We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of The Campbell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Campbell Hotel
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is close to where my kids live so I come to Tulsa often. This time I stayed in the Sky Suite. I think this is my favorite now. Large jetted tub, sky light, electric fireplace, large bathroom with great storage and a bed with luxury linens that you don't want to get out of!!! Can't wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missingbarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Great. Glad you stayed again. And that you enjoyed the "Sky Suite". It was picked #1 favorite by the thousands of people who toured during designer showcase 2011. Each room is special in its own way. Thanks again for staying, and please come back soon. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

I'm a business traveler who's in and out of cities each week. I normally patronize the Hilton chain for the points value, but a friend of mine had recently taken over at this hotel as the sales manager, and I wanted to see her....so I decided to give The Campbell a try. What I thought I'd get: a cute room. What I actually got: A NEW HOME! I can't say enough good things, but here are the items that impacted my stay most: 1) the facility is amazingly renovated, but to know that 44 different interior designers made sure that each architectural element was historically correct was superb, 2) my room was gorgeous, but the luxury bedding and quality of the mattress and pillows was a huge plus, 3) let's hear it for an actual cast iron tub that holds a ton of water and stays hot for an hour, right ladies? 4) I accidentally ran into the OWNER 3 times in 3 days - that just never happens in a chain. Business travelers, this feels like you've stepped back into 1927. You can almost hear the Model T horns honking on Route 66. The ambiance gets 5 stars - the spa gets a perfect score, too, with the best manicurist I've ever seen and extremely reasonable prices. Stay here while you can!!! Route 66 is undergoing a revitalization and I fear the rest of the world will learn how amazing my Campbell is soon!!!

Room Tip: Ladies, the Rose Bowl room has a writing desk with a powerful lamp and a beveled mirror on a stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thanks for the great review. It was very nice meeting you. We hope you do come back and stay again and again. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I would recommend staying in one of the rooms with a skylight! Excellent location for those visiting the University of Tulsa. Loved the uniqueness of each room and the downstairs bar. 10-minute drive to airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Hey thanks for the nice review. I don't know if you stayed in the sky suite or the oil barons suite, but they are both very nice, and I hope you were comfortable. Please come back and stay again soon. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We recently held our daughters wedding and reception here, we had also booked most of the rooms for the occasion. My daughter could never have picked a better place to hold something so special to our family. From the beginning of the planning they treated us like we were there family, they were there every step of the way to make this occasion something we will remember for the rest of our lives; Now for the staff, they couldn't have a better staff, they are extremely pleasant and helpful, even beyond what they are responsible for. Now for the best part of the review.....the rooms, you will have to come to this hotel 26 times just so you can experience the beauty and hard work that have gone into these rooms each room is different 26 different themes. The beds are made up like something you would see in a store selling there bedding, plush pillows stacked like you were in your own home. I recommend this hotel for your stay, whether you are from Tulsa or visiting please consider this your home while you are away from your home, you will never regret your decision

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thanks so much for the very nice review. It was a beautiful wedding, and we loved having all of you. Jenny and Ian are a lovely couple, and we very much wish them a happily ever after. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The location for this hotel is good, but setting not very nice. Not exactly industrial, but right off a main drag. Since the hotel is only 2 stories, views out the windows were to parking lot or street. BUT, that being said, the rooms were very nicely furnished, large, and comfortable, with mini-fridge, coffee machine, hair dryer, etc. Our bathroom had a shower/tub and was nicely decorated.The service was very helpful and informative. The continental breakfast was convenient. We had a sweet time on our visit and would highly recommend The Campbell.

Room Tip: If you like Leon Russell, stay in the room with his name!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsPollyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Well, I'm glad you found us. I know we don't exactly look like the average hotel from the outside, but we were originally built as a hotel upstairs in 1927, and since we have restored the hotel and are now on the national register of historic places, the facade has to remain as it was almost 100 years ago. But we made it real nice inside, and the building is rich in history and comfort. And that main drag is Route 66, so we put up with that too. We thrilled that you stayed, and hope to see you again, and thanks for the nice review. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I use to travel often and rarely had a bad hotel experience. Over the last decade, bad hotel experiences appear to be the norm, even in the high-end hotels in which I stay. The desire for huge profits and CO bonuses seem to have taken priority over maintenance of the hotel and quests services. Most hotels, even the high-end ones, do not have enough employees to properly serve the quests, clean the rooms and overall maintain the hotel. Because money is generally not being put back into the hotels for repair and to ensure that there is sufficient staff to provide a clean room and overall clean facility for the guests, I dread having to stay in hotels.

As a result of my bad experiences in many of the well known high-end hotels, after reading the reviewers opinions concerning the Campbell Hotel and looking at the photos of the various distinctive rooms available, I decided to give it a try although the picture of the hotel's outside gave me pause.

I stayed in the Pearl room. It was very clean and nicely decorated. In fact, the hotel is beautifully restored and provides the feel of old time luxury. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, including the cleaning staff. Everything in my room worked as it should.

I will stay in the Campbell Hotel again on my next stay. My only fear is that the owner will come to realize that the hotel is indeed a rare "Pearl," and thus, that it is not necessary to give away so much free stuff --- unlimited bottled water, yogurt, pastries, and energy snakes.

Thanks for providing such a beautiful and clean place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Wow, what a great review. I'm thrilled you found us, and that you appreciate everything we did. It was the funnest hard work ever. Your review really helps get the word out, and that's great because we are new( what once was old is new again) and we want everyone to know. Thanks so much, and please come back soon, and maybe try out a different themed room. We'll take good care of you. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Looking at a few of my other reviews will reveal that this place is a little classier and pricier than most places I stay. A discount for Route 66 travelers brought the cost within range and got me a rather posh night on the road. I stayed in the Leon Russell room and really enjoyed the musical decor and looking over the photos, posters, and album covers. I understand that the building was in quite bad shape when the recent renovation began which makes the current state of things even more impressive. All the rooms are on the second floor. There is an elevator but I thought climbing the wide stairway with the skylight at the top was a much better way to get there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

I'm so glad you found us and were able to stay. We welcome Route 66 travelers, and that's why we offer a discount. I'm glad you enjoyed and appreciated our little hotel, and hope you will be back to visit again. Thanks so much for staying. Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#17 of 109 in Tulsa
484 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 109 in Tulsa
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
2.4 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#30 of 109 in Tulsa
324 reviews
7.8 mi away
Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell Hotel

Address: 2636 E 11th St, Tulsa, OK 74104-3938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: £104 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campbell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your stay in Tulsa at the luxurious Campbell Hotel. Completely renovated in 2011 and home of the 2011 Designer Showcase, this fabulously decorated, boutique hotel is located on old Historic Route 66 and is a jewel in the heart of Tulsa. Brimming with pieces of Tulsa’s history throughout the hotel, the awe-inspiring Campbell invites you to experience a piece of Southern comfort on Tulsa time. Tulsa boasts amazing cultural attractions including the Philbrook and Gilcrease Museums, the BOK Center, active entertainment districts, amazing art deco, the longest stretch of the original Route 66 Highway, and the Arkansas River Trails where you can exercise, dine, or watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Campbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing