We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem in OKC”
Review of Overholser Mansion

Overholser Mansion
Ranked #16 of 127 things to do in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Palatial turn-of-the-century home.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem in OKC”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a great find. We had a few hours in OKC and found thus tour. Amazing house with mostly original items from the home and original family. Tour guide was great and really knew about the house and family. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank df558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    25
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Personal attention, quality tour, and amazing historical site”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is a must-see for the historical or architectural enthusiasts. (Our teen loved it as well!) We booked the tour in advance due to a busy season, and they were exceedingly accommodating for our health challenges and time constraints. Our tour guide was a wealth of knowledge, provided a phenomenal tour, and gave us time to see every single detail we wanted to see. We'd go back in a heartbeat. She also guided us to our next stop to local flavor restaurants, recommended historic B&B lodging, and served as a travel agent of sorts on the spot. VERY impressed. Don't miss this stop!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SherriTravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We really enjoyed our guided tour through Oklahoma's history through this Mansion and it's original owner. The tour guide was very informative. The contents of the mansion are 90%+ original so it was like taking a walk through history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely mansion”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Heritage area is a very pretty historical area of Okla. City. Close to downtown. It is very easy to get to this mansion and to park. The mansion was very interesting and had some original furnishings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyfeetx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
234 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Wonderfully preserved”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This mansion is unique in that all the furnishings are original to the house. The family that lived there donated everything and it's like taking a step back in time and visiting the rich relatives in OKC one hundred years ago. What a gem!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank imtom55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Overholser Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Overholser Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing