We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable hotel!”
Review of The Campbell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Campbell Hotel
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Certificate of Excellence
Adair, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Adorable hotel!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I reserved the Bama Suite to do a boudoir photo shoot in, and then my husband and I stayed the night there. The staff at the front desk was friendly during check in/check out and answering any questions. The room was absolutely gorgeous! It is a bit smaller than the pictures would make you think, and for some reason based on the website I thought that the fireplaces were real (they are only decorative) but the quality of the furniture and decor in the room is absolutely beautiful. Staying here was a very neat experience compared to regular chain hotels. On check-in they give you a coupon for the spa, and I was a little disappointed to go downstairs an hour before their posted closing time to find out that they had already gone home for the day. The girl at the front desk said that if they don't have anything scheduled they leave early, so I guess that if you go and plan to use the spa make sure to make an appointment with them in advance.

Room Tip: Each room is designed differently with a different theme. Their website shows photos of each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thanks for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to write it. Sorry about the spa snafu. If you kept the coupon and you're nearby, you can still use it. It is non-expiring. And it is a great salon. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and the decor. Hope you can come back soon and try another one. Thanks again. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    56
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
106
13
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed in the route 66 suite & absolutely loved how comfortable and convenient everything was. Very close drive to some great attractions & restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff. Some may say it's a bit pricey for what it is, but I truly appreciated the decor that gave this place it's character. If you're looking for something out of the ordinary this is the place! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
We are very happy that you were satisfied with your stay at our little hotel. We try very hard to make sure you are comfy and cozy, and hope you will be back soon for another stay. Thanks for being our customer. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a charming hotel with a lot of character. The staff is great! The rooms were very clean. The group I was with had a great time going from room to room to see the different themes. What a great concept.
You must realize that this is an old hotel so there is some noise, but no more than many "modern" hotels.
I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to another opportunity to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oklahomatravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
It's always nice to hear someone else likes the hotel. We're always working to make it better, and we hope you come back very soon and check out another room, and have a great visit. Thanks for writing a review. We appreciate that, and your business. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guymon, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

The decor of the rooms is outstanding ... no, much better than outstanding. If there are a few glitches here and there in this boutique hotel, it is so worth it because of its wonderful character. Comfy bed, good showers, great soaps and shampoos, great cold breakfast. Fabulous coffees and the meeting space here is great, for a large meeting or a board meeting.

Room Tip: If you love music, get the Leon Russell room. If you're an OSU football fan, go for the cowboy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Main116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We really appreciate the nice review. Thanks for noticing the charm of our little hotel. And for telling others. Hopefully, you will be back to check out another room soon. Thanks for staying. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The Campbell Hotel is a charming, nicely renovated old hotel. Our room was small but quite comfortable. My husband prefers simpler decor, but many would find it attractively decorated. There isn't much of interest in the immediate neighborhood other than Tulsa University, but all of Tulsa's attractions (museums, shopping, etc.) are close. Two negatives: the hallways are noisy, especially if your room is in an area where the wooden floors are not carpeted, and the air conditioning can be difficult to control. The staff is helpful and friendly. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If hallway noise bothers you, ask for a room in an area with carpeted halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrugalTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
We're glad you found us, and most definitely hope you will come back. We're eager to show off other rooms, and I'm sure we can find one that would be comfortable for both you and your husband, as they are all different. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I was not impressed with the outside of this building. However, they did do a good job with the redesign inside. The breakfast they offer for free is just just junk food like muffins in packages. However, free water and juice was good. The staff was wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different so I would call before booking to see the options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Well, we're glad you checked us out. We don't have a restaurant, but we do have a well stocked continental breakfast bar, not muffins and junk food, we do have some muffins, and donuts, and danish, special k breakfast bars and granola bars, and cereal, and milk, and juice, and bananas and apples and oranges, oatmeal, etc. We try to provide a healthy breakfast if that's what you want. We do plan to open a restaurant within the next 60 days, so we will serve a full breakfast at that time. Maybe you could come back and try us then. We look forward to it. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed one night in the Route 66 suite and the adjoining Patty Page room. The rooms were relatively small (especially for the price), but the setup worked really well, with the sitting room between the two bedrooms making the whole thing feel quite livable. Each room is decorated in a very charming way. I'm not sure how sustainable it will be long term. The cute trashcan matching the Route 66 decor in the bathroom was broken, and there was mold starting to grow between the cute tiles in the shower. It's nice to have a small frig in the room and all the furniture was very comfortable. Night lights were also a nice touch I wish every hotel had.

I spent the afternoon working alone in the room and was really worried about the noise. The hallways have wood floors, so anyone walking down the hall makes a lot of noise. The ice and vending machines were across from our room as well. Since the rooms are right on top of 11th street (a fairly major street in Tulsa), I could also hear trucks going by all afternoon. The night we stayed the hallways were quiet, but the roadnoise, even over the loud heat/air unit in the room would've made it hard to sleep if we hadn't been exhausted.

If you are a TU alum, make sure to ask for the alumni discount.

I really hope this little hotel makes it, but I'm not sure we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel will undoubtedly be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ_mcguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara C, Owner at The Campbell Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
I'm sorry you were bothered by the street noise. It is louder on the Route 66 side. I guess that's part of being on the mother road. It is very close to TU, and we try very hard to make your stay comfortable. If you decide to try again, we would certain welcome you back, and work with you to reserve the best room for your needs. Thanks for staying. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
2.0 mi away
Ambassador Hotel Tulsa, Autograph Collection
2.3 mi away
The Mayo Hotel
The Mayo Hotel
#15 of 108 in Tulsa
465 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
Hyatt Regency Tulsa
#10 of 108 in Tulsa
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Tulsa Downtown
2.5 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Tulsa-Downtown
2.4 mi away
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
Aloft Tulsa Downtown
#31 of 108 in Tulsa
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell Hotel

Property: The Campbell Hotel
Address: 2636 E 11th St, Tulsa, OK 74104-3938
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campbell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your stay in Tulsa at the luxurious Campbell Hotel. Completely renovated in 2011 and home of the 2011 Designer Showcase, this fabulously decorated, boutique hotel is located on old Historic Route 66 and is a jewel in the heart of Tulsa. Brimming with pieces of Tulsa’s history throughout the hotel, the awe-inspiring Campbell invites you to experience a piece of Southern comfort on Tulsa time. Tulsa boasts amazing cultural attractions including the Philbrook and Gilcrease Museums, the BOK Center, active entertainment districts, amazing art deco, the longest stretch of the original Route 66 Highway, and the Arkansas River Trails where you can exercise, dine, or watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Campbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing