We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Fogon

El Fogon
Ranked #5 of 105 Restaurants in Owasso
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

El Fogon will take you right to Mexico. The owner is very friendly and has a terrific menu and priced right. The food is very good especially the homemade tamales. The place is very busy during lunch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    22
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“THIS is the SoCal fare that I remember!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Yep, I'm now going out of my way to come up here! Great food, great service, friendly folks and a hands-on owner who CARES what your dining experience will be! We've really enjoyed everything we've tried here. Need a lil cilantro? A lil sour cream? No problemo here. The hot salsa is reealy tasty; there is nothing bland about this Mexican food! Not too spicy, just really flavorful, a treasure in Tulsa's carbon-copy tacos scene. Not fancy, wear your jeans with the expanding waistline, lol. And don't forget the sopapillas~ best I've had in a very long time. Seen other places try to pass off frybread, lol. An unexpected gastronomical surprise was the chocolate swirl under them(you get TWO!); surprising and a very nice flavor combo!
You don't want to miss this place; just off Hwy 169 at the ol "German Corners," north of town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Struttybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

The outside cosmetic appearance of the restaurant is below average. Buildings that appear below average typically are not clean restaurants. The first impression which comes by appearance will typically determine if I would take a risk to eat at this establishment. I have passed by this restaurant many times while in the area. A friend of mine had who has eaten there before recommended for me to try it. The seating area is small and crowned. The restaurant is family owned and operated. The restaurant was clean and hospitable. The service was terrific. The food was delicious. The price for the food was average prices but given generous portions. I would highly recommend this restaurant. The outside appearance is an optical illusion of the quality you get inside. I guess the term good things come in small packages can be true. Do you love Mexican food then this establishment will appease your taste buds.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjordan38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Undiscoverd gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Great family run authentic Mexican food restaurant, we are regulars, love it, our only wish, was that they also served Margaritas, they do however serve beer and non alcoholic Mexican drinks,
We often enjoy the Mexican city tacos, the nachos, the chiliquillas, the Mole, spinach enchiladas, the white queso and chips, or the, chimichangas, or the fresh guacamole, it’s all fabulous

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cornerstonetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food for miles!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Best Mexican food for miles!! We eat here often and are never disappointed! Everything on their menu is simply delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Fogon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing