We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent BBQ”
Review of Back Door Barbecue

Back Door Barbecue
Ranked #325 of 1,656 Restaurants in Oklahoma City
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Brisket sandwich was pretty good. Cole slaw was mediocre and had a lot of cilantro. Potato salad was just okay. The selection of BBQ sauces was really good and delicious.

Helpful?
Thank DCNewleyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect BBQ, Good Selection”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Some BBQ restaurants pour on the liquid smoke or advertise the hottest sauces. Then the meat is tough and the lack of flavor is covered by the smoke or the spice. Backdoor starts by doing the meat perfectly and then letting you add the sauce you want. The brisket is available "lean" or "fatty" and is nicely rubbed and charred on the outside, tender in the inside. You only get one thick slice, but it is sufficient and delicious. The pulled pork is good without a sauce and perfect with the sauce you like. But the best was the baby back ribs they had on special, the last time we went. They're pork, not beef, and they're meaty and incredibly tender inside. The ribs were the best we've ever had, winning the restaurant a 5 star in my book.
The creamed corn is excellent. The cole slaw is one of the best. The beans are a little strong, but some like them that way.
The atmosphere is extremely friendly and sort of "down home."
Overall, simply outstanding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank profschiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good concept but execution needs improvement”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I really looked forward to trying Backdoor BBQ because it was a local place and had the hole in the wall local vibe. Having lived in Texas for over 10 years I can say I've tasted some great barbecue and hoped to find the same traits of good smoked meats in the Texas tradition. Brisket is king in my book and I've been looking for some great brisket in my home town.

Unfortunately I was disappointed with the quality at Backdoor. I ordered the grand dad's platter which had all the assortment of meats including brisket, pulled pork, smoked sausage, turkey and bologna. With the exception of the bologna and some of the sausage, everything else was too dry. It's as if they had it pre-sliced which lets all the juices run out and dries the meat. It's either that or it sat out too long.

I sorely hope this place improves it's execution and figures out the proper way to keep the meat moist before serving (keep the cuts intact and wrapped in cellophane until needing to be sliced for serving) because I'm rooting for a new BBQ place to make its mark here in OKC.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Everything is excellent here. The meats are all tender and cooked to perfection, the sides are delicious, especially the pickled fried okra! They have many different sauces to choose from. Mustard BBQ sauce is great. You won't be disappointed no matter what you order. The daily beast sandwiches are awesome.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imyourtallcool1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've been to this restaurant twice in the last few months. Both times, I wish I could have eaten more. The pulled pork is just delicious. Next time I go, I am going to skip the fries, and just have two sandwiches. The fries are good, but I love the pulled pork. I wish they would open up a great BBQ place like this near my home in Wisconsin. It is just impossible to get good BBQ in Wisconsin. This place is great for lunch or dinner. My daughter said they have the best brisket she has ever had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbug281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Back Door Barbecue also viewed

Oklahoma City, OK
Oklahoma City, OK
 
Oklahoma City, OK
 

Been to Back Door Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing