We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellman Went to Target”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My husband and I go to Norman several times a year from Texas to visit the casino. We have stayed in many hotels in Norman and we were excited about stayihg at the new Embassy even though it is one of the more expensive hotels in town.

Upon entering the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff and your first impression is that the hotel really looks beautiful. Our room was your normal Embassy room and everything looked fine. My only disapointment with the Embassy is that I felt like in this day and time when a lot of hotels are putting a little more emphasis on comfortable beds - this hotel didn't. There was nothing special or even comfortable about this bed for me and that's a deal breaker and I won't be back. I'm very disapointed that they couldn't do better than they did on the bed.

The morning we were leaving we spent the entire morning listening and watching a group of about 7 or 8 kids playing hide and seek and running up and down on the elevators and around every floor. It is very annoying when parents aren't watching their kids and letting their kids annoy an entire hotel. We called for a bellman to bring a cart to our room and waited for a good while before my husband went and got the cart himself. The greeter in the lobby told my husband that the younger bellman that was supposed to come - took the call and forgot the room number after he hung up. I guess there ws just no way for them to figure out who called and just left us hanging. So when we got to our car the same bellman had returned and told us another story. He said he had gotten a call to go pick someone up at Target. I think he just wanted to go pick up the people at Target and blew us off. If you're going to leave your guests hanging then at least get your stories together.

Over-all it is a nice hotel but I didn't get anything from this hotel that I can't get somewhere else in town for less money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandmomma4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,095)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,084 - 1,090 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

The room was a perfect layout with the bedroom at the back, very dark and quiet. No expressway noise like most Hotels. The bed was comfortable but we thought the pillows to "airy" and the linens a little too "crisp". Hotel staff was super friendly (including resturant and bar) and helpful except for coffee bar attendent. Excellent workout room. Great resturant and breakfast buffet. Did not use pool. Perfect location for visiting OU. Everything we needed for business and personal stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OUParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

The purpose of our stay at this hotel was to bring a few friends together so we would all have one place to hang out and do some drinking in a safe place. We picked the Embassy Suites because of the free 5:30-7:30 drink hour, and we all live around Norman.

So here are the pros and cons:

Pros: The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are nice. The lobby is huge and has a ton of room to accommodate a lot of people. The chairs are luxurious, and it is a great place to lounge. We spent about 4 hours in the lounge chairs throwing back drinks, which leads to another good thing: the drink hour was great. They didn't really give us any hassle considering the amount we drank, and the drinks were flowing. It worked as advertised, and it turned out well. Also, the rooms are very nice. The TVs are flat screens, there is granite in the room, and the decor is nice. The pool is not ice cold either, which is common for a lot of Embassy Suites.

Cons: The hotel lacks good functionality. There are only 3 elevators for the whole building, and they all are located in the same spot. Most Embassy Suites have 4 to 8 elevators. This one only has 3. If you get there at peak times, which are from 3-4pm and 10-11am, expect to wait 5-10 minutes for an elevator. It is pretty ridiculous for a hotel this size to have only 3 elevators. Very bad design, which leads into the next item: the breakfast buffet is badly designed. I must admit, no Embassy Suites has put any good thought into this process though. The buffet line is way too small for the capacity of the hotel. It is too crowded, and they cannot properly keep it stocked with food. Apparently, they don't use industrial engineers when they design this portion of the hotel.

It is nice, but before I stay again, I would call and make sure they don't have any conventions booked that weekend, or especially any large ones. If the hotel isn't busy, it would be nice. But if they are receiving any traffic, then it is not that great.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cornercuttin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

The hotel is brand new and it is beautiful. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are spacious and the mattresses are comfortable. Best hotel in town!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FNC058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

We stayed at this lovely property by chance when we were traveling and it is worth a stop. From the moment you step in the door you are made to feel welcome and wanted. This hotel is new and beautiful. We were on the 9th floor and the view to the atrium below was great. The hotel was very quiet, the bedding luxurious, the entire suite clean and well done. We attended the managers reception in the evening then the breakfast in the morning. They were both excellent and the staff made sure every need was taken care of. We give this hotel the highest rating and we will stay here any time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lotsofslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We stayed at Norman’s Embassy Suites during Homecoming weekend at the University of Oklahoma. We arrived fairly late in the evening, 10:30 pm, and we were welcomed by the outdoor bell hop. The inside of the lobby was impressive and check in went very smoothly. The check-inn clerks were very nice and friendly and even gave us a brief tour of the hotel so that we would know where everything was. The two room suite was immaculate and nicely appointed. The bedroom area had very nice comfortable beds and linens and the living room area had a sleeper sofa. Both rooms had large Plasma TVs. There was a workspace desk or activity table and a bar with a coffee maker, microwave and a refrigerator in the living room area. The refrigerator was nice because it was empty and we could put our snacks and drinks in it. Granite countertops and granite shower walls were in the bathroom along with the new-style round shower curtains. My husband commented on how soft the towels were. When you wake up they have wonderful chefs preparing your complimentary made to order breakfast. I would recommend the omelets because they were excellent and they had everything you could want to put in it or on it. They were flipping pancakes and cooking eggs too. The hot buffet had bacon, sausage, hash-browns, biscuits, gravy, grits, etc… The cold buffet had a variety of fruits and yogurt. They had cereal, pastries, and all the usual breakfast items. The customer service given by the waitress or hostess that went around offering to refill our drinks was superb. In the evening they have an evening reception with complimentary beer, wine, cocktails and chex-mix style snacks. They have a great fitness center and a nice large indoor pool along with a business center. We loved this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank reallyluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Deisy0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Marriott Conference Center at the National Center for Employee Development
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#12 of 24 in Norman
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 2501 Conference Dr, Norman, OK 73069-6396
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Norman
#2 Family Hotel in Norman
#2 Romantic Hotel in Norman
Price Range: £97 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Norman - Hotel & Conference Center is located in the heart of Norman, Oklahoma just off I-35.We are perfectly situated to be your accommodation for visiting your favorite University of Oklahoma Sooner! If you are in town for business, we are located in the heart of the University North Park Retail and Business Development. We also offer a short drive up I-35 to Oklahoma City as well. If you are looking for things to visit - the Fred Jones Jr Museum of Art, Lake Thunderbird State Park, Little River Zoo, and Sam Nobel Oklahoma Museum of Natural History are all within a short distance of our hotel.Our hotel features two room suites with separate bedroom and living areas, free cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary Manager's Reception, and excellent cuisine at the North Park Grill. We also offer over 50,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space. Come stay at the Embassy Suites Norman on your next visit to Norman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Norman Hotel Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing