We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of pricing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Norman
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware of pricing”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had stayed at the Hilton Garden inn (3 rooms plus 5 adult breakfasts at $9.95 and 3 children's breakfasts). We had been quoted a price of $79.00 (by telephone). When we checked out, the price was $179.00, I later called and inquired whether we had been over charged and was told that was the price of a room on the night there was a (OU) football game. I accepted the explanation and called this morning to inquire as to whether there had been any cancellations for September 24, 2011. There had been a cancellation. But I was informed that if we wanted to stay 9-23 and 9-24 that the price would be $179.00 ( plus tax) per night or, if I only wanted the room for one night (9-24-2011), the price would be $300.00 for the night. I said that I didn't understand, and the clerk that I was talking to said that he didn't understand either but that's what he was instructed to charge. I don't know how or who makes the pricing policies for the Norman Hilton Garden Inn, but it seems as though flip flop pricing borders on extortion and price gouging. I hung up and called another hotel (actually, Trip Advisor's #1 rated hotel in Norman, Ok.), asked about a cancellation (there was one) and booked a room for $169.00 plus tax. I fell that people should be warned of this shady practice. This makes me question Hilton Garden Inn's integrity, if they are not honest with their pricing, what else do they compromise?

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamBamBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul V, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Norman, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
BamBamBoomer,

I apologize for some of the confusion that you encountered at my hotel and am happy to explain. Im not sure how you where quoted $79, as our rates for all game weekends have been $179 with a two night minimum for over a year. Im sure that was just a misunderstanding. Unfortunately, with a two night minimum, hotels have a problem with other guests that will reserve the two nights but try to cancel one to get around the restriction. In those cases those guests would be charged $374 for one night which equals the two night minimum. In speaking with my desk agent, that is what they were trying to express. Also, I would like to point out that at checkin, the front desk has all rates initialled on the registration card by the guest checking in to make sure they know their rate. I checked your registration card and it was intitialled. I am sure this was just an oversight. Game weekends are a premium time in Norman and we sell our hotel appropriate with the competition. We take pride in our hotel and its services and would love to have you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    104
    71
    42
    25
See reviews for
175
66
32
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I recently stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn while in Norman. It was the overflow hotel for a conference being held at the nearby Embassy Suites. The hotel is exceptionally clean and very beautifully decorated.
The lobby has a very elegant feel but the staff is very friendly. Trent, the bartender at the small hotel bar, went out of his way to make my husband and I feel welcome and handled the obnoxious guests seated near us like a pro.

The rooms were spacious and very modern. The only negative regarding the room is the shower. The shower has a great shower head on it that offered various speeds of water however you couldn't utilize it because the water pressure to the room was too low.

The location is a little tricky to find at first but once you go back and forth from the hotel a couple of times it becomes easy. A bonus to the location is that it is within walking distance of a steak house and a short drive to various other restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ougrad97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

No complaints - it's what you should expect from a HGI. Rooms were open and upgraded, staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROTPS144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here two nights, first night, we had to move at 3AM due to loud people, who would not be quite - they ran back and forth between rooms, yelling. When we called the front desk, they said they would come up, which they did, but the noisy neighbors continued, so we went to ask to move. When we walked to the elevators, there was vomit in the hallway.

Moved to another room, which was fine. Front desk gave us a free breakfast the next day for the trouble. But, the housekeeping did not clean our new room the next day.

All the workers at the hotel were very nice and friendly though.

I think I would stay here again, the hotel seemed nice/clean in general, and the staff were nice.

Hotel has plenty of parking, is within walking distance to several restaurants, has a small bar, and a breakfast restaurant. There are also microwaves and mini-fridges in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We like it here because it's a fairly new hotel, with enough amenities that it's comfortable. When we are meeting friends or need a "nicer hotel" we stay at Embassy Suites, but you'll pay more. Also recommend Marriott next door but they have had "soft water" a few times which I can't stand.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluke996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This property has a nice outdoor pool, friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms and nice breakfast. Can happily describe INTEGRITY with the pool cleaning man when asked if those kids playing in the pool were mine because he needed to return the $20 bill he found at the bottom of the pool. Even though the kids weren't mine he happily turned the $20 in at the front desk as LOST!
We will stay at this location again. Be sure to dine at the Saltgrass Steakhouse which is right in front of the hotel in the parking lot. I recommend highly! This location provided us opportunity to walk outdoors for exercise. It is off the highway near other restaurants, shopping, and Theatre complex within walking distant.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Hotel is fairly new so everything was in clean and in good working order. Only one small problem. The hotel has information hanging in the bathroom (like many hotels) that if you want to do your part and be "green" please hang up your towels and they will be left for you to reuse. Unfortunately my housekeeper(s) did not do this. Not a huge issue, but for us that want to do our part, it is upsetting that the hotel is not doing their part.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkitelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norman hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Norman
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman - Hotel & Conference Center
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oklahoma City Norman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Norman
Courtyard Norman
#13 of 24 in Norman
162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Norman
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 24 in Norman
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Norman

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Norman
Address: 700 Copperfield Dr, Norman, OK 73072-4107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Norman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Norman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Norman 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Norman is ideally located just minutes from the University of Oklahoma and features spacious guest rooms, complimentary WiFi and an on-site Great American Grill restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Norman Hotel Norman
Hilton Norman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing