We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick night”
Review of Rockwell RV Park

Rockwell RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oklahoma City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockwell RV Park
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for a quick night”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are passing through, this is an ok place to stop for the night. The owner seemed very nice. The manager seems in over his head and unfriendly. No one was at the desk for most of the day he was there.

The internet is non existent. We were given codes to use, but they quit working 4 hours later AFTER the office was closed. We were told the codes were to prevent downloading many movies. I asked the manager if this was a huge problem and he said no. However, our codes never worked for long and were S-L-O-W. Don't think they need to worry about someone downloading anything there...much less a movie. He said it wasn't fair to the other campers if someone downloads movies. They charge what other campgrounds charge $30, but expect less than the others.

I was sick while here so stayed an extra day, but drove to Dallas when I realized it was serious and I needed surgery.......I didn't want to be there another day. Especially, with the terrible internet.

By the way, we don't stream movies or download tons of movies. Just email, google hangouts with the girls father (Obviously, we didn't do so here), and facebook. So nothing too taxing to cause ours to slow to a stop. I had to use my phone's hotspot to locate our next destination and print maps.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachchadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    11
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Why the Good Sam Club would rate this place a 9 is beyond me. It's convenient to I-40. That's the only positive thing I can say. Trash dumpsters were overflowing, roads weren't great, location is next to a tractor trailer sales and service center, and the place is home to a lot of permanent residents (workers). This is not a place to bring your family. This is not a place to spend more than one night. Unfortunately, we didn't see any other parks near OKC that sounded any good. Rockwell RV Park definitely is highly overrated by Good Sam.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank AmeliaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chula Vista, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This RV park was okay for us. It was located close to the 40, easy acess on and off the highway. We stayed for 5 nights, close enough to town to see the sites of Oklahoma city. Acoss the highway was a Walmart and plenty of restaurants a 5 minute drive. It had good WI-fi. Nice people in the office were helpful with information on the town. It did get muddy with the rain, dirt sites. The sites were closer than we like, but ALL parks are like that.We did not use the indoor pool, it did not look inviting.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We picked this site out of the Good Sam campground book. It stated a 9 star rating, who paid who for this rating? We stayed at 4 Good Sam campgrounds and this one was the worse and the most expensive.The whole place smelled like garbage, the dumpsters were overflowing. The secure showers weren't secure at all, the front door was propped open so anyone could walk in. There were broken glass at several of the sites. I could not find the free coffee, newspaper or homemade muffins, as the office was closed at 7am. The fence between the freeway was rotted and had fallen down. The picnic tables were also rotten and not suitable for use. The bath house had a sign that the AC was broken and would be fixed in about 2 weeks, but not dated. From now on I will be sure to double check with Trip Advisor, which I usually do when traveling. Horrible experience for my husband and I.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ArnoldAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We met the ONLY location on our 10 day trip that could NOT PROVIDE A WORKING WIFI CONNECTION. The bare concrete restroom/shower facilities was barely heated and did not provide soap to wash your hands. The toilet stalls were so small you had to open the door in order to clean the seat. The shower stalls were very small and lacked a curtain, so there was almost no way to shower without you clothing getting wet. All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DayTripDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHARLESTON SC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Electric plug in kept blowing out, water pressure is a trickle out of the shower head and a bathroom key did not work. No emergency or after hours number. Buffalo in a small pen in the rear of the campground that came with flies. Road noise from I 40 was loud but if you ran the a/c it helped with the road noise, Price was okay. Would not say here again muffins or no muffins...

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Aralz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsburg, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I think the owners have paid to give this place high marks. There are unsavory people hanging around parked cars all over and many, many seasonal and stored campers here. The doors to the pool and spa are rusted metal and peeking in you can see equipment with yellow caution tape wrapped around it. A few trees but no "campground atmosphere, no picnic tables and nothing to make you actually want to sit outside even if there was room to do so (you would have to sit under your wheels). Keep on driving or find a WalMart parking lot.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank TheLongLongTrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oklahoma City hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklahoma City-West
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oklaho...
#16 of 150 in Oklahoma City
444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Saddleback Inn & Conference Center
Best Western Plus Saddleback Inn...
#17 of 150 in Oklahoma City
890 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oklahoma City West - I-40
Comfort Inn & Suites Oklahoma Ci...
#41 of 150 in Oklahoma City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Oklahoma City Airport
SpringHill Suites Oklahoma City ...
#47 of 150 in Oklahoma City
260 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Oklahoma City Airport
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Oklahoma City ...
#12 of 150 in Oklahoma City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockwell RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockwell RV Park

Property: Rockwell RV Park
Address: 720 S Rockwell Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73128-2207
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Oklahoma City
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Rockwell RV Park Oklahoma City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing