We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ that's good.”

Head Country Bar-B-Q
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Ponca City
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
McKinney, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BBQ that's good.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

They do a good job, the meat was good and tender, but the sides leave a lot to be desired. They use tiny containers to put the sides in, in truth about half a serving.

I prefer my bbq meat to be smothered in sauce and yes I only use Head Country BBQ sauce. I know they don't smother their meat because they have 3 choices in sauce. Service was good for the type of place it is, don't go expecting "Three Forks" service, it's just a BBQ joint.

I will go back next time business takes me to Ponca City, OK.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH-McTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Real BBQ.”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Depending where you are from you will love or hate this place. I enjoy it when I go to Ponca City. I wouldn't say I love all of it, but, the BBQ is genuine and fantastic. It's not service overload. You get what you want from the counter and go eat. Simple.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovemytravels121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nothing to Rave about.”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

It was "ok" at best. When you go out for smoked BBQ you expect a fairly good experience as this is a "specialty" type meal compared to your regular assorted menu type restaurants. Went to Head Country on 4 occasions. It was ok, I guess I expected too much. Still like their sauce that they market though.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alburgh, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Simple, no frills but GREAT
Ordered the whole rack of ribs... could only eat 40%
Eat the rest for breakast :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trini19738377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Getting too big for their britches!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The food used to be enough to hold whatever service you gamble and get but now when you visit the restruant, they act arogant. The service always seems to be "put out" with having to wait for your order and often don't get out of the chairs long enough to serve the people at the drive through with a quick, friendly hello. It's a shame that the service has not kept up with the quality of the food. Now the service actually makes me not want to get the food, because the food is of average quality these days.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eros F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Head Country Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Head Country Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing