We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, But OK”

Oklahoma River Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Oklahoma River Cruises operates three beautiful 65’ vessels with air-conditioned cabins that accommodate 24-35 guests comfortably. Each boat has comfortable seating, cocktail tables, a deck for viewing the Oklahoma River, a bar area, and onboard restrooms. Vessels are equipped with Sirius Radio and two 26” flat screen monitors for entertainment or presentations. Our intimate luxury vessels are perfect for private functions of all types! But if you are looking for a day outing, check out the public ferry service schedule on our website. May through June we operate on a regular schedule Wednesday through Sunday. This is great way to see the city and spend time with friends and family.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I went on this as the celebration after our Niece's baptism. It was a nice way to celebrate this event. It was a beautiful day. nice and sunny. They had food aboard the boat, which was okay, nothing spectacular though, more like finger food. The food was provided by the cruise company, and while I stated the food was okay, they ran out of some soda, and also plates!! There really wasn't much to see however. The most interesting part, was going thru the lock system. Other than that part, we had a better time just with the family and friends company.

1  Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

We went for a summer evening boat tour. What a terrific way to see Bricktown! Our tour guide was very knowledgable. He managed to time his historical background information perfectly as we passed by. He also knew his current events in OKC and how events of the last ten years had led to Bricktown's current revival. We were tourists in a boat full of tourists with questions and our tour guide managed to answer questions while presenting his 'memorized' list required for every tour. We learned about history, restaurants, and spent the next three days exploring based on this tour. Please take this tour, if only for the amazing bronze sculptures celebrating the Oklahoma Land Rush.

Thank fudgepuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRiverCruises, Director of Sales at Oklahoma River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

What a lovely comment, however we cannot take credit it sounds as though you rode the Bricktown Water Taxis on the Bricktown Canal. They are wonderful and their knowledge of area history is amazing! I do hope that you might come and experience our operation sometime. We offer 65' yachts with climate controlled cabins and restrooms on board. Come and experience the sunset on the Oklahoma River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I took this trip with my senior father, my husband and kids. The boat ride was fun, very low-key and relaxing; boating isn't something we do often so it was enjoyable to feel the breeze and going through the locks was interesting. We went on the tour that was titled "history comes alive" which promised a historical tour. We went from the Regatta landing to Exchange and back. Each leg is 45 minutes so this was 1.5 hours. This particular element of the tour was a big flop. The narrator was a sweet lady who unfortunately didn't a have a strong voice. The motor and A/C made it nearly impossible to hear even half of what she was saying. And her narration was a story done in character about being a mail-order bride and going through divorce. What??? We got up and went to the outside deck area to enjoy the breeze and watch kayakers. My father was looking forward to a history of the Oklahoma river or the area, or something! Maybe there were some facts in there that I missed because of the motor. Beer, wine and minimal, light snacks are offered. I thought it was nice, but thankfully hadn't expected much.

1  Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRiverCruises, Director of Sales at Oklahoma River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

We have recently claimed this business profile and we are reaching out to all of the customers who have submitted comments for our operation. We hope that you might come ride with us again.To learn about the river history the normal ferry trips are narrated by our wonderful captains. The History Comes Alive trips offer volunteer actors through the History Museum with a different character each week form Rosie the Riveter to Pioneer Sheriff. Please come cruise with us again sometime. We hope to see you again on the river.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Guide pointed out every detail except the Chickasaw statue. Displayed disrespect for Native American heritage.

1  Thank Starla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRiverCruises, Director of Sales at Oklahoma River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

We have recently claimed this business profile for OK River Cruises and want to address all of our customer's comments no matter how recent. It is unfortunate that you experienced this. We as an operation are not aware of a Chickasaw statue on the Oklahoma River and would be thrilled to add it to our narration. Our captains are very knowledgeable about the area and welcome any information on the whereabouts and history of the statue. Thank you for your comment and for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My 4 sisters and I take an annual trip together. This year we wanted to take a shorter trip; some place close to home, but still have a great time. Little did we know that Oklahoma had so much to offer. We took the River Cruise, the tickets were affordable, the weather was cooperative and it was a great way to see the OKC skyline. The captain and crew were friendly, the appetizer buffet and drinks were delicious and the setting of the evening sun made the 1&1/2-hour trip a memorable event. You also have to check out the Bricktown Entertainment District & Chelino's Mexican Restaurant. There is a lot to do in OKC and some great food as well.

1  Thank PAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OKRiverCruises, Director of Sales at Oklahoma River Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Thank you for your comment, please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oklahoma River Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Oklahoma River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing