our hotel. I hope we succeeded in making your stay everything you had expected during your time in Norman. We truly appreciate your comments and hope that you will keep us in mind if you ever find yourself in Norman in the future.

Sincerely,

Casey
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

First of all, Embassy Suites is my favorite hotel chain hands down. We love staying there. And, we stayed at this very hotel exactly a year ago and were perfectly pleased. However, at our latest visit, we encountered the rudest hotel management we've ever seen. We were traveling with a large group that had booked several rooms. They had overbooked by a lot of rooms. We were told we didn't have a room, unapologetically. We argued and were given a room- but with the wrong number of beds. We made due--really it was the arrogance that was the worst part. Many in our group did not get rooms--again the hotel overbooked-their fault. The guy in charge told them they had rooms at other hotels and they should be happy with that. The hotel guests were treated like enemies. Mistakes happen and if there had been some humility and just simple kindness, the night would have been much better for all involved. During our stay we called down for a blanket and towels (the room we ended up with probably usually has less than four people. And, the blanket in the room had hair all over it.) Again, the front desk was rude and we had to make the request three times. I had read this hotel has problems with reservations. I now believe it. Call ahead to make sure you have a room!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank wps24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey K, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
To our valued guest,

Let me first extend my apologies for the reservation mishap, as this will sometimes happen at a hotel. I do recognize the great inconvenience and again extend my sincerest apologies.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We use all feedback to pin point strengths and weaknesses to help us improve guest experience.

We do hope to be able to be of assistance should you return to the area and not have your travel plans interrupted as in this recent visit.

Kind Regards,

Casey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Norman
Hampton Inn Norman
#4 of 24 in Norman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2501 Conference Dr, Norman, OK 73069-6396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Norman
#2 Family Hotel in Norman
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Norman - Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Norman, Oklahoma just off I-35.We are perfectly situated to be your accommodation for visiting your favorite University of Oklahoma Sooner! If you are in town for business, we are located in the heart of the University North Park Retail and Business Development. We also offer a short drive up I-35 to Oklahoma City as well. If you are looking for things to visit - the Fred Jones Jr Museum of Art, Lake Thunderbird State Park, Little River Zoo, and Sam Nobel Oklahoma Museum of Natural History are all within a short distance of our hotel.Our hotel features two room suites with separate bedroom and living areas, free cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary Manager's Reception, and excellent cuisine at the North Park Grill. We also offer over 50,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space. Come stay at the Embassy Suites Norman on your next visit to Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Norman Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing