We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Campground with Great Amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oklahoma City East KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oklahoma City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oklahoma City East KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Canyon, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Campground with Great Amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We made a spur of the moment decision to get out of town a day early on our trip from Canyon, Texas to Branson, Missouri. With no reservations, a late start and a tent in the trunk of our car, we decided that we would stop and stay the night in the Oklahoma City area. Using the KOA app on the phone, we found this Kampground. It was after 4:00pm, so we had to make a phone call to reserve the site.
The gentleman on the phone was very pleasant. We explained that our arrival would be after the office closed (8:00pm) and that we needed a tent site to stay in for the night,
NOT A PROBLEM! They kindly left a note for us on the bulletin board that explained which site was ours. Easy Peasy!
The site was a nice one with a few exceptions....ALL KOAs PUT THE TENT SITES NEXT TO THE ROAD!!!!!!! & when there are 3 tents and 8 sites, why are all 3 tents in adjoining sites and not spaced out?????
The main "Lodge/Office" building is beautiful with rockers on the porch. The swimming pool looked very inviting, yet we did not have time to use it. The update that is very recent, so recent that the metal roof was being installed, is an AWESOME bathhouse with family style bathing rooms!
We plan on visiting this KOA the next time we are in OKC for a long weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilsJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    11
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed one night in a cabin and it was decorated in a very cute way. It was the first time that I saw a cabin decorated like that in a KOA. A/C worked great in the cabin. However, the wifi was very bad. We were told it may be like that because the campground was almost full. So many people were trying the use the wifi at the same time. Maybe if we had tried to use it in the main building (there is a reading room with chairs open 24 hours a day) it would have been a lit better being a bit closer to reception.... The campground was really quiet and we had a good night's sleep. The campground is close to the highway but not close enough to be disturbed by the noise.

The main building is really clean and beautiful. People at reception are very nice, helpful and friendly and you can buy souvenirs of Route 66. In the same building you have the restrooms and the showers (which are very clean), the laundry room and also a reading room which is open 24 hours a day. In fact the whole building is open 24 hours a days except the reception and the shop, of course.

There is a swimming pool that looked inviting but we didn't have the time to try it. With your receipt of the KOA, you can get discounts at some of nearby restaurants. We got a 25% percent discount at Queso, a nearby Mexican restaurant which was great. We really appreciated! But you have to bring the receipt and the ad (the ad is on the plan of the campground they give you at checkin) if you want to get the discount. I remember you can also get discounts at a German restaurant nearby.

I suggest that you book in advance because this campground is very popular. We went in May and a whole sport team had booked a lot of the camp sites and cabins. I don't know if they are always like that. You could maybe call in advance just to know if they have many réservations already. We would have stayed longer but our cabin was available only for one night (it was reserved afterwards for all week-end). There were deluxe cabins (with a restroom in the cabin) availabe but it was more expensive, of course.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My family stayed in this campground for about a week and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very friendly, the amenities are great. The campground is very convenient to I-40, it is very quiet, and there are lots of shade trees.

We make a trek to Oklahoma City every year and will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were traveling through Oklahoma headed east following a cross country trip. After browsing through tripadvisor for a nice place to stay, we chose KOA East. We arrived late, after office hours, but all the info was posted on the bulletin board in the office as was instructed. The campground was not only attractive, but extremely clean. The wifi worked perfectly and the site was spacious and level. We did not use the showers or other facilities, as we were self contained in our motorhome. However, I am sure they were nice and clean too. One other thing-- just a very short distance from I-40, but no noise from the interstate!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladewater
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Wife and I stopped here for a couple of nights on our way home from Moab to Texas. The place is great. The pull through sites are all level gravel with shade and large grassy areas. All have picnic tables, campfire rings. The premium pull throughs have nice concrete patios with wrought iron table and chairs. The tent sites are well shaded and level as are the back in sites. The staff are friendly and courteous. The pool area is nice and clean. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Juedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I'm falling in love with KOA cabins and this time was no different.

The cabin was clean, with cute decorations, and a space heater! (The camp host had turned on the space heater prior to our arrival to take the chill off - are you kiddin' me?? How magnificent is that???) The camp hostess, who helped with last our last minute phone reservations, gave us spot on directions.

They only have two cabins that allow dogs, so the reservations are needed, I think.

Beautiful indoor showers.

Room Tip: We were traveling Route 66 and had to deviate to get here BUT we found it to be the best option on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

i loved to stay here again but i had to leave. this place gave me comfort and the beds were soft. the food was amazing in this town i would love to stay again. the manager here was friendlt and gave us a discount which was great cause we were short of money and i rate this a 5 star

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank laylay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oklahoma City
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Midwest City Inn & Suites
9.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Midwest City Tinker Afb
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Shawnee
Hampton Inn Shawnee
#1 of 9 in Shawnee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Grand Casino Hotel
Grand Casino Hotel
#2 of 9 in Shawnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn I-40 E (Tinker Air Force Base)
14.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oklahoma City / Bricktown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oklahoma City East KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oklahoma City East KOA

Property: Oklahoma City East KOA
Address: 6200 S Choctaw Rd, Oklahoma City, OK 73020-5015
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Oklahoma City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Oklahoma City
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Oklahoma City East KOA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing