We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks proper staffing, decor fantastic . 4-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mayo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mayo Hotel
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lacks proper staffing, decor fantastic . 4-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Impressed with hotel decor and rooms are large and 4-star. No tubs in rooms however. Had poor experience in hotel restaurant due to very low staff levels and Clueless Bartenders . Note to hotel owner...your bar is #1 profit center , manage as such.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ptcsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear ptcsr,

Thank you so much for your opinion. I am glad to hear that you were impressed with our hotel.

I apologize for the poor service that you received in our bar and restaurant. I realize that our bars and restaurant need to match the greatness of the rooms and the service that our guests receive in the hotel, or it will affect their general experience in a negative way.

Therefore, just this last week, we hired 2 new experienced managers to run our food and beverage operations, and this part of our hotel is being dramatically transformed as we speak.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at 918-895-8406 if you are in the area again. I would love to meet and make sure that your next stay is a full positive Mayo experience.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    93
    55
    23
    19
See reviews for
69
150
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live in Tulsa and this was our first time to stay at the newly renovated hotel. We had a really memoriable night and the Mayo lived up to all of our expections. The roof top bar is a great watering hole. Really beautiful view of the city and excellent place to people watch, and just wind down! The roof top bar is only open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday, and we really hope they extend the hours this summer. The staff is friendly and professional. Our only complaint is the slow service in the loby bar, Trula. Definitely will go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLT45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear RLT45,

I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your time in the Mayo.
We are indeed considering extending our rooftop bar hours this summer, so more people can enjoy a drink and the beautiful evenings under the big Oklahoma skies.

Thank you for your support and kind words.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

When in Tulsa, Oklahoma, treat yourself to a nice time at the Mayo Hotel. It is very large Art
Deco Building that serves as a Hotel, and a residences for 76 apartments. Therefore the staff seems to be well trained, and wanting to serve you. From the time you check in, and are greeted
by the doormen, to the prompt check in, this is what a Hotel experience should be. The room'
we stayed in, was very large (King bed), with a small kitchen (Fridge, Microwave, sink), desk,
easy chair, and modern bathroom.

The Lobby is enormous, with plenty of couches and chairs to sit in. The roof top affords a
bar, and a place to seek out great views of Tulsa, and the river that runs by it.

Best of all, the Hotel offers a free car service that will take you to within 4 miles of the Hotel. If
you are going out at night, they will take you and pick you up. You can leave you car parked,
or avoid a cab.

The way a Hotel should be run.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GRAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear GRAnnapolis,

Thank you so much for your detailed and elaborate review. It is our goal to impress everyone that enters our building, and I am so happy that we were able to do that during your stay.

We take pride in all the big and little details that distinguish us from any other hotel, and it is inspiring to read that you noticed so many of them.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you in the Mayo again.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were in Tulsa for a wedding, and we're pleasantly surprised by our awesome stay at The Mayo. Beautifully remodeled, spacious, modern and clean rooms with very comfortable beds with lots of pillows and high thread count sheets. Nice kitchenette in room and lack out curtains helped us sleep in! The staff was very friendly and helpful and there is a free car service that will pick up/ drop off from the airport and drive you around to local attractions. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Tyler B,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and got to take advantage of our complimentary car service.

Everyone here appreciates your recognition and we all hope to see you again.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We came to Tulsa for a wedding. The bride and groom booked a block of rooms for guests at the Hampton. We decided to treat ourselves to the historic Mayo. Our suite was large and nice enough. The bed was comfortable. We had a bite to eat at Trula's in the hotel shortly after checking in. The bar was full and there was only one bartender, no other waitstaff. This was poor staffing given there was a wedding in the lobby. The most disappointing and shocking event of our stay was being awakened at 7 am Sunday morning by workers outside the hotel. There was a large, noisy truck that sounded like a garbage truck retrieving trash for forty five minutes straight. My husband went downstairs to get me some tea as none was offered in the room. Most nicer properties offer tea in the room with complimentary coffee. Also, there is no complimentary coffee or tea in the lobby and Trula's doesn't open until 8 am. I wish they could have held off the workers for at least another hour. This hotel is not worth the rate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Sharla T,

We always strive to impress our guests, but in your case we obviously failed. Every room should have complimentary tea and coffee, and I already briefed our housekeeping staff to pay close attention to this matter in the future.

When it comes to the noise issue, unfortunately, there is not much that we could have done to prevent them from starting in the morning on that day. At the same time the versatility of our building allows us to place guests on higher floors where they do not get affected by any noise - and we always do if the availability allows it.

Please contact me at 918-895-8406 if you are willing to give us another chance. I will personally make arrangements for you, and make sure that you can enjoy your stay with us to its fullest extent.

And finally, thank you for taking time to write this review. Any feedback is extremely valuable to us, and we take it very seriously.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WaKeeney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

A friend and I went to Tulsa for a concert. We decided to stay at the Mayo because of the proximity to the BOK and the roof top bar even-though the price was very high ($340.00 plus valet parking). When we got there we found out the roof top bar was closed and the room was small and there was a large stain on the carpet. I would not stay there again and for that price I could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank compacdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear compacdave,

I am sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience in the Mayo. Our rooftop bar is currently opened only on Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays, and unfortunately the concert you attended was on Wednesday, and that is why it was closed.

At the same time, we realize what a fantastic place our rooftop bar is, and many people do expect it to be open on a concert night. Thus, we are seriously considering this option so everyone staying at the Mayo can get the most out of the experience.

If you are in the area again, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at 918-895-8406. I would love the opportunity to meet and make sure everything is top notch with your stay.

Best,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Very surprised when we stayed here one night in May 2014. We loved our room, bed and service. This hotel has lots of history and a special feel. A special thanks to front office manager, Lukas Vodicka who was so helpful in many ways. Some of the best coffee next store too. We want to come back.
Mitchell Kot

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 146Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukas V, Front Office Manager at The Mayo Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mr. Kot,

Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to me and my team here at the Mayo. We always strive to offer excellent service, thus it makes me very happy to read a positive review such as yours.

Please do not hesitate to reach out to me for future arrangements if you find yourselves in the area again.

Warmest Regards,

Lukas Vodicka
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 108 in Tulsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Campbell Hotel
The Campbell Hotel
#18 of 108 in Tulsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#33 of 108 in Tulsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayo Hotel

Property: The Mayo Hotel
Address: 115 West 5th Street, Tulsa, OK 74103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1925, The Mayo Hotel was the place to be in Tulsa. Famous or not, our guests receive the superstar treatment they deserve. With 102 hotel rooms, we have more suites than standard rooms - and when we say standard, we mean spectacular. Room sizes from 500 square feet and up, there is plenty of room in this historic building to spread out. Be sure to visit The Mayo Museum and learn about our famous past and our promising future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing