We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service fair Food ok.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chimi's Mexican Food

Chimi's Mexican Food
Ranked #302 of 1,301 Restaurants in Tulsa
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service fair Food ok.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Went in mid afternoon on a Saturday. Not many ppl in restaurant. Service seemed a little slow with waitress. Not sure if they were under staff and never seen a manager. Chair had big rip in it made seating uncomfortable. Food was ok! Had a taco salad and lettuce was wilted. Check out was really slow had to grab our own take out boxes. Needs a revamp.

Helpful?
2 Thank yogibear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Go early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Food is very good. Go early on weekends otherwise you will wait for your orders. Kitchen was a little understaffed in re the crowd.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, TX
Level Contributor
162 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

OK, they've got the atmosphere down. But their food need a little work. I admit I have some preconceived notions, coming as I do, from south Texas where the Mexican restaurants sometimes outnumber the McDonald's. This was my second choice, too, since the place I wanted to try was closed that day. I had a burrito, and my companion's entree look a little tastier. Still, I'd give them a second chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WinthropJQuiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“My favorite enchiladas!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I absolutely love Chimi's! Used to eat there all the time when they had a location in Owasso, but now Chimi's on Cherry St. is our new stop. I love their cheese enchilada with papitas. Had other great dishes on the menu, but still go to my favorite most of the time. Will be back very soon!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laser01Cobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Your average Tex-Mex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

But, it's still good stuff. No complaints at all. Good food, good service and good prices. One thing of note is that they still serve sopapillas, which most restaurants in the area have discontinued or never had to begin with. For some reason, kids love 'em, and they're cheap, so how can you beat that?

Helpful?
Thank OkieTraveler74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chimi's Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Chimi's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing