We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Desert Hills Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulsa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Desert Hills Motel
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This motel was okay, no frills, just your basic rest your head motel. It was clean, and smelled good. I was a little worried about the area knowing that 11th street is known for its suspicious activity, but the only thing I saw was at midnight the night we arrived and that was up the road a bit. Other than that it was a quiet area, and nothing really happened while we were there. Although that may have been due to the blizzard we got. I can not complain, the staff was nice and helpful, and our room was freshly cleaned every time we left. The only issue I had was that there wasnt an outlet in the bathroom for my blowdryer and hair straightner, but there was one in the closet. The floor in the bathroom could of used some help, but like I said, if you just want a cheap and basic place to rest your head then this is a good motel, and the beds were very comfortable. Oh, and the restaraunt up the street was awsome.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupcake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2009

stayed here in August as part of our 66 trip. Room ok and in keeping with the 66 no frills whatsoever,, but it was the only place on the entire 3500 miles that we did,( including Vegas and some side trips), when we felt very uncomfortable about our surroundings. I am a 50 year old woman and was standing on the pavement outside the reception area when 3 separate cars tooted their horn at me and another driver stopped next to me and beckoned me over. My husband and I and our 14 year old quickly went to the nearest Walmart before it got dark, got some food and literally barricaded ourselves in the room for the night. Was I glad to see morning. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cfamily99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

The neon cactus sign sets a cool retro mood & warm bathroom floors certainly contribute to guests feeling comfy:D
P.S. When we were leaving the receptionist gave us with a "I've done my laundry at the Desert Hills Motel in Tulsa"-pillow slip with ROUTE 66 sign on it (probably because he noticed i was taking pictures of every Route 66 sign i've spotted in the motel :D )

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AlenaRom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

This original Route 66 motel was built in 1953. Going into the motel was like a step back in time. The rooms were clean but dated. Fridge, microwave and WIFI that actually worked. A diner down the street named Tally's Cafe came from the same area serving good food. The area was somewhat seedy but then again no worse than any other large city.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

With our GPS, we easily found this motel. What a hoot! We were excited about staying there. Yes, it dated back to the early 50s, but you have to love this place - the neon lights, billboard, etc. It had a fridge, even had WIFI. What more could I ask for when paying $35.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patches01033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

This is a very basic motel. The rooms have no amenities (coffee maker, hair dryer) except for an unplugged refrigerator and TV. However, the beds are very comfortable, the shower is fine, and the aircon/heater works well (but is noisy). Also, the wall are thin, which could be a potential problem. For under $50, it's a good budget option.

It is a classic, old style motel, right on Route 66. You are a five minute walk from Talley's Cafe, a great old style place for breakfast. The Cherry Street Market, with great bars, cafes, and restaurants. is a five minute drive. Downtown Tulsa is a 10 minute drive (and except for the expensive hotels, it is dead and night). The airport is about a 15 minute drive.

I found this a good, cheap base for seeing Tulsa. There is nothing to walk to near the motel, but there are a huge number of restaurants and stores (Western Sizzlin', Golden Corral, Wallmarts, Mexican and Chinese restaurants, etc) within a 15 minute drive. It's also close to the university and stadium.

Jenks and the riverwalk are about a 30 minute drive. I found it to be a convenient budget choice.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike-Wiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
1.9 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#17 of 109 in Tulsa
262 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 109 in Tulsa
1,192 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#20 of 109 in Tulsa
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
2.5 mi away
Ramada Tulsa
Ramada Tulsa
#13 of 109 in Tulsa
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Hills Motel

Address: 5220 E. 11th St., Tulsa, OK 74112-4323
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Desert Hills Hotel Tulsa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing