We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Hills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulsa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills Motel
Ranked #71 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This motel has very mixed reviews but we spent a comfortable night here. We used the laundry which was very efficient and the wi fi was free and there was a strong signal. Our room was big and although shabby it was clean and the shower worked well with good water pressure. The only negative was the rude and ignorant attitude of the owners. The lady could hardly be bothered to speak and simply shoved the registration form in front of us and said "$50" - no please or thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janmoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    9
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
20
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

After cancelling our room with a major chain motel because it was filthy and unsafe, we took a shot at the Desert Hills, which came recommended by the Route 66 guidebook. After the back and forth debacle of the previous motel, I was silently praying for a clean room and a vacancy. The girl at the office was nice and polite and efficient. Unfortunately, the key to the first room she gave us wouldn't work, but she assigned us a new room and we did a quick check before unloading our car. Clean beds, clean bathroom, clean linens, no bugs, and the door closed properly.
The beds were a bit bouncy, but they were clean and that was good.
The next morning, we met some of the guests passing through - especially one man (guest or worker / owner, still not sure) who walked around the parking lot smiling and asking to borrow a cigarette. At least he was smiling. LOL
Really no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed here during a 17-night trip on Route 66. This was far and away the worst motel during our trip. The room was dirty and not kept up. There were plenty of other vintage motels all along the Route that were quaint with outdated furniture, but still well-maintained. This was not. It was just gross. Incidentally, this was the only motel on the entire trip where the receptionist in the lobby was behind a glass barrier. This should have been an indication from the start. The only reason that I'm giving two instead of one is that the wifi was fast. Don't stay here. Book somewhere else. It's not worth it, even for the cheap price. See my pics of the bathroom and TV cabinet with graffiti.

Room Tip: try a different motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wegs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulsa hotels

Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

No tea or coffee making facilities and woken during the night by sleeve bag I believe who worked there and asked if I was naked! Reception not very helpful the next day, the only thing going for it is it's close to tullys which was fabulous. Ladies if you are traveling without a man don't stay here! Sorry but true.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendastarr52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Traveling across country we came across this little gem in Tulsa. True americano this motel turn back time. Right down the street is Tullys cafe wonderful spot for breakfast. Great value, clean room, super friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Checotah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Other reviewers are correct, this is an Old hotel. If you look at their website you know that. It was built in 1953 and is part of the old historic route 66. We stayed for 3 nights during the Tulsa Home Show. Our rooms were spotlessly clean with crisp clean sheets and pillow cases on the firm mattresses. The owners were pleasant and helpful.
The rooms were comfortable, heat worked well.
I booked the room because I was intrigued with the history of the hotel. I'm very glad I did. I'll be back the next time I'm in Tulsa.

Room Tip: I didn't check to see if coffee pots were provided in the room. (they aren't) I should have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Not good enough even if at a low price.

Saw three bugs in the room (so assume many more) and a fire alarm somewhere near our room that beeped every minute throughout the night.

The room did not seem clean and fresh. I did not get a good night's sleep due to beeping alarm and the one bug a smacked with my shoe was gone the next day so either a cockroach or eaten by a bigger bug.

I would not stay again, neither at the motel or at the location.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
1.1 mi away
Inn at Expo Square
Inn at Expo Square
#75 of 108 in Tulsa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#18 of 108 in Tulsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Tulsa
Red Roof Inn Tulsa
#57 of 108 in Tulsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tulsa Airport
2.5 mi away
Ramada Tulsa
Ramada Tulsa
#13 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Downtown Tulsa/Route 66 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Motel

Property: Desert Hills Motel
Address: 5220 E. 11th St., Tulsa, OK 74112-4323
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Desert Hills Hotel Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing