We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for an awesome meal!”

Shad's Catfish Hole
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Sallisaw
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Returning for an awesome meal!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I have ate here many times, starting in 2001, and love eating here. The catfish is outstanding, but the steaks are also very good. They have chicken, frog legs, crab legs, and other fare. The tea is great, and the kitchen set up is awesome, with the best brown beans I have ever ate, the best hush puppies I have ever ate, the best green tomato relish, and some great coleslaw, and fries. Absolutely the best food ever. No better place to eat on the planet. The staff is friendly and it is worth the trip here. The food is reslly the best around.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Best catfish in eastern Oklahoma and western Arkansas!!! Nicest, kindest service in the country as far as I'm concerned. They have always done a superb job at taking care of me and all my rowdy family!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulezKnows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You want Catfish thats cooked the right way. Come here.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Everything was fantastic. The food was cooked correctly. The beans, the onions, the slaw the hushpuppies.. Everything was fantastic. i ate here 2 days in a row and wish they would come to California. They do not take Credit Cards or Debit cards. Cash only.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow - good food, good friends. What more could you ask?”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We had dinner here on our last night together as a group riding the Ozarks, after finishing the day with the Talimena. The food here was fantastic. They feed you before they feed you - as our hotel clerk told us. She was absolutely right. Coleslaw, beans, and some of the best hush puppies I've ever tasted kept us busy until the food arrived. Portions were large, and no one left hungry. This place is worth a detour, and if you're in or near Sallisaw, you've got to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dnawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Our family has been coming here for years. The restaurant is a hidden treasure for catfish lovers. The fish is great and the staff is super friendly. If you don't eat catfish, you may be a bit disappointed with the menu but hey, it's a catfish place and a darn good one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rotodome01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shad's Catfish Hole also viewed

 

Been to Shad's Catfish Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing