We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite fully restored”
Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not quite fully restored”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This is a beautifully restored hotel and the room was very comfortable. Our car was valeted in a lovingly restored Streamlined Modern garage which was across the road but part of the hotel. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful but seemed oblivious to the historic nature of the hotel and there was no book about the restoration or history of the hotel which is a great shame. The restaurant was fine but could open longer hours, the coffee shop was cheerful but the bar on the roof seems amateurishly decorated and uncomfortable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We appreciate you choosing The Mayo while you were in Tulsa. Thank you very much for noticing our recent update to the Mayo Motor Inn. We are very happy with the look and feel that it really adds to the uniqueness of the property. Our history is very important to us and we review aspects of this in each one of our front desk meetings. I apologize that this was not conveyed during your stay. We will make adjustments to ensure that literature on the history of the hotel is more readily available. Guests interested in the history can also visit our website to learn more. Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to you visiting again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    95
    58
    23
    19
See reviews for
71
152
23
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The lobby was restored in the last 10 years and the lobby is beautiful. Rooms and bathrooms are large with kitchenettes in many. The staff are friendly and helpful. I had a room on 2nd floor that had a view of a rooftop and requested to be moved to a higher floor and the staff were very accommodating. They gave me a roof on the 9th floor with a sitting area and a view of the city. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The restoration of the lobby and the rest of the hotel was completed just 5 years ago. Our staff strives to be an asset for all of our guests; I am pleased to know we accomplished this during your stay. We will accommodate any and all requests if it is in our power to do so. Future guests should not hesitate to ask no matter what their special request may be. Thank you again for choosing Tulsa’s historic Mayo Hotel. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

One night stay while traveling cross country. The room was a suite with a king bed and a separate living space with kitchenette. Everything was clean and comfortable and I think we had one of the best room service meals at any hotel I've stayed at.

The room was very quite, so I'm not even sure if anyone was in the adjacent rooms or not. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisco_nerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for choosing The Mayo and recognizing us with the great review. Nearly half of our rooms at the hotel are suites and feature a layout similar to the room you stayed in. I am happy that you were comfortable in it during your visit. I know our Executive Head Chef and Chef de Cuisine will be delighted to hear about your room service experience. The title of your review gets at what we try to do with each guest that we have the privilege of serving and I am glad that we achieved this during your stay. I will pass your kind words along to the hotel staff. Thank you again for your business. We hope to see you the next time you are in Tulsa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here over the weekend. Great room, nice and big. Staff was friendly, Steve our bellman very helpful. The Hotel has a car that happily took us to our destination and promptly returned at the end of the evening. The Penthouse Bar is great ambiance and even better views. The bar was however extremely understaffed. No server was working the floor either Friday or Sat. night. So extremely long wait at the bar.
Main complaint is the shower in rm 317, had an issue with mold in the shower. Somewhat icky. Tried to get some nicer pillows from the housekeeper but she didn't understand what I needed.
Regardless slept great. Would stay again. However we had an outstanding rate due to being wedding guests, so might feel somewhat differently if paying rack rate.
Also loved Tulsa, beautiful city, lots of great architecture.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notgena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for choosing The Mayo during your weekend visit. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the room. Our shuttle will take hotel guests anywhere in a 4-mile radius of the hotel free of charge. The issue with your room had been remedied and our housekeeping department will remain attentive to this issue. I invite you to contact me personally if you would like to discuss these issues in further detail. Next time you are in Tulsa you may want to consider a Downtown walking tour provided by the Tulsa Historical Society for more information on this call the Tulsa Historical Society at 918-712-9484. Thanks again for choosing The Mayo. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ozark, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We just returned today from an amazing stay at the mayo. We were in the Mayo Suite and the room was the nicest I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. It was like a luxury Apt complete with kitchen, living room and separate bedroom. It was super clean and although this is a little more than we typically spend on a hotel room, we really feel the value and experience outweighed the cost. We did save by parking on the street which is free on the weekends and did not use the valet parking - no problems with our car overnight. We were there for a local wedding and the location was perfect - we were able to walk to the church and the reception venue wasn't far either. We all enjoyed the rooftop bar and also Trula, the on site restaurant. Overall fantastic time and highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I am delighted to hear the feedback from your stay and appreciate you choosing The Mayo. I agree that the Mayo Suite is truly one of the nicest hotel rooms in the entire country. Our guests can absolutely treat it as their own private apartment in Tulsa. Our housekeeping department does a terrific job keeping these rooms looking their best for each and every new guest.

Trula is one of the top dining options in all of Downtown Tulsa and there is truly no other bar in all of Oklahoma quite like The Penthouse. You are correct that parking on the street is typically available over the weekends our valet service is $20 per night but guests can come and go as often as they desire. The Mayo is located in the heart of Downtown and conveniently located no matter whether you are coming for business or pleasure.

I am happy to know that you feel the experience outweighed the cost and I believe that most others will agree with you. Thank you again for choosing The Mayo. We hope your path again guides you through our doors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at The Mayo Hotel July 25th and 26th of 2013. Upon entering the main lobby you are greeted with the expansive space tastefully decorated and yet reminiscent of what I would expect were I there in the late 20's. The rooms, however" are thoroughly modern! My was a corner suite with a large living area and a separate bedroom. There were large flat panel TVs it's both rooms and a full kitchen. The bathroom was furnished with high end fixtures and a bath tub and a shower! It was first class.
The staff was courteous and professional, I didn't eat at the hotel, but did enjoy a coffee at the adjacent Topéca Coffee Shop, where I found the staff to be friendly and the coffee excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Case T, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to share about your stay at The Mayo Hotel while you were in Tulsa. You are correct in that the hotel was painstakingly restored to its full potential with no detail ignored. The Mayo’s history is extensive and full of stories, whether it be local Tulsans sharing their past experiences while attending events throughout the years, to the stories involving our more well-known guests including Charlie Chaplin, Marilyn Monroe, Elvis, The Beatles, and many more. As you pointed out, the lobby and rooftop bar have kept their classic art deco style and design, while our rooms have been updated in a modern layouts with contemporary furniture and appliances.
It sounds like you enjoyed our Executive Suite that does come with an oversized two-person garden tub in addition to the walk in shower. These rooms are great for couples that are enjoying a special night, or guests just looking for a relaxing evening soaking in the wonderful tub. While all our other rooms only have the walk in showers with body-jets, I invite you back to experience all the different layouts and room-types as they are all fit to make you feel like a celebrity.
Thank you for also taking to time to mention how wonderful Topéca Coffee is, and their great staff. On behalf of the entire Mayo Hotel’s staff, I want to say thank You for choosing to stay with us, and giving us the opportunity to help make lasting memories. We’ll look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Unprofessional. Nice staff once they came around, but the hotel was empty and workers standing around staring at us and no one to help. Obviously, professional hospitality management is not important. Very expensive and hot water ran out quickly as well.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JakeBaldwin, General Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
I’m sorry to hear about the experience you had during your stay. Our staff works everyday to better our service. One of the keys to this service is a positive attitude and an eagerness to meet our guests’ every need. It appears that we dropped the ball while you were here and that will be corrected. Hospitality is very much important to us and we will continue to get better every day. I would ask that you contact me personally to discuss these issues in further detail so that we can ensure they do not happen again. Thank you for choosing The Mayo and I do hope we get the opportunity to change your impression of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#11 of 108 in Tulsa
1,106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#21 of 108 in Tulsa
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#32 of 108 in Tulsa
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Property: The Mayo Hotel
Address: 115 W 5th St, Tulsa, OK 74103-4239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing