We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Poteau
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights at this hotel while in the area on business. Overall this is a very nice and clean hotel. The staff were friendly and my room was cleaned promptly every day and nothing missed. The only draw back is the odd entrance to the hotel. Can make for a bit of a challenge if not prepared.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superevangelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    80
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
61
32
8
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very upscale hotel with exceptional management/staff. Just returned from a two night stay while in Poteau on business. This three-year old hotel with its dramatic stacked-stone fireplace dividing the lobby from the dining area is an immediate indicator that this hotel intends to exceed expectations. To be candid, I looked online and Ft. Smith hotels were listed. I reviewed TripAdvisor and found the Holiday Inn Express and knew this was the hotel.

I expect excellence and I expect to pay for it. However, this hotel provides excellence without the price tag. I can travel to Poteau and return home in one day. But, over a three day stay, I opted to stay in Poteau. I will return here for a two day visit. I have to report an wonderful stay, with a great room, perfect bed, granite bath vanity, extra lighting, coffee in the room, desk and extra bench for luggage.

Plus, the breakfast with eggs, ham/sausage, biscuits, bagels, pastries, yogurt and fruit was more than I expected and the manager's reception with wine, beer, cookies was a surprise. I sat and had wine and the manager came in and asked whether I wanted the channel changed on the TV above the fireplace. These little extra gestures are management attitudes that separate one hotel from another. Unbelieveably, I forgot my phone charger. They had one and said it belonged to an employee of the hotel. But, Paul, the manager loaned it to me for the duration of my stay - so accommodating. He also recommended Warehouse Willie's for a fabulous dinner to take a business associate. Great recommendation - Paul dined there the same night. My business was going to cause the need receive a fax after my departure Friday afternoon. Again, Amber, told me this was no problem, even an accommodating late check out was available, but I didn't need it. I will be back in Poteau soon, with my phone charger, and I will return to the Holiday Inn Express. Such a perfect stay and accommodating staff. This turned my business stay into a mini-vacation.

Room Tip: I am not awakened by trains, but if this is a problem, choose a room on the West side. The West side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Enjoyed the stay, and the friendly staff. Be sure to enjoy the Managers Reception at the end of your day, that includes chips, cookies and some cold beer. (I think the reception is offered Tuesdays through Fridays.). Breakfast was good too, included some hot items, eggs and sausage.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at this property in Poteau during the July 4th holiday for three nights.

First and foremost, I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff. They were helpful and accommodating. The King Suite was well appointed and extremely clean.

My kids enjoyed the pool and My wife and I appreciated it was heated!

The breakfast was exceptional and typical of The Holiday Inn Express standard. Although, my daughter was sad the pancake machine was broken during our entire 3 night stay.

As we were leaving, the front desk clerk walked us out and thanked us for staying with them. This was a first in all my travels around the world!

This property will become our regular place to stay while in town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hulbert, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the staff friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have a nice happy hour during the week. I would definitely recommend it if you are going to stay in Poteau.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gloria-grim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gladstone, MO
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Over the Memorial holiday, we had a death in the family. There were several of us coming from Kansas City, Missouri and we needed a place to stay. We would up staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Poteau, Oklahoma.

Beyond my wildest dreams, I would never dream that this hotel would be so NICE, almost out in the country, but very close to the highway/freeway. We walked in, and very nice marble floors. Our room was very large with two queen beds. In the morning they had a nice breakfast, of almost anything you would want. The personnel at the front desk, especially Stormy, was very nice. To top this off, they gave us a discount for all our family members (7 rooms used), which really helped out, since we had to drive in from Kansas City. To top this off, we did not leave Kansas City, but another area. I did not have a tooth brush, and they gave me one. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brneyes5925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Have stayed here before for business. last month, had a reservation glitch in hotel we were supposed to stay at in Ft. Smith. Due to glitch and no other available rooms in Ft. Smith, took the short drive to Poteau and stayed one night, while a short stay, it was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and welcoming and upgraded our room, even though I got the room with points only (rare to get upgrade when using points only). Also acknowledged me as a Priority Club member. Pretty good breakfast as well.
Thank you for the hospitality in a stressful situation. Will definitely consider staying again if in the area. A very top-notch Holiday Inn Express and by far the best hotel in Poteau

Room Tip: A short drive from Fort Smith, AR
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poteau
2.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Poteau
0.4 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Poteau
17.3 mi away
Choctaw Casino Hotel Pocola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
Candlewood Suites Fort Smith
#4 of 22 in Fort Smith
158 reviews
23.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Fort Smith
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
Hampton Inn Fort Smith
#3 of 22 in Fort Smith
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau
Address: 201 Hillview Pkwy, Poteau, OK 74953-5040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Poteau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Poteau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Poteau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Poteau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing