We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Poteau
Certificate of Excellence
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the best Experience!!!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed here last weekend when in town for business. First of all, request the west end to avoid the train noise which will be significant otherwise. HOWEVER the west end must be the pet rooms. There was a noticable odor in my room upon entering and I'm quite certain there was pet
marking (urine) sprays on the wall. If you have been around pets at all you know this when you see it.

Too bad because otherwise the bathroom was clean and the hotel was beautiful and appeared new and in good shape. I don't know if there are a block of rooms, normally rented only for people with pets, and thats how I ended up there when I requested the quiet part of the hotel away from the train tracks or what. But they need to do a deep clean of their pet rooms if they are indeed specific. In fact I now see that there is a pet charge for those who bring them, so they should do extra cleaning since they charge for their presence.

Bob R.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Bob R,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    80
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
32
8
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012 via mobile

This is close to several awesome places to visit, including the Cedar Lake Rec Area of Ouachita National Forest. It is beautiful and a fun place to hike. This hotel is clean and staffed with helpful, friendly people. I would definitely stay here again if we visit the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Thank you, Mitch, and all of the staff for going the extra mile in assisting me with local information and providing spotlessly clean accommodations and exceptional hospitality amidst beautiful western decor during my stay. You are the gold standard!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_C_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My only complaint about this hotel is its proximity to two major highways and a railroad. The train that runs through the area could wake a corpse. Otherwise the hotel was great. The staff were very kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

They had the a/c already on in our room when we arrived so the room was cool.
Desk staff was able to direct us to the places we needed to go and even suggested a few more.
Soooooooo friendly. The breakfast was great. We should have probably noticed the train track when we checked in, but we learned of it in the middle of the first night. We got over it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresWithLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I give them a poor rating because the room phone did not work. The ice machine was broken and did not give ice. The beds felt like layers of plywood. The motel is next to a busy train track because we heard trains throughout our stay. Oh, and I do wish some of these places would get better television choices.

The staff kind of looked at us with a bewildered look in their eyes. It was a little creepy here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHG Care at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Cricket30165,

Thank you for the candid review of our property regarding your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and it is for these reasons that your comments about the room amenities are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notrees, tx
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The staff was friendly and helpful, the property clean and well taken care of. The room itself was very nice but I think the highest compliment that I could pay it in this heat (105 degrees when I checked in) was the room was cool and stayed cool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackFlynnNotrees_tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poteau
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Poteau
0.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Poteau
17.3 mi away
Choctaw Casino Hotel Pocola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
#4 of 22 in Fort Smith
160 reviews
23.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort Smith
22.3 mi away
Cherokee Casino & Hotel Roland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau
Address: 201 Hillview Pkwy, Poteau, OK 74953-5040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Poteau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Poteau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Poteau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing