We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We came later in the day and even though the online bookings don't work , clerk honored the price. We had a second floor room in the back of the building but it was clean and quiet.
Breakfast in the morning was three different brews of coffee, eggs, ham, hot cold cereal, rolls, waffles, fruit, yogurt, just great.
The beds were a little soft but that is just my preference.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rascal5844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Saw the Hotwire on my sign in and was directed to a handicap room. The mattress on the bed would slide every time I got in and out of it. Shower was a gigantic walk in model that had a floor that drained into the rest of the bathroom.
Breakfast, in the morning, had frozen premade omelets with a chopped breakfast "mystery meat" next to them.
Had a Noon check out time, that I liked and location was good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank okiegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed her two weeks ago, first we booked this property because many websites said all rooms had tempurpedic beds. We arrived to our 1 bedroom suite,we were there a week, so wanted some extra room. this hotel does not have tempurpedic beds!! Staff was very nice and did discount our rate since that is the main reason we stayed here. All furnishings in rooms were very old, we hung our clothes up into our closet (with no doors BTW) and our clothes rack came crashing to the floor. You could tell it had been fixed several times before. Wi-Fi was great and always fast. Breakfast consisted of rock hard French toast, powdered eggs and stale bagels, we ate out most mornings, but their coffee was very good, if you could get a cup before it ran out. We make a yearly trip to Tulsa and will not stay here again until it has been renovated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RubyOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lobby was updated and clean. The kids enjoyed the free cookies and the front desk attendant was friendly. After that, everything went downhill. We were incorrectly sent to a room that only had one bed. We schlepped all of our stuff back to the front desk and waited FOR.EV.ER to be given a new room -- the girl front desk was very friendly, but seemed rather confused/clueless. The next room we were booked into was dismal -- the pillows were lumpy, the beds sagged in the middle, the outlets had loose plates and the bathtub/shower was cracked and very crusty and dingy. The shower curtain was COVERED in mold -- absolutely foul and inexcusable, even for a budget hotel. We decided we felt too uncomfortable to shower there (which was a bummer because after a long day on the road, we were so looking forward to hot showers). Honestly the place has promise, it just needs a lot of updating and TLC. Money needs to be spent on the rooms. There was no coffee ready at breakfast time (the morning desk attendant appeared very put-out when we requested some) and the spouts on the milk carafes were dirty. Breakfast was otherwise pretty decent -- your standard "free hot breakfast" layout. I hate to leave negative reviews, but the bathtub situation was just too much to see past.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotsprings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Carlson at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Country Inn & Suites Central Tulsa, OK and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any claim is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My son I stayed at this hotel for a couple weeks while our home was being finished. We have travelled extensively in and outside the US. This has to be the nicest hotel. From the manager to the maid they were all amazing. The front desk staff were top of the line. They could easily be staff of a high dollar New York hotel. They have a complete breakfast t that will not disappoint you. 24 hour coffee, fruit, And cocoa. I can not say enough good things about this hotel. They faxed things, had computers we could print from, anything you needed. We did have our 2 dogs with us and when out walking late the security were always out. We had left items in the back of one of our truck's and never had any problem. The rooms were neat clean and great linens. No bugs, restroom very clean and great set up. Would recommend to everyone and would stay again if needed. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Not sure if our complaint should have been with the hotel or with Hotwire.com who booked the room for us. Bottom line, Hotwire was asked by my husband for a pet friendly room and they found this one to be so. When we arrived, there was an additional charge of $20 for our pet, a one-year old fully house-broken mini-schnauzer. Of course, by this time Hotwire.com had already charged our account for the $60 room charge and there are NO refunds with Hotwire.com even though they neglected to tell us of this additional charge. Beware of Hotwire.com when looking for a pet friendly room. The room was on the first floor with plenty of
grass just outside for our dog, but our key would not work in the exterior door. The receptionist
reprogramed the key, but it still didn't work. Quite an irritation at the end of a long drive. In the
room there was only one chair at the desk and the TV was on the side of the bed - very difficult and uncomfortable to watch. The motel gets 3 stars, but Hotwire.com gets only one.

Room Tip: The exit is 31, Not 32 as our GPS advised.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceinAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My son and I were in Tulsa to visit the University of Tulsa. (Note: this hotel's not all that close to the university; I should have checked it out better, as far as location goes.)

The check-in area was nice, but I was a bit alarmed to hear that the hotel's "pet-friendly" policy means that there's not a single room in the place that they can say hasn't had animals in it. While that is probably fine for most people, I am allergic to both cats and dogs, and I really need to be in a room that hasn't got pet dander in it. The desk clerk put us in a higher-floor room, as they normally tend to put pets on the lower floors. As it turned out, I was OK, but it was worrisome.

As far as we could tell, there was only one elevator in the whole place, and it was no speedster.

Neither of our room keys worked well; they both required multiple tries (like, ten) to unlock the door. This happened every time.

On to the positives: the staff were nice, the towels were soft and thick, breakfast was good, and parking was plentiful.

Room Tip: If you need to avoid pet dander, the upper floors are likely to have less than the lower floors - bu...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yobabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randy F, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

I would like to thank you for taking time out of your schedule to send us feedback concerning your stay, we greatly appreciate your time!

We strive to provide a clean, comfortable, and well maintained hotel. I would like to apologize that you had issues with the lock on your door, I am sorry that you had to deal with that especially after having driven so far to get to us. We have made the repair. I also noticed your concerns about the pet dander, I would like to assure you that we are actively considering some options that will be most convenient for all our guests. We are very excited to introduce them this new year!

We hope this finds you in the best of health and prospering this new year! Our best regards,

Randy F. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulsa hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Tulsa
Ramada Tulsa
#12 of 109 in Tulsa
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Tulsa Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Central/I-44
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa
3.7 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Tulsa
4.0 mi away
Best Western Airport
Best Western Airport
#36 of 109 in Tulsa
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central

Address: 3209 S 79th East Ave, Tulsa, OK 74145-1343 (Formerly Hampton Inn Tulsa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oklahoma > Tulsa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 Hotels in Tulsa
Price Range: £47 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Oklahoma! Whether you are here for the arts, culture, business, recreation, opera, ballet or just an escape to the zoo, there is no better place to see what Tulsa has to offer than at our Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Tulsa Central Hotel. We're conveniently located near downtown Tulsa and just minutes from sports, shopping, golf, museums and world class events including the Arabian Horse Show and Wanenmacher's Tulsa Gun Show. Guests lodging with us will enjoy easy access to the Tulsa International Airport, University of Tulsa, St. Francis Hospital, LaFortune Park and BOK Center. Visitors can drive into Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas or even Texas for day trips from our hotel. Those looking for a hotel should look no further than the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Tulsa Central Hotel. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, you'll want a hotel in Tulsa that offers it all. We offer Oklahoma corporate and leisure travelers' comfortable accommodations, modern conveniences and high-tech amenities complemented with outstanding customer service. Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Tulsa Central features & amenities; Free high-speed Internet access Business center Fax/copy service Pet Friendly Complimentary parking onsite Accessible & non-smoking rooms Complimentary hot breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tulsa Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tulsa
Tulsa Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing