We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Motel, Nice Sign”
Review of Skyliner Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Skyliner Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stroud
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stopped at the Skyliner because it's on Route 66 and was recommended on a website. The people were nice and the room was OK (good mattress on the bed), but the motel itself needs some tender loving care. With a little paint and some cleaning up, it could be a contender, but it seems as though the owners just let it get run down. The neon sign is nice though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stuffy, dark and quite oppressive room with very 'high' beds. It was highly recommended as a nice R66 stopover that to my taste does not bring anything special. Quite expensive with no breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lc1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Skyliner while traveling Route 66. After reading some reviews on the Route 66 websites and in travel guides, we had reasonable expectations. We arrived late in the evening and because of that, I'm sure we were gouged on the price - $89.00! The room was clean and the mattresses seemed new, but the A/C was loud, the towels were thin and there was an old toilet under a workbench outside of our room! Plus, there was a sheet of vinyl under the mattress cover, which made what might have been a comfortable bed, very UNcomfortable. I don't even want to imagine why it's there. With some improvement and reasonable prices (under $65), it would have received a better rating. For now, I'm sorry to say the best thing about this hotel is the neon sign.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mntnlvr64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

What a nice little old-fashioned motel. Great neon sign with a cute veggie garden underneath it! The rate was reasonable, the staff very friendly. The room was neat and clean. Nothing fancy but I would say the bed was comfy, the AC unit worked well and the area is quiet. This place is right on old Route 66 which is also Stroud's Main Street with Rock Cafe a few blocks down. Rt 66 is just a mile or so away from the turnpike.

Room Tip: We got the corner room which may be a bit larger than the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We were attracted by the cool neon sign, but found the welcome and hospitality of "Bob" the owner a pleasant surprise. The room was clean and comfortable, although the new heater/air conditioner was a bit noisy. All-in-all, I can't think of a reason to stay in one of the lousy chains when a nice alternative like the Skyliner is here! Be sure to have breakfast at the Rock Cafe in the morning--best omelets we've ever had!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank krmtrains1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Should have never made a reservation or looked at the route 66 motels site....this is NOT a classic motel and shouldn't even have made that list. $65 for a single room, indifferent service, and I thought I was being charged more because they had no more rooms sold the night I was there. Red Rock cafe breakfast so-so.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooterboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We tried to stay at the Skyliner. It is extremely run-down, and the owner/manager was unfriendly and rude.

I have not been able to get the page on the blog done yet that explains the experience, however it can be found here: http://englishspokenhere.de/ESHblog/?page_id=10

I seem to remember writing a review before, but for some reason it has never appeared...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank English_Spoken_Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Stroud
0.7 mi away
Cattle Country Lodge
Cattle Country Lodge
#2 of 4 in Stroud
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sooner Motel
Sooner Motel
#4 of 4 in Stroud
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Boomtown Inn Motel
Boomtown Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Drumright
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Skyliner Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyliner Motel

Address: 717 W Main St, Stroud, OK 74079-3619
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Stroud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Stroud
Price Range: £35 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyliner Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Skyliner Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyliner Hotel Stroud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing