We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great history”
Review of Cheever's Cafe

Cheever's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cheever's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,647 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NW 23rd
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great history”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This is a cool spot that has a great history in the OKC area. You need to go if only to read the history of the place that's written on the back of the menu. Food was good and we'd return. Daughter and I had sea bass special, husband had ribeye. Waiter, Skip, was a nice guy, but seemed.very unqualified for the job. Bad news was when we ordered cocktails before dinner. They came and then IMMEDIATELY afterward came our salads along with bottle of wine, WHOA!! Hold on there Skippy! Let us ENJOY our drinks before you throw our salads at us. All was ok when we told him we'd like to SIP for a bit. After that, all was good. Sea bass special was great, husband says ribeye was medium choice meat, but prepared well. So, we'd return because it's a neat spot, but you might find another favorite.

Helpful?
Thank Lori Schleifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    177
    38
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
COS, CO
1 review
“Great place, delicious food! Make reservation- busy!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Great food and atmosphere! We ordered the special sausage and eggs on a biscuit, with some type of Mexican sauce. The meal was a bit salty, but very delicious. All of this was accompanied by fried okras. There orange juice seamed freshly squeezed. They don’t have espresso coffee, but they their regular coffee was very flavourful

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

First we ordered some drinks, Which were interesting! We decided to get the ribeye and the chicken fried steak. We split everything so we could each try the different food, it was so much food! You get what you pay for and the food was delicious! I normally hate chicken fried steak, but this was incredible and crunchy! We had to get the ice cream ball for dessert and we were happy that we did because it was so heavenly!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bengy465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Consistently Outstanding”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

One of our favorite spots when we have business on the North side of OKC. Always something new on the menu and the daily specials are usually pretty intriguing plates with a combination of tastes that are out of the ordinary! The blue cheese crumble homemade chips with bacon, scallions etc. was an fantastic start! From the jalapeno chicken fried steak and chicken sour cream enchiladas to the Chilean sea bass soft taco and more, all were quite satisfied with their entree's. To finish things off we had the small (actually quite large) ice cream ball that is coated in pecans and a chocolate sauce that had green chilies in it. It was incredible, everyone promised to only take one spoonful to sample it, but that plan was ruined as soon as everyone tasted it! The waiter was very attentive without being intrusive, as always the wait staff is extremely professional! All in all a Fantastic late Friday lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thunderfan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes
Level Contributor
191 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This restaurant isn't afraid to try new things. It as the best meal in Oklahoma City that we had. The staff is engaging and very friendly, but the food is the prime attraction. We had the striped bass - just an excellent meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnKMiamiLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheever's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cheever's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing